We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel New York
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Iroquois New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
City Club Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Mansfield(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,838)
Filter reviews
6,838 results
Traveller rating
4,405
1,798
423
139
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,405
1,798
423
139
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red flame dinergaby restaurantnew yorktimes squarechrysler buildingseparate showerroom serviceturn down servicebryant parkfifth avenuelate checkgrand central stationhigh floorbottle of champagnequiet streetrockefeller centerfantastic hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,048 - 2,053 of 6,838 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is listed as a luxury hotel on Expedia and I don't think it qualifies for that. It is walking distance to Times Square and Cental Park but that's really it. Entrance is pretty impressive but sort of weird, since the front desk is actually in the rear after you walk through the valet desk hall, sitting room, foyer and elevators. We arrived late (1AM) so there were no other guests but the hostess was not particularly friendly. After a quick check in we headed up to our room (60.... something, cannot remember anymore) first room from the elevator on the right. View is of the neighboring rooftops - which is fine with us, since we did not spend any time in the room. Room was pretty big in New York hotel standards but with lots of waisted space. I have chosen the queen bed option to save money but the room could easy home a king bed with space to spare. Bed was not comfortable for us but that's just personal preference. Room had good size bathroom with shower and tub as well. Count on paying $50/day for valet parking.

Room Tip: Our room was just fine on 6th floor
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank evaregina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.
We are sincerely sorry that our staff did not reflect the high standards of our hotel and regret that you experienced inattentive service. We strive for the highest level of professionalism. While those individuals do not reflect our philosophy or the way we train our staff, we are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve. I have requested that our head of human resources institute a review of our training procedures

Again, please accept our apologies. However, we are very pleased that you enjoyed our central location and the size of your room. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This stay was my fifth stay at the Sofitel New York and I continue to be impressed with the staff their attitude and their willingness to be helpful, a lot of the staff I recognise from previous visits and they are all so polite and eager to please, Also, I could not be more pleased with the hotel, it's facilities and location, it's cleanliness and the beds are so comfortable.

Some reviewers have said that it is a bit pricey but considering the quality of the hotel and it's location it is well worth the money. I have stayed in a number of other new York hotels and none of them have come a close second that is why I love returning to the sofitel, you actually think that you should be paying more for your room.

Looking forward to going back to New York and staying at the Sofitel in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan. We are also glad that you enjoyed our comfortable bedroom and the different amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a nice hotel. I have stayed there twice most recently in May 2014 and it was a pleasant stay both times. The rooms are nice, not massive but good by NY standards. Bed very comfortable and quiet at night even though I was opposite the lifts. Didn't have dinner so cannot comment but breakfast was very nice though a little more flexibility in the menu choices would be nice. Stayed for business and the meeting room was good, IT worked well and staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barry088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We recently spent five nights here, and were surprised at how quiet the room was, given that the hotel sits right in the heart of mid-town. The service, as expected at a Sofitel, was very good: a request for a missing shower cap was met within minutes, and a technician showed up very quickly when the television proved problematic.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrsirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you appreciated the staff’s professionalism and enjoyed our very central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews