We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, decent-sized room (for NYC), but still relatively average”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #64 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Sofitel is well situated for tourists - a few blocks from Times Square, in between a handful of subway stations, and in the heart of the 5th Avenue shopping district. The rooms are relatively clean (although there were hairs on one of the towels in our bathroom and the shower wall) and decent-sized by New York standards. We got stuck in a room by the elevators so even though we were on a higher floor there was still regular noise (from the beeping of the elevator to the fans apparently blowing down the elevator shafts).

Where Sofitel really lacks is service. The front desk staff was polite, but the doormen were essentially non-existent (you'll have to figure out how to get through the revolving door with your luggage on your own and hail your own cabs, neither of these are insurmountable odds, but it's the little things that make for a great stay). The hotel offers a free shoe-shine service, which my husband wanted to take advantage of. After ringing the concierge three times (apparently if the phone rings over 20 or 30 times without someone answering it automatically disconnects you), a hotel staffer came up to the room to fetch his shoes. The shoes were supposed to be returned by 7 am the next morning. By 9 am when they still weren't there, we called the concierge again and the shoes were brought back up to our room. Of course they hadn't been shined. My question is - why offer a free service if you're not going to provide it? It's a small thing, but definitely annoying and one that would lead me to consider other options next time we're in New York.

Room Tip: Book a room on a higher floor, but insist on one away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank beachgirl722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. We regret that the room service didn't meet your expectations.

Again, please accept our apologies.

However we are pleased that you liek the location and the size of our rooms. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again when all of our floor will be renovated so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,839 - 1,845 of 6,579 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We really enjoyed staying at the Sofitel NYC. The staff was wonderful and the rooms were roomy. We have stayed in a few hotels in NYC and none had the space like this one. We traveled with our daughter and her friend. They had a roll out sofa bed in the front room with plenty of space. We loved the view from our room on the 25th floor.
When we checked in we mentioned how much we needed coffee in the morning and they had a small coffee pot delivered to our room at no charge! That was above and beyond our expectations.
It was also nice having umbrellas to take when it rained...another positive perk!
We would recommend this hotel to all our family and friends. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: We chose a suite with a pull out couch bed, it was like having 2 bedrooms and slept 4 people comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a great experience, that you enjoyed our quiet property, and our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Sofitel is yet another brilliant example of a truly 'magnifique' Hotel. The 'deco' accommodation rooms are inviting and certainly comfortable. The suite (that had exceptional views of The Chrysler Building) and the adjoining room that my family and I enjoyed during our recent stay were roomy, definitely comfortable and very well appointed. The Bar and Gaby Restaurant (the Hotels only Restaurant) had a great ambience and refinement and the food service, and also the variety of food was very good and reasonably priced. The Hotel staff were also always very accommodating and helpful. I frequently used the intimate, very clean and well appointed fitness centre. For our family the Hotel proved to be a hidden gem in relation to where it was located geographically (central midtown Manhattan) for everything we wanted to experience for our first time in 'the big apple'. It is a stone's throw from Times Square without being on top of it, the same can be said about the proximity to the Theatre district and Central Park. With the Subway just around the corner its easy access to the downtown area including Madison Square Garden and all the 'landmark sites' and shopping districts - and yet all the while a quiet, refined, relaxed oasis that we enjoyed returning too every night!

Room Tip: Aim for a high floor and if budget allows a suite with Chrysler Building views! - Exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanGilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan. We are also glad that you enjoyed our comfortable bedroom and the different amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

When we walked into the hotel we were greeted with "Bonjour:........I said to myself "How do they know we're from Montreal"? It was only after we went to our room that my husband told me that it's a French chain.....lol
Great hotel.....extremely well situated.....walk right when you leave...Times Square; walk left, Fifth Avenue. Beds are super comfy and the bathroom is huge for New York. Only downside is that the concierges are not up to par for NYC standards. We got wrong advice twice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank griffgraff_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted to know that you find our staff professional and friendly, that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan and the spacious bedroom.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was my second stay at Sofitel New York. I knew it had good size rooms, comfortable beds and excellent bathrooms. My disappointment this time came from the service. Before we arrived I requested several things - rooms on a high floor, late checkout, suggestions for activities nearby. None of these seemed to be on my reservation when we arrived. There was no acknowledgement of my accor platinum status and even though they knew I was in a rush to get to the theatre (got stuck in New York traffic) it took well over 20 minutes to get the bags to my room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. we regret that the room service didn't meet your expectation and that you had to wait 20 minutes to get your suitcase to your rooms.

Again, please accept our apologies.

However, we are really pleased that you enjoyed the room and the great location. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again when all of our floor will be renovated so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Lovely hotel very well placed between 5th & Madison, about two blocks from Times Square. Attentive staff were well trained & friendly. Food was pretty good & the usual US huge portions. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank 3Nikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our quiet property, and our amenities. We thank you also for sharing your experience at Gaby Brasserie Française. We really appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is an extremely comfortable hotel , well positioned and most places were access able on foot. Check in was smooth and although our room was adjacent to the lifts there was no noise. This is an extremely quiet hotel, sleep was not disturbed.
The Concierge was amazing, special thanks to him for his knowledge and willingness to check our pick up time back to the airport, nothing was too much trouble. His advice was always correct regarding places to visit and length of time to walk there.
Breakfast was delivered by a wonderful waiter called" Das" .he was excellent and a real credit to this Hotel, well trained and always smiling.
Loved the Art Deco feel of this Hotel, would certainly stay here again
Elizabeth, notts

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet, better views higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elizabethnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to know that you find our staff professional and friendly, that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan and the spacious bedroom.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,703 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#46 of 469 in New York City
3,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#45 of 469 in New York City
3,742 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 469 in New York City
3,073 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#108 of 469 in New York City
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £198 - £866 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing