We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Scary surprise, falls short of the brand expectation but still a nice property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #56 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Scary surprise, falls short of the brand expectation but still a nice property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights. I had always wanted to try a Sofitel property and probably came with too high expectations. Anyway, we reached the hotel late at night, after a 5hrs flight, and a horrible cab ride. Checked in was efficient, fast. The hotel is small but seems very intimate and quiet (which I really like) though it's just a short walk to the Times Sq.

The "surprise" came when we went up to our room - we were either given someone's else room (saw shopping bags, a ear phone box, untidy bathroom) or an unmade room. My sis was smirking and asking me if that was Sofitel's standard since I had been gushing about the stay for days...
Seriously, we didn't venture much into that room, since we were both horror struck and ran all the way back down (the last time I did something like that, as in ran away horror struck was a decade ago in Shanghai when I went into a restroom without doors) to check in counter. Staff was apologetic and got us another room, and sent up 2 glasses of wine.

The rest of the stay went well. The staff at the door was always friendly and helpful. They burn these candles at night and they gave off a really lovely fragrance. Location is really fabulous. It's like in the middle of Times Sq and Fifth Ave. There is a park nearby, the NY Lib is a short walk away as is Central Station. Walking to Central Park may be a tad far, but I did it and was well worth the walk. Magnolia Bakery is along the way. There is a pharmacy just round the corner.

Definitely disappointed with the standard. I wasn't looking for perfection, but of all my travel, that was the first time I was given such a room - not what I expect from Sofitel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Water&Salt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

We regret that your check-in was incorrectly made. We are sorry about this inconvenience.
We strive for the highest level of professionalism. We are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve.

However, we are really happy to know that you liked the staff, the great location and the fragance in our lobby.

Again, please accept our apologies. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our central location. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,927
    1,627
    369
    116
    60
See reviews for
1,015
2,786
328
820
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed at the Sofitel two years ago, and enjoyed it greatly, so I chose it for my 7-day trip to NYC this July. One factor in this decision was the deal offering free upgrade to a suite if you stay 3 nights or more at a normal room rate. I suppose this is offered as long as suites are available, requiring advance reservation, but free cancellation is available, so that's no problem.

The suite is very spacious, very well equipped, and everything in it is at the pinnacle of comfort and cleanliness. Service is superb throughout the hotel, very polite and helpful. I do have two comments:
1. I normally have just a toast or bagel and tea for breakfast. Two years ago I had one breakfast at the hotel restaurant, and paying $30 + tax etc. seemed ridiculous. Not everybody has steak and eggs for breakfast, so simpler fare might be offered.
2. Tea/coffee service in the room would be most helpful. I emailed the hotel a week before arrival, asking about the availability of this service, but got no reply to this day. Fortunately there is a branch of Pret open until 1 am just 4 blocks away, so I used it at night.

This said, I would still use this hotel in the future, but I will bring a travel-size kettle.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UziTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York, that you found our staff very professional and that you enjoyed our very spacious bedroom. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

As usual visitors of the Sofitel New York, we were not surprised with the quality of hoteling. But we were in NYC for the 4th July week end and Vladimir and his team took us to the right place at the right moment. Thank you and see you soon .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank GREC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your first stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience, appreciated the staff’s professionalism and enjoyed our different amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We choose this hotel because my husband is a huge fan of Sofitel where we stayed 5 nights. On check-in, a very friendly & helpful gentleman at the front desk, named Mark, took time to show me a quiet room which I thought wasn't on high floor as i had requested. As the hotel was fully booked out, Mark gave me the option of changing the room the next day. I must say I was very impressed with the service. The room was spacious, with adequate natural lighting, & clean. The bed was very comfortable with excellent quality bed linen. As the room was facing a quiet back street, we stayed in the same room for the rest of our stay. There was a well equiped modern fitness club, however the 2 crosstrainers were old and noisy, certainly needed repaired or replaced. There were coffees & teas at the bar every morning which is handy if one needs a quick cuppa. The hotel is situated just minutes walk from Time Square and main shopping areas but not being in the midst of big crowds. We enjoyed our stayed, very pleased with the service and faclities and would recommend this hotel, will definitely stay here in our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing 45th St are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheekyChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan. We are also glad that you enjoyed our comfortable bedroom and the different amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I prefer more "fresh" and modern decor but I enjoyed my stay. Gym is well equipped.
Rooms are large and comfortable.
The service is truly good. Very French :-)...
If you want a comfortable and quiet mid town hotel with good service this is your place!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York, that you enjoyed our central location and our very spacious bedroom. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is my home away from home when traveling on business to New York. Consistently outstanding. The quality of the rooms and service is superb. Quiet with an excellent location. I'm always happy to come back and sorry to leave.

Room Tip: I've not had a bad room yet. Upper floors always preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neal l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great staff. Everyone working here, from the front door, to the desk, to the restaurant, is so friendly and welcoming. Very professional. The hotel is centrally located, and blissfully quiet, which is so hard to find in NYC.

Room Tip: Any room is fine. Have stayed in all of them, and even the most common are no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orion413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your first stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience, appreciated the staff’s professionalism and enjoyed our different amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#34 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,339 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square
Hyatt Centric Times Square
#48 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#58 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#47 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,037 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#35 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#46 Green Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing