We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, fabulous location!”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #64 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel, fabulous location!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

For our 1st trip to NYC, my wife and I chose Sofitel due to style, location, and the amazing terrace room ("Prestige Suite"). The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is close to many great restaurants and is only a few blocks to the heart of Times Square. Our room was spacious, comfortable, very clean, and quiet. Twice daily room service was a great touch. Fresh pastries, great coffee, wonderful food, and impeccable service in the hotel restaurant was the perfect way to start each day. The champagne and chocolate treats wishing us a happy 20th anniversary when we got back to our room the 1st night was a very special touch! Shopping for just about anything is walking distance within a few blocks. The broadway shows were also just a few blocks away. All in all, we loved the entire experience, the hotel and location, and the people. We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Prestige suite with huge terrace was worth the extra cost! Great place for coffee in the morning or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Sofitel New York to celebrate your 20th wedding anniversary and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York to celebrate your 11th wedding anniversary. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,097
    1,696
    385
    130
    66
See reviews for
1,075
2,906
345
875
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was our third stay at this property and this time was the best - not to say the other two visits were bad but this time it was close to perfect. We will definitely stay here during our next visit to New York city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York and that you. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I felt immediately more relaxed and calm every time I walked through the front doors. The common areas were beautifully decorated, the staff always friendly and helpful. My room was spectacular, perfect big fluffy sofitel bed, beautiful robes and amenities, lovely bathroom and shower. All this plus a view of the Empire State Building!
Location was ideal and within easy walking distance to so many sights ( and shops!) Perfect hotel to explore New York, would stay here over and over again. Thank you so much for a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelleadams11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and that you enjoyed our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I always stay at the Sofitel, the rooms are beautiful and the bed is the best of any hotel I have stayed at. The staff is so helpful and best of all it's very quiet which given its location is amazing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joesteinfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you found our staff very professional.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in May in one of the suites on the 26th floor. Our room had a living room separate from the bedroom. Our living room had a view of Rockefeller centre and our bedroom had a view of the Empire State Building AND the Chrysler building. Amazing! Shame we did not enough time to enjoy the view and luxury of our room. Our bathroom had a separate shower and bath. There was free wifi available. We had breakfast included. This was a great start to the day. One of the waiters was not the friendliest but it did not ruin our experience. We drank in Gaby's bar which was busy when we were there but it gave it good atmosphere. Location is great. 15 min walk to Central Park, 10 min walk to Central station and 5 to Times Square. We loved this hotel. Will definitely be back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen_al28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our quiet property, and our amenities. We thank you also for sharing your experience at Gaby Brasserie Française. We really appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I always choose this hotel since it has spacious rooms and bathroom, good service and it is close to the business center, grand central station. And if you want to shop on 5th it is an easy walk. Good restaurants are nearby.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dutchie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York, that you enjoyed our central location and our very spacious bedroom. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This was mine and my boyfriends second time staying at this hotel and we love it. We are a young couple. We stayed in the terrace room on the 48 floor, and worth the money. On arrival we were 4 hours early and they held onto our luggage while we went for lunch in the city. Although we arrived early, the room was not ready until 4 because of the size of the terrace. No big deal sat at the bar and waited. The worker who took our luggage remembered us the time we were their. A front desk team member Mark who checked us in wrote a personalized letter hoping we enjoyed our mets game. The terrace we had had the best view, able to see the Empire State Building and Chrysler building, breathtaking view. The chairs were so comfortable. Instead of us spending two nights we did a late check out and was worth the extra 300, and had breakfast included in our room price. This room and hotel was awesome and worth the price. Room service was delicious, and was not expecting the amount of food that came, was on the hire price side but worth it. View was amazing, hotel is near by Bryant park, short walk to Empire State Building and a mile from Penn station. Great location. Can not wait to go back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Honesty4691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our prestigious terrace suite.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 468 in New York City
3,582 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,553 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,857 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,433 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#78 of 468 in New York City
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing