We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #64 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sofitel for my 30th birthday in January. It was spectacular. It right in the city centre, close to Macys (for the girls), plenty of sight seeing places and is just a walk to anything you would like - Empire State, central park, 42nd street, time square etc. Not to mention all the little cafes and nice restaurants. I cant fault this location and the hotel is super clean.
The staff are friendly and offer concierge services. We come from Ireland, so having so friendly staff was great for directions, recommendations and room service was fantastic.

The hotel is classy.

Love it love it love.

Room Tip: There is no parking at the hotel, but the hotel offers a paid parking service - just leave your keys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Sofitel New York to celebrate your 30th wedding anniversary and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York to celebrate your 31st wedding anniversary. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,097
    1,696
    385
    130
    66
See reviews for
1,075
2,906
345
875
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at Sofitel 3 nights after a bad experience in an other hotel, and I must say it is an excellent solution. Warm and cosy rooms, nice lounge, professional staff and "quiet" location considering you are in NY a few steps from anything. We were given 2 Superior Rooms looking backside and we could sleep very well without traffic noises. People at the concierge and bell boys very nice, helpful and friendly.
If I could suggest an improvement, there should be a separate room/dining room for breakfast in the morning for the staying guests, since right now it looks like a French bistro on the road with big windows and no table clothes; people from outside can come in and have breakfast too. When we went to NY it was rainy and windy and each time the main door which gives on the street opened, we were invested by cold air. That's definitely a bit impersonal and too much Streetcafè atmosphere. My evaluation is nonetheless very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbieadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, that you enjoyed our cosy rooms, our concierge and bell men, the professional staff and the "quiet" location.

However, we regret that you experienced the street café atmosphere in the Gaby restaurant with the cold air coming in. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The Sofitel is nicely located near Times Square and near enough to walk to 5th Ave. or Rockafeller Center and the Theatre district. However, the doormen were lacking in aid as compared to other places I have stayed in NYC. Check-in was reasonably quick but we had to wait on our room, even going to eat at the restaurant, which was good but still no room ready. Room was big enough for three of us but our bedding had not been cleaned and smelled with my calling to get new bedding.

The personnel were very nice and room service was timely. For us, it was nothing special compared to The Waldorf, Hilton Midtown or Sheraton NY Towers where we have previously stayed. Therefore, we will choose another hotel our next trip for the price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, that you enjoyed our central location, the size of the room, the room service and the professionalism of the staff.

We regret that you had to wait for your room. We strive for the highest level of professionalism. While that individual does not reflect our philosophy or the way we train our staff, we are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Excellent hotel in the middle of Manhatten, 1 minute walk away from Times Square. We also tested the hotel restaurant, in a brasserie style, which was very good. If you want to treat yourself in New York, and you happen to get the early booking rates as we did (350$/night), you should go for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Best location, nothing fancy suite for the price, however clean and spacious, nice common areas... and the staff were friendly. Would stay again but only if the rates were low...going to try the Sofitel in Lisbon in September so will compare notes then.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkyHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the interest in the Sofitel New York and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and that you enjoyed our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 468 in New York City
3,582 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,553 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,857 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,433 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#78 of 468 in New York City
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing