We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a convenient location offering first class accommodation and service”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #66 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Midlothian, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a convenient location offering first class accommodation and service”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Went to New York for 4 days in May with the Family and stayed at the Sofitel in New York. Have stayed at a few of the Sofitel hotels and you get what you expect. Good service, helpful staff, comfortable rooms and always sitting in great locations. This hotel is near to everything that New York can offer.

The hotel was lovely - beautiful decor, immaculate clean rooms and a very comfortable atmosphere throughout.

The bar staff were very friendly , the concierge team are always on hand for any tourist information that you need as are the reception team who are extremely efficient at check in and check out.

The breakfast is waiter service and offers a very high standard of menu - just what you need before braving the daily tourist walk about the City.

We ate at the hotel restaurant after an enjoyable evening at the theatre. The meal was lovely and no more expensive than you would expect from a really good restaurant.

The hotel has a very well equipped gym for anyone wanting to keep their fitness level up whether on holiday or staying on business.

Overall a great stay in a great hotel in a great convenient location - what more can you ask for!

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crawford4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our quiet property, and our amenities. We thank you also for sharing your experience at Gaby Brasserie Française. We really appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,096
    1,695
    385
    130
    66
See reviews for
1,075
2,905
345
874
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Came here two weeks ago for my birthday and had the best time. The hotel had put a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in my room and upgraded me as well. I was greeted with excellent service and found all the amenities to be great

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londongirl6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Sofitel New York for celebrating your birhtday and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed the VIP amenities in the room.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Me and my mum went on a short break to New York and stayed here! The hotel was in a perfect location and was really well looked after the rooms were spacious and the decor downstairs was lovely. The staff were also very helpful and friendly. Will defiantly like to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted to know that you find our staff professional and friendly, that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
224 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

we arrived after a very long flight, jet-lagged with young children. We were told that the previous person in our room had overstayed and the room was not ready. we were exhausted. The staff spoke to each other in French. As a fluent French speaker I could eves-drop but, to be fair, it did seem genuine. we ate at the restaurant and they covered the bill so we can forgive them. Service was OK not amazing, although realistically we did not do much more than the occasional room service order. the room was enormous, however, ideal for a small family. Bed was very comfortable and the place was clean.

Room Tip: i think they are all pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faaaamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York, that you enjoyed our central location and our very spacious bedroom. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

please don't stay here if you have a family or any needs besides a bed .

No one ever answers the phone... everyone is too busy to help.
No is the first thing you hear.

The rooms don't get sunlight as the windows are tiny.

the bathrooms don't have locks...apparently it is a Sofitel concept....

never staying in a Sofitel again !!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel.

Again, please accept our apologies. We are very sorry that no one answered the phone when you needed us and that you didn't like your room.

We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again when all of our floor will be renovated so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel close to Times Square and 5th Avenue. It's a nice quiet place to stay in the middle of all the action in Manhattan. Large and clean rooms, Solid choice for business trips and meetings. Expected high prices related to chain and location.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Springergabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you had a great experience, that you enjoyed our quiet property, and our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This review is a little late, we stayed at the Sofitel from June 27-July 2, but I had to recommend the Sofitel as I would recommend it to any friend or family looking for a place to stay in NYC. All hotels in New York are expensive and I am not the type of person that can stay just anywhere. I wouldn't say I am very particular, but an updated, clean and comfortable space is non-negotiable for me. I felt that the Sofitel really delivered on all of those fronts and more. It is conveniently located near Times Square, but not so close that you feel too many people on top of you with the crazy hustle and bustle. My one slightly negative comment would be that the hotel website is misleading in that it makes it seem as if there is a rooftop patio and there's not. Otherwise, we found the staff to be very accommodating and extremely helpful. A surprise to me, my boyfriend ended up proposing and the concierge got us a reservation at an amazing restaurant with a great table at the last second. The doormen were also always rushing out to open the doors for us. The room was extremely spacious by NYC standards with a separate full bath and standup shower. We couldn't have asked for a better experience and are totally content with what we received at the price we paid! I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.We are delighted that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan. We are also glad that you enjoyed our comfortable bedroom and the different amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#40 of 468 in New York City
3,578 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,851 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,428 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#76 of 468 in New York City
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing