We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #64 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond
Level Contributor
166 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We have stayed here many times and it never fails to disappoint. The hotel is conveniently located to everything - subway, theatres, restaurants, Central Park - you can basically walk everywhere. The rooms are wonderful - always the best linens and nice and clean. The BEST part of this hotel is that you can sleep and that is not typical in NY. The rooms are very quiet and the blackout curtains block out ALL of the light.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank West_coast_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,097
    1,696
    385
    130
    66
See reviews for
1,075
2,906
345
875
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We recently traveled to NYC for the first time with our toddler. The room was perfectly sized and a rollaway bed was already in our room upon check-in. We needed a mini-fridge for food/beverage storage for our young toddler, and one was readily provided upon request. The staff is very professional and friendly, and the location can't be beat. My husband and I have traveled to NYC many times before and love the fact that this property is centrally located to major attractions without all the noise and traffic. The concierge is also very helpful and the condition of the room was great which I appreciate since I obsess over cleanliness. The only nit-picky thing I have is the fact that we did not receive a room on a higher floor since we had to wait a couple of hours for our room to become available. We did arrive around 2pm, but otherwise, we were fine with the 5th floor facing a building across the way without any daylight, which aided in the baby sleeping until 7am. We highly recommend this property which is high-end luxury for the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yolanda_grffn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Picked for location and two "twin" beds foe my son and me. Actually more like full size and very comfy. Great location between time square craziness and Grand Central. Great subway access. Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: We were on 17th floor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: Green enough for me as I am not a fanatic about this type of pandering for guests.
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014

My husband and I just returned from the Labor Day weekend in NYC where we stayed at the Sofitel Hotel. Great Location as we went from one end of the city to the other! Very helpful staff and doormen. Room was clean and well appointed. Can't say enough about the bed! Like sleeping on a pillow but still firm enough for support. After running around the city and then to the US Open for night matches it was a long day, so we looked forward to that bed! Very quiet as well no city noise. Also our room faced the Empire State building, how cool is that!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My wife and I just spent 5 nights at this hotel while attending the US Open tennis and exploring Manhattan. The location of the Sofitel was perfect - just a short walk to Times Square and even Central Park. We booked off a discount travel site so we just had a basic King room on the 15th floor so the view wasn't amazing or anything but we were very happy. I thought all rooms had Keurig coffee makers but when I inquired I was told that was only in the suites - but the front desk asked if I wanted a coffee maker anyway and they brought one straight up (I had to bug them a bit to get more Keurig cups, but was still happy). The room was nicely appointed and the bathroom was well stocked with a great variety of higher-end soaps, shampoos, etc. Our only beef was that one day our room didn't get made up/cleaned. We called the front desk around 3pm and they did send someone but we were getting ready to go out so we asked that they come back in an hour. When we returned to the hotel at almost 2am - no clean room, no towels, etc. We again contacted the front desk and they did bring up towels but it just didn't seem like a big deal to them. One other beef - I have read positive reviews about the "fragrance" throughout the main floor and lobby area, but I have fairly bad allergies and found the "fragrance" to be over-powering. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but we LOVED the diner just a couple doors down for terrific breakfasts at very reasonable prices. Oh yeah, one more thing, the beds really are amazing!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thundercat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel.

We regret that the smell of our fragrance in the lobby was too strong for you. We are also really sorry that you had to ask to clean the room. Please, accept our apologies for the misunderstanding regarding the coffee maker. Coffee makers are available upon request to all guests.

However,we are very happy to know that you enjoyed the bed, the facilities in the bathroom and the great location of our hotel.

We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known for around the world.

Sincerely,

Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

We had a faulty lock & key! This made us feel unsafe. They replaced the lock and it did not help so we had our room changed! It took some effort to get this, but we did get a new suite the next night!. They comped our dinner and we're very apologetic about this situation.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOOZEEJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel.

We are deeply sorry you had an issue with your key that made you feel insecure in our Hotel.
Please accept our sincere apologies.

We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known for around the world.

Sincerely,

Sofitel New York Team


Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailey, Idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The room was perfect - clean and spacious for a NY hotel. Fantastic location - walking distance to downtown. Easy to catch cabs at the hotel. The service was friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAnne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 468 in New York City
3,582 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,553 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,857 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,432 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#78 of 468 in New York City
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing