We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel New York
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Iroquois New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
City Club Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Mansfield(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,835)
Filter reviews
6,835 results
Traveller rating
4,405
1,796
422
139
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,405
1,796
422
139
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red flame dinergaby restaurantnew yorktimes squarechrysler buildingseparate showerroom serviceturn down servicebryant parkfifth avenuelate checkgrand central stationhigh floorbottle of champagnequiet streetrockefeller centerfantastic hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,918 - 3,923 of 6,835 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2009

First, I am very particular with choosing a place to stay, and read most reviews about any hotel in whichever manner possible [i.e ratings from least to most rated, from most recent to oldest, etc]. My experience of Sofitel started right here on Tripadvisor, and it was great. Our room was clean, classy, marvelous marble bathroom, and with dawn bed. Service was very good, staff very helpful. Location excellent. Clientelle mostly european. Only issue was Parking, which the staff told us would give discount, which turned out to be false, but not a major issue as Parking in this part of city is very expensive regardless. Never ate at their restaurant since the breakfast prices were very expensive, and you can get the same thing for much lower few doors down in a nice diner.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babaroo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

I have just returned from a stay at the Sofitel to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday.It is the second time that we have stayed at the hotel.Overall the experience was very good.In particular the way that the housekeeping staff arranged for champagne and cake to be delivered at exactly the time I wanted without my wife knowing.The beds are still the most comfortable ever,the rooms are excellent,shower and bath superb.The one difference that I have noticed is the reception staff.The American reception staff were excellent,friendly and nothing was too much trouble,however the French staff were rude and dismissive as if everything was below them.This was a continuing theme from check in to check out.
An example being the arrangement to delay checkout until 4pm on the day of departure as a Sofitel Card holder.I asked a French member of staff, he would not do it as my loyalty card number had not shown on my bill. I waited until he had gone off duty,, approached an American member of staff ,explained the situation and was told " sure,no problem sir" all with a smile.Only a little thing but it makes such a difference.The same applies with the front of hotel doormen,such lovely friendly people.It transpired that one of the staff had a birtday of 21st March,the day before my wife,this man was friendly,knew our names and made such an effort to make us feel welcome, even going out of his way find us and wish us farewell until next year.
The Sofitel is a great play to stay in New York.It would be better if just some of the staff made the effort to make customers feel welcome

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leedslen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We stayed at the Sofitel, New-York for 5 days during July 2008.

This hotel has a great location 2 minutes walk to Time Square, and 15 minutes to central park. The hotel provided a very competent service, a very helpful reception moving us to another room after we requested it (we wanted one higher up with a better view), an efficient concierge making all the necessary reservation in a short time, and good room service (a nice touch was the fresh flower each morning with our breakfast). The rooms are very nice (not very big but this is New York you don’t get beach villas there ☺ ) and with a great view over the Chrysler building, and was decorated in a warm way and with furniture of really good quality, nothing felt cheap and everything was perfectly maintained.

In our whole trip to the states this was the property that felt the most luxurious and were the service seemed the most personalized and not standardized.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank latinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

The Sofitel on 44th Street is like comfort food. You can't go wrong. Big comfortable bedrooms, cushy beds, bathroom with separate bath and shower, great amenities, wonderful service, great location.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbaraGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

We arrived for a short honeymoon weekend of three nights. We got a good "3 nights for the price of 2" deal through the hotels website.
The location is unbeatable.
Check-in took maybe four minutes and they had upgraded us to a higher floor and wider bed because of our honeymoon.
We also received a cheesecake from housekeeping, that was a nice touch.
We loved the a la carte breakfast, which was included in our room price.
The staff was very polite and courteous.
Bathroom amenities were lovely.
Wonderful gym.
Check-out took four minutes as well, if not less.
We also got a nice deal to JFK from one of the valets, a Sedan with a normal taxi price. Excellent service.
We will definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sinppu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews