We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything I hoped for” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #63 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Everything I hoped for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

I have been coming to New York for a few years now and have always wanted to stay at the Sofitel, but never been able to afford it. Having stayed in the Sofitel in LA (through Hotwire), I decided to splash out and book four nights in (for the price of three) for my daughter and I to celebrate her 20th birthday the weekend before Christmas. Our flight was delayed so we arrived in the middle of the night to be welcomed by charming members of staff. The hotel was warm, stylish and inviting and our (upgraded) room was absolutely lovely - very spacious and well equipped. It's true what they say about the beds - they are so comfortable you don't want to get up. The bathroom was large and it was a treat to have a separate shower cubicle. The orchid and candle set the scene for a truly relaxing, pampered stay. We didn't order any room service (which I thought was rather toooo expensive), nor did we eat in the restaurant. However, a beautiful mousse-like tart was left in our room for my daughter's birthday and when I requested to store it in the mini-bar, a fridge was graciously delivered and installed in our room in a flash! New York was freezing (12" snow fell one night when we were there) but magical in the lead up to Christmas. The hotel was tastefully decorated and comfortingly warm and cosy. It was very quiet with no street noise or sirens. The three free computers in the lobby enabled us to keep in touch with the people we had left at home with no hassle at all and the concierge team were most helpful. So, did it live up to my expectations - you bet it did!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,998
    1,653
    381
    121
    63
See reviews for
1,038
2,843
336
843
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

Stayed at the Sofitel for 3 nights at the beginning of Jan with my niece. The room was big enough and the bed quite comfortable. I had requested a room with a nice view through the website and got it no problem, pleasant touch I though. The breakfast is also pretty good. The staff was nice and helpful. I didn't ask much from them but when I did, I was helped with a smile. Would definitely recommend it and go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GammelMont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

We stayed at the Sofitel and had two rooms one for our teenagers 16 &18 and one for my husband and I. The hotel was very roomy, and comfortable, quiet and very well located.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTravellers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

Overall this is a very good hotel. By Manhattan standards the rooms were exceptionally large, with comfortable bedding and well sized bathrooms. Also the location cannot be beat, especially if you are there to see some Broadway shows. Service is pleasant and efficient.

I just had a couple of quibbles. I requested a twin bedded room, but instead got a king-bedded room with a rollaway. Understandably the rollaway was not particularly comfortable. Secondly the security leaves something to be desired, as neither the doorman nor the elevators require keycards for entry.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

Based on Trip Advisor reviews I booked two night stay beginning on new year’s day. No regrets! I made reservations on the hotel website to take advantage of the pre-paid discounted rate. We arrived at the hotel a little after 1pm after checking out of our previous hotel. With no one at the check-in desk at the time I thought we would need to have the hotel hold our bags until a room was ready, but we were pleasantly surprised to find our room was ready! The check-in was smooth and the lady helping was pleasant. With four elevators available we never experienced a problem waiting.

No complaints about room space as we had enough space to place our luggage against the wall and still walk around. The bed was VERY comfortable, bathroom amenities plentiful, water pressure and temperature great, towels soft and plentiful, room spotless, and we never heard housekeeping during our stay. We didn’t need to use the closet space staying only two nights. The television picture reception was a bit fuzzy at times, but we didn't watch much. The Bose sound system is a nice amenity we enjoyed that I find very few hotels offer. Our room view on the 14th floor wasn’t anything spectacular overlooking a quiet street, but I wasn’t specifically looking for a view during this stay. This made for very quiet nights where I don’t recall hearing a sound. The hotel is within 2 blocks (the short ones lol) of subway lines that will get you anywhere and 2 blocks (the big ones!) away from the Imperial Theater where we watched Billy Elliot. Housekeeping turndown service included coming home to our room with classical music playing. A wonderful way to welcome you back to your cozy room after a long day in The City!

The Sofitel New York gave us a quiet area within walking distance to Times Square, Broadway shows and subway lines. With a comfortable bed and spotless room added our overall experience was a very solid 4 star hotel stay!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank austexmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey Pa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

This is a great hotel to celebrate a special ocasion. We were celebrating a birthday and our 40th anniversary and the person (Vivian) at check-in acknowledged both. In addition a cake was left in our room when we went to dinner, which we thought was a very nice gesture. The upgraded suite was very spacious, had two flat screened tvs and a great bathroom - we loved it. The room was clean as was the entire hotel, and the staff was helpfull and friendly. The breakfasts, which were included in our package, were fantastic and the waiter(Ronald)- the best. In summary, we had a great weekend.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

Myself and my fiancée have just returned from our 4 day stay at the Sofitel. I chose this hotel by sorting the most popular hotels on Trip Advisor and picked the most reasonably priced centrally located one. The Sofitel is a beautifully decorated hotel, the lobby is fantastic, the rooms are spacious by New York standards, we had a superior queen room, on the 22nd floor. It was at the rear of the building so very quiet at night. It was well equipped with a big flat screen tv with 50 odd channels to choose from which was great. The bathroom was elegant, the shower was excellent and the L'Occitane Provence shower gel and shampoo were a nice touch.
The reception staff were professional but not overly friendly, just business like, which is fine. The door staff were excellent, very polite always happy to help and even got me a superb SUV, as requested, to bring us to the airport.
The only downside and it is a big one in my opinion was the heat in the rooms, the hotel itself is very warm throughout but the heat in rooms made sleeping difficult. The air con was ineffective, it just seemed to make noise and the window didn’t open enough to let the air in, which is a shame as the bed was superb I just couldn't sleep in it.
The location is the biggest selling point, a few minutes from Times Square, however this hotel is refined and a joy to stay at. I'd highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,449 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,246 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing