We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located in midtown Manhattan”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #66 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bangor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfectly located in midtown Manhattan”
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Went here for a 40th birthday treat for 4 nights mid-week. Took a junior suite and were lucky enough to get a roof terrace! As high up as we were (24th floor) street noise was not an issue.

The suite compised two main rooms with the bathroom off the bedroom and was a good size (especially for New York). We enjoyed ourselves immensely and found the staff and service very good indeed. We only breakfasted once in the hotel and had a few drinks at the bar but located as it is a few blocks from Time Square and between 5th and 6th Avenue we were spoilt for choice with the host of nearby restaurants/bars and proximity to the main attractions.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJMBangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,096
    1,695
    385
    130
    66
See reviews for
1,075
2,905
345
874
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

The room I had was extremely clean! Staff was VERY courteous and very nice! The lobby and all the amenities were AMAZING!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone would wants a REAL NYC experience!!

Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We stayed at the Sofitel for seven nights last summer and were very pleased with the experience. First of all, the location was excellent. We were a block and a half from Times Square and a block and a half from Grand Central Station. The area was very clean and we always felt safe walking home, even late at night (after 1:00am).

The staff was good, the concierge desk (I believe her name was Brooke) provided lots of valuable information and booked an excellent city tour for us. The door men were friendly and quickly got us a cab when we needed one. There was a charge for wifi in the room, but there were three computers in the lobby for guest use (there was usually a bit of a wait for them). Our room was on the twenty-second floor with a view of the GE Building (30 Rock) and I would say the room was pretty big based on what I have heard about NYC hotel rooms.

One could likely get a cheaper room in a similar area, but I would defiantly recommend the Sofitel to anyone staying in Manhattan.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennyBNewbrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enjoyniceholidays
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel in New York for 5 nights Feb/March 2010. It was the hotel that I had wanted to stay in when we decided to goto New York for a city break and it didn't let down. The staff were helpful. The concierge were excellent, booking trips and restaurants for us - giving us info when we required it. We dined in the restaurant which was lovely and also had drinks - the staff were great.

The room was very nice, although not huge, was large enough. It was kept to a very high standard and cleaned to an impeccable standard daily. We had room service which was also good and prepared quickly.

Location was good for our purposes - a couple of blocks from Times Square and the New York library so access to the subway was relatively easy. It was on a fairly quiet street so we hardly heard any noise whatsoever (we were on the 11th floor). We were given an extended check out time which was also useful on our last day.

Only cons were prices were on the high side (for room service/restaurant/minibar) but guess that is more about the pound to the dollar as we found that pretty standard in New York. We were given bottled water every day - left in our room.

If we were to go back to New York I would definitely stay at the Sofitel again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enjoyniceholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia suburbs
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We stayed for 3 nights during the beginning of a very snowy weekend for a birthday celebration. We chose the hotel based on trip advisor recommendations and were not disappointed. We were able to get breakfast at the hotel restaurant included in the rate which was a very good deal. We were also supposed to get a room upgrade but that didn't happen due to availability on the day we checked in. We were in a 19th floor room with a partial view. We were accommodated for an early check in and late check out. The staff were very pleasant and the hotel lobby is stunning.

Our only negatives were cold showers on one of the mornings of our stay. Also the concierge didn't have the correct information on the subway to the Am Academy of Natural History. The B line does not run on weekends, so we wasted a half hour waiting for a train that wasn't coming.

The location did allow us to walk to many places including restaurants and the theatre. It's one of the few hotels we've stayed in where we didn't hear anyone around us.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakegeorgegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Upon arrival we were upgraded to a higher room. Room was very clean and pretty good size considering we were in New York. Great location ,very close to everything without being in the crowd. The beds are like sleeping on a cloud. We didn't eat in the hotel but for breakfast there is a huge diner a few doors down.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cutmemick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Pre-booked at an early bird rate, which was still quite high but still very reasonable for NYC. Upgrade granted thanks to our A-Club status. Average view but corner suite so very pleasant and bright room. As usual, the exceptional Sofitel bed!
Personalized welcome upon check-in and friendly staff. Very nice attention (wonderful cake waiting for us in the room) for our anniversary.
Overall, excellent if you want to be in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#40 of 468 in New York City
3,578 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,851 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,428 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#76 of 468 in New York City
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing