We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful hotel in excellent location”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #66 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Restful hotel in excellent location”
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Booked direct with hotel on internet. Excellent location between 5th and 6th Avenue and 2 blocks from Times Square. Luxury room was spacious, quiet (no outside noise) had a very comfortable bed and a great shower.
Recommended if you want a quiet and relaxed stay..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffordM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,096
    1,695
    385
    130
    66
See reviews for
1,075
2,905
345
874
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

The purpose of our trip was to have a relaxing weekend getaway, and this hotel was well-made for this. The room itself was on the small side, but it was very clean, quiet (couldn't hear through the walls), and it smelled nice. The bathroom was spacious, and well-stocked with thick towels, L'Occitane toiletries, a candle, and a separate tub and shower. The bed was like a large nest, with the clean duvet cover and fluffy pillows. Staff was courteous and efficient. Location is centrally located in Manhattan, a 10-minute walk from Grand Central Station and five minutes from Times Square, and around the corner from the subway. We will certainly go back to this hotel when we return to New York.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Mimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Much nicer than the Washinton Sofitel. Great service. Wonderful large and quiet room. Room Service efficent and tasty.

Worth every penny. Very quiet. Bed very comfortable. Home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narva, Estonia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

The only clear advantage this hotel has is the location, in the heart of Manhattan, just a 10 minutes walk from Times Square. The rest I can recall about this hotel was on the bad side. I was expecting something special from the luxury Sofitel chain hotel, however what I got was a rather small room in need of refurbishment. Nothing luxurious at all. We had a room overlooking an ugly backyard. Oh yes, we could see Chrysler building from the window, but that was all about the view. Staff was not friendly, although rather efficient in solving the problems.
Overall, I think that it was a waste of money. I also was very disappointed in Sofitel as a trademark for luxury hotels. It is a far better idea to opt for a cheaper Novotel and still to have same level of comfort and service.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dog_in_the_fog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTito, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 12 November 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

We regret that you experienced unfriendly service, and we apologize for that. We strive for the highest level of professionalism. While that individual does not reflect our philosophy or the way we train our staff, we are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve.

Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Jorge Tito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Sofitel at the end of October and I must say the service was impeccable, the staff were really friendly and could not do enough to help.

The bed is so comfortable, had you not been in New York you would not want to get out of it.

The location is great, come out of the hotel turn left and you are on 5th Avenue, turn right and you are minutes from Times Square and the Theatre district.

At first it may seem pricey, however it is New York and compared to other New York Hotels at around the same price it is miles ahead.

We stayed here previously during our honeymoon and Will definately come back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, aus
Level Contributor
149 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

I have stayed here a couple of times and it's a really good option for New York. The location is great - just off 5th Avenue. The Concierge make good restaurant recommendations and staff are helpful by NY standards. Rooms are a good size and very clean. The fitness centre is also pretty good. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marniemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Central location, very quiet but close to the action. Comfortable beds and rooms. Staff friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the little café. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#40 of 468 in New York City
3,578 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,550 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,850 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,428 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#76 of 468 in New York City
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing