We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel New York
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$255
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$310
US$239
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$431
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$309
US$281
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$497
US$412
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$213
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$384
US$207
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$207
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$296
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,842)
Filter reviews
6,843 results
Traveller rating
4,407
1,799
424
140
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,407
1,799
424
140
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red flame dinergaby restaurantnew yorktimes squarechrysler buildingseparate showerroom serviceturn down servicebryant parkfifth avenuelate checkgrand central stationhigh floorbottle of champagnequiet streetrockefeller centerfantastic hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,539 - 3,544 of 6,843 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Booked direct with hotel on internet. Excellent location between 5th and 6th Avenue and 2 blocks from Times Square. Luxury room was spacious, quiet (no outside noise) had a very comfortable bed and a great shower.
Recommended if you want a quiet and relaxed stay..

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffordM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

The purpose of our trip was to have a relaxing weekend getaway, and this hotel was well-made for this. The room itself was on the small side, but it was very clean, quiet (couldn't hear through the walls), and it smelled nice. The bathroom was spacious, and well-stocked with thick towels, L'Occitane toiletries, a candle, and a separate tub and shower. The bed was like a large nest, with the clean duvet cover and fluffy pillows. Staff was courteous and efficient. Location is centrally located in Manhattan, a 10-minute walk from Grand Central Station and five minutes from Times Square, and around the corner from the subway. We will certainly go back to this hotel when we return to New York.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al-Flaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Much nicer than the Washinton Sofitel. Great service. Wonderful large and quiet room. Room Service efficent and tasty.

Worth every penny. Very quiet. Bed very comfortable. Home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

The only clear advantage this hotel has is the location, in the heart of Manhattan, just a 10 minutes walk from Times Square. The rest I can recall about this hotel was on the bad side. I was expecting something special from the luxury Sofitel chain hotel, however what I got was a rather small room in need of refurbishment. Nothing luxurious at all. We had a room overlooking an ugly backyard. Oh yes, we could see Chrysler building from the window, but that was all about the view. Staff was not friendly, although rather efficient in solving the problems.
Overall, I think that it was a waste of money. I also was very disappointed in Sofitel as a trademark for luxury hotels. It is a far better idea to opt for a cheaper Novotel and still to have same level of comfort and service.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dog_in_the_fog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTito, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

We regret that you experienced unfriendly service, and we apologize for that. We strive for the highest level of professionalism. While that individual does not reflect our philosophy or the way we train our staff, we are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve.

Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Jorge Tito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Sofitel at the end of October and I must say the service was impeccable, the staff were really friendly and could not do enough to help.

The bed is so comfortable, had you not been in New York you would not want to get out of it.

The location is great, come out of the hotel turn left and you are on 5th Avenue, turn right and you are minutes from Times Square and the Theatre district.

At first it may seem pricey, however it is New York and compared to other New York Hotels at around the same price it is miles ahead.

We stayed here previously during our honeymoon and Will definately come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews