We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could ask for”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #66 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Stayed here with my mum for a 4 night shopping trip. This was our fourth trip to New York and this is the best hotel we have stayed at so far. The location could not be better, both for the immediate vicinity and also to travel both up- and down town. We had a twin room on the 23rd floor, the beds and bathroom were great and we requested a coffee machine on arrival which was delivered within minutes. Despite its central location (between 5th and 6th avenues) our room was very quiet. You have to pay for wifi in the rooms (which I find a little annoying in this day and age) but there are 3 computers with free internet access in the lobby. We didn't eat at the hotel but the bar was a nice place to have a drink before or after dinner. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and any requests were dealt with promptly. Overall, other than price (but this is New York!!) I can't fault it.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnonFromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,387 - 3,393 of 6,655 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2010

We stayed in Sofitel for 5 days to celebrate a friends birthday/retirement. From the time we arrived to the time we left, it was fantastic. The location is great, 5 mins walk to 5th Avenue, Times Square, Rockafella Plaza. Every member of staff were courtesy and polite. Breakfast each morning was exceptional, great variety, great service. Our room was brilliant, had view of chrysler building, extremely comfortable and of a high standard. From the lobby area, to reception, to restaurant area, all maintained to a very high standard. We arrived just at Thanksgiving and the hotel was been done up and it looked beautiful. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer. Can't wait to return. Sofitel keep up the great work...

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FussyTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Stayed at Sofitel on the 10th of December and the prominent thing that consistent with my stay was the exceptional professionalism and courtesy given by the hotel employees. The main lobby and is beautiful with a lounge to relax in. The rooms were a bit small but everything about the hotel was very clean. The bathrooms were imdeed perfect as well with a separate tub and shower. The location could not have been better as well. It is located about 2 blocks from Grand Central and a quick 10 min walk to Times Square. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We just stayed 3 nights at the Sofitel, guided mainly by trip advisor reviews. The hotel is beautiful, the lobby all decorated and lit up at night with great club chairs to relax in, is stunning. Staff are great, everything is beyond clean and efficient. Our room was underwhelming a bit, mainly because of high expectations. The room a bit small and plain. The bathroom, however, gorgeous and with lots of space and amenities. We paid a high price because of the time of year and based on our stays at other great NYC hotels, I expected a bit more from the room for the price.
That said, I would definitely stay again, especially if a better price could be found (which I'm sure it could at different times of the year). The location is excellent with so much within 15-20 minute walk.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

My husband and I were visiting New York for 7 days to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, experience Thanksgiving Day and to shop, shop shop!

I spent considerable time readingTrip Advisor reviews on numerous hotels in NY before booking a Junior Suite at the Sofitel. The suite was great value. We requested a high floor and were given a room on the top floor. The room was generous in proportions (an essential when you are shopping!) and amazingly quiet. The location is less than three blocks south of Rockerfeller Centre and two blocks east of Times Square - making it central to all sights and a quiet haven from the craziness that is NYC.

Although minor, the only disappointment was the lack of attention to detail in restocking our mini-bar on a daily basis and replenishing soap in the bathroom.

We'll be back at the Sofitel for our next trip to NY.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coffee4Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Me & my husband booked this hotel based on the fabulous reviews we had seen on Trip Advisor and we were not dissapointed! Everything about this hotel was ideal - perfect location situated between 5th & 6th avenue and only 2 blocks away from Times Square and Central station (perfect for catching the subway). Also a short walk to Broadway perfect to catch a show - we saw Wicked would recomend it at the Gerswin Theatre. The hotel room was very spacious as was the bathroom, the bed was very comfortable too. The conceriege staff where very helpful with directions / queries etc... We didn't eat at the hotel as we were room only - but there are plently of diners and restuarants nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leannegriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We have stayed at Sofitel NY several times. It is a consistently excellent hotel with helpful staff and great amenities. The rooms are clean, well appointed, with very comfortable beds and linens. Rooms are a good size for NYC. The location is perfect for Broadway plays or touring NYC on foot. Sofitel is elegant with a european feel. With the exception of running into the occasional rude french guest (I am part french also), our stay was superb.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmcl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,781 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#44 of 470 in New York City
3,685 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#78 of 470 in New York City
3,605 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#109 of 470 in New York City
4,472 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 470 in New York City
3,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £182 - £597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing