We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel New York
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)
US$440
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,879)
Filter reviews
6,879 results
Traveller rating
4,422
1,806
430
141
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,422
1,806
430
141
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red flame dinergaby restaurantnew yorktimes squarechrysler buildingseparate showerroom serviceturn down servicebryant parkfifth avenuelate checkgrand central stationhigh floorbottle of champagnequiet streetrockefeller centerfantastic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
3,511 - 3,516 of 6,879 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2011

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have always had wonderful service . The rooms are always clean and comfortable and a good size. I love the location, easy to walk up to Times Square or along 5th Ave. to the Park.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lissa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

For the money, probably NYC is not a great value, but at the Sofitel, this is the second time i have been there and i find the rooms to be tiny. Internet this time was spotty at best, non-existant at times. There is no coffee in the rooms - personal hangup there. Very clean, staff very professional, but not what i would call friendly. My last day there, no hot water which at these prices, I found amazing.

Well situated just a few blocks from TImes Square - as i say, very clean, i suppose trendy. But given a choice, i would not go back there

Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
Thank petewanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTito, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York, We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the issues that you experienced.
We regret that you had problems with hot water at your last day, we did not have any records of this and we can not investigate without further information as room number for us to fix the problem, but we will be very attentive to this mentioned situation, thank you for letting us know. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience. Regarding the internet we have noticed some punctual comments and we are take actions to increase the band and the capacity of our infrastructure, very soon we will have a better IT facility.
We are very happy to hear your good comments about the professionalism of our staff and regarding the friendliness of them we will look at it on our future training programs.
Once again please accept our sincere apologies and we promise we will improve for sure with the help of your comments.
We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.
Sincerely.
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Sofitel for 4 nights for a long winter weekend getaway. The hotel is very classy, and the rooms are very fresh, clean and nice albeit on the medium/smaller side. I called ahead to ask the concierge to order and deliver fresh flowers to the room for my wife and they did a great job - even when our arrival was delayed by a day - the beautiful flowers were in the room upon arrival. The front desk was great. We had to book an extra night because of the snow storm delaying our arrival. So being last minute the rates were very high. So I booked a queen room instead of the king - but they allowed us to stay in the king we were in - and not move - with no upcharge. That was quite nice. The concierge helped with a few things fine. The only thing was when we asked about a nice jazz club nearby, they sent us to a dumpy place - nothing classy like the hotel or the weekend we had planned. The other thing was when we asked about a nice piano bar, they twice directed us to the same place - but it was a jazz club with a huge cover. no piano. Other than that, the location is great - right off 5th ave. on 44th street - we could walk to Del Frisco's for a steak and to Grand Central and Times Square. Just a very nice weekend. I highly recommend it. Just find your own jazz club or piano bar..........

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstebanMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

I've stayed in Sofitels all over the world. The chain is great, and this particular Sofitel is, in my opnion, one of the best in the chain. Every detail is attended to, every courtesy extended. Arriving there after a flight across the US, or the Atlantic, feels like coming home.

Now, if I could just convince them to put the lovely free coffee out before 7 AM.....

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

This hotel is in a perfect location - a short walk to Times Square but far enough away from the chaos. The beds were so comfortable, had 4 great nights of sleep. The staff were friendly, the rooms were very clean. No complaints at all. Loved it and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srcaOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews