We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very modern property and great value for NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 48LEX New York
Ranked #68 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
KY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very modern property and great value for NYC”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

There are many positives about this boutique hotel. The rooms were large, comfortable beds, small kitchenette, great espresso machine, friendly staff and good food. If I were to mention a negative, I'd say that my room smelled like moth balls. I suppose I got used to it, because I didn't notice after the first day.
I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    355
    101
    38
    23
See reviews for
205
522
73
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Nice hotel. Too bad about Hyatt's billing. I found a good online rate and called Hyatt. The agent heard the quote and agreed. When the receipt came out later, I didn't check it - she billed me at a much higher rate and that's what stands. Lesson learned: I need to supervise Hyatt like a child. After the trip I noticed that they billed me twice for the same night. Unprofessional.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjw420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob G, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear rjw420,

I do apologize for the inconvenience and wrong doing that you may have felt transpire during your stay. If you would like to discuss this further please reach out to me directly.

Sincerely,

Kelsey P
Kelsey.pratt@hyatt48lex.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have stayed at this super convenient hotel in mid town on several occasions in recent years, most recently in May 2014, and it never disappoints. Its boutique style suits me as I tend to fly in from the UK for two days of business at a time. The check in is always efficient, the rooms clean and spacious for NYC, the bathrooms good, clean and with good shower pressure. There is a great club lounge on the second floor with wifi and tea/coffee and a fantastic bistro on the ground floor (worth booking for the evenings), but which does a wonderful and reasonably priced breakfast too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbanTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel was very clean and modern. Nice lounge area on the second floor, which included included complimentary tea, coffee and some snack food. We were disappointed that the staff was not more familiar with the area. We asked for the names of a few local dance clubs but they didn't know of any. And in the morning we asked about a nice place for an organic breakfast and again they didn't know of any place. There are certainly better hotels in NYC in this price range.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongIslandRozina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,262 reviews
426 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 615 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here one night in May 2014. Good experience. Reservation was in my name and I had to call to add my partner's name since he was checking-in early; hotel had no problem getting this done and service on the phone was excellent. My partner's arrival process was excellent, as was my own. Front desk staff gave good recommendations for places to grab a late bite to eat/grab some dessert in the vicinity of the hotel.

Lobby is very small, but stylish. Was in a standard king room; it was spacious by New York standard and had a very comfortable bed and nice bathroom. A bit odd in a standard room to have the dishwasher, wine rack, etc., but no complaints.

Service was great. As a diamond member, I was given a certificate for use in the hotel's restaurant; it was nice that this could be used at anytime instead of just breakfast. Hotel also extended checkout even beyond the 4p benefit to accommodate a very late flight departure--much appreciated.

Overall a nice stay; would not hesitate to return! Great location, too--near subway and a good spot for exploring NY.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is very clean and has an amazing little bistro downstairs. We stay here every time we visit NYC and that is often. The amount of space that you get in your room is wonderful compared to lots of other NYC hotels. Also, you are right in the middle of everything, but you are walking distance to most places or VERY close to the subway system. We always tell our closest friends to stay here!

Room Tip: This noise level is low at this hotel, because you aren't right on top of Time Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was really expecting more from 48 Lex. Check in took a while. Book a standard room got upgraded to a suite. The suite was spacious but the room had a musty odor. The room was comfortable and I had a good night rest. Location was not bad, a few blocks from the subway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanbreezex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob G, Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear oceanbreezex3,

I do apologize for the odor in your room. I have passed on your review to our Director of Housekeeping to ensure other guests do not have this experience.

If you would like to discuss your stay further please contact me directly.

All the best,

Kelsey

kelsey.pratt@hyatt48lex.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,583 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#94 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#148 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 48LEX New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 48LEX New York

Property: Hotel 48LEX New York
Address: 517 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in New York City
#58 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Business Hotel in New York City
#184 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel 48LEX New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 48LEX New York is a striking and innovative, luxury boutique hotel, providing a fresh take on modern hospitality, focused on intimate and exclusive experiences for the chic and savvy traveler. Located on Lexington Ave and 48th St, with 116 salons and suites our hotel promises extraordinary four diamond service, a wide array of amenities while you stay in our spacious bedrooms or suites with all showcasing our floor to ceiling windows. Visit our inviting 2nd floor living room with lounge seating, a fireplace that overlooks the vibrancy of Lexington Ave and enjoy daily our signature complimentary light continental breakfast in the morning, cappuccino, water, fruit or cookies during the afternoon or a glass of wine with cheese which is served every evening. We also provide a 24-hour fitness center, our full service restaurant Lexington Brass, in room dining, 24-hour business center, and meeting space. Our convenient midtown location puts guests within walking distance of Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, and Fifth Avenue, home to the finest New York shopping. Perfect for corporate travelers seeking extended-stay accommodations book one of our corner one bedroom suites and enjoy a separate living room with generous space to spread out, a kitchenette and influx of natural light with floor to ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 48LEX New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt 48 Lex Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing