We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel! Great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 48LEX New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel 48LEX New York
Ranked #86 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel! Great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here at Christmas week and could NOT have been happier with everything this hotel offered. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are well appointed, and the bathrooms are absolutely beautiful...The location? You are close to everything...subway, buses, coffee houses, pizza joints, restaurants and SHOPPING! Bloomies is a bus or short walk north, as is Central Park, St Patricks, MOMA, etc etc...or head south to 42nd st and ride the crosstown bus to Times Square and theater district. Get a 7 day unlimited MetroCard at any subway station and ride the BUSES...if you want to see all the sights/neighborhoods of Manhattan. You can travel to all the boroughs if that's your desire...but our only venture was to see Coney Island (Brooklyn) and for that we road the subway from South Ferry. Get the Subway & Bus map loaded to your smart phone and you are set. Can you tell I'm a native New Yorker? I am!

Room Tip: I hit the swimming pool rate by accident...I would guess that any room will be just fine...this is N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob G, General Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for the review, connie c! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your room and all of the amenities of the hotel. I can't wait to celebrate your kind comments with our team!

Thanks,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    342
    96
    38
    23
See reviews for
198
496
71
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Recently had a two-night stay at this hotel.From the moment we checked in...until check-out.. we were tremendously pleased by the attitude of the entire staff. NOTHING was a problem..there was never a dismissive attitude we've experienced at other hotels. Not only did they escort us to the elevator, but walked us out onto the street to hail a cab(going in the correct direction)
The rooms were well lit, beautifully decorated and spacious.There was a European ambiance. Second floor lobby was a wonderful place to start your morning..or relax later in the day.There too..the staff was exceptional.

Location location... theater, restaurants..etc. all within walking distance, but this hotel has a certain quietness that enables you to relax after a busy day..Would definitely stay there again on future trips,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob G, General Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our team, Jacqueline M. Everyone here at Hyatt 48 Lex works extremely hard to ensure every guests stay is a memorable one. I can't wait to share your wonderful comments!

All the best,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a wedding we had in New York. The value was great and the location was even better! The hotel is relatively new and you can definitely tell with the rooms. The lounge was a nice plus the hotel had. Only complaint is the room service was kind of slow. Sometimes we'd get back pretty late in the afternoon (maybe 3 or 4 pm) and the rooms were still not down. We'd have to call front desk to ask them to please do the rooms. Other than that, it's a great option for a stay in New York.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob G, General Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Marta A,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Seriously this hotel is good, really lovely, large rooms (which I understand is not typical in NYC) the only reason in my opinion for dropping half a star is the lack of free wifi in a modern hotel in this day and age it is poor.

However everything else is outstanding, the room was lovely, large, clean with lots of useful amenities such as dishwasher, microwave fully stocked mini bar, coffee pot (which we used just to boil water for tea). Great shower room, large with hair dryer good vanity unit and plenty of towels. The bed was sooooo comfy the comfiest we have ever slept on.
Super efficient air conditioning too. My hubby used the gym again totally fit for purpose I preferred to get out and pound the pavements.

The staff were helpful and polite we did get two wake up calls on our final morning neither of which we had ordered but it was no big deal as we were already awake

We were on the 7th floor (705) there are only a handful of rooms on each floor we could hear some traffic noise mainly sirens but nothing that kept us awake and I am sure that reduces the further up the floors you are.
We only used the second floor lounge once for our first morning I am sure it is great for business users but we preferred to go out and explore new places for breakfast.

We used the lexington brass restaurant once for a drink whilst waiting for our cab back to JFK it was very pleasant truffle oil fries were delish.

Overall would definitely go back and recommend to others just sort out the free wifi hyatt!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jesska92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob G, General Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Jesska92,

Thanks for the shout out and detailed review! I do apologize for you not receiving your wake up call. Please join us again soon!

Thanks,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is always a good option, if you are on vacation or a working trip. Location is the best, close to Grand Central Station, Madison Ave, Park Ave, etc... Service is always very nice. The rooms are very comfortable and their executive lounge is also a good option for quick business meetings. The hotel also hosts a very nice restaurant called Brass. Recommend both

Room Tip: Try to get a room far from the elevator exit, is always quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlaEb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob G, General Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for the recommendation CarlaEb! We hope you join us again soon.

Warm regards,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel from the 12th to the 16th May. The hotel looks immaculate from the outside and we were not disappointed when we went inside. We arrived a few hours earlier than the check in time due to the flight times and were checked in no problem by the staff. We had been told that the rooms in New York were tiny. This was not the case, we were in room 901 and this was very spacious with a large bed, a large bathroom, TV and a mini bar. There was also a large wardrobe with an iron. The free pastry, muffins and coffee in the morning were fantastic and stocked up regularly. Free wi-fi was provided by the reception team and extended to the rooms and eating areas. The location is excellent. 10 minutes from Broadway, the same to central park and only a few minutes from the shopping areas of 5th Avenue. The room maids were also great, the room was left clean and tidy every day. All in all this was a fantastic hotel and would happily return. Thank you for a great experience.

Room Tip: Room 901 is close to the elevators so less walking along corridors. We couldnt hear the elevators o...
See more room tips
Green Features: Hyatt 48 Lex encourages reuse of towels. The AC can be set to your satisfaction and turned off should you chose.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend in New York City, having stayed at Hyatt 48 Lex for 4 nights (we were only booked for 3 but our flight home was cancelled and we had to extend our stay - a process which the staff at Hyatt 48 Lex made a breeze).

I can't really fault this hotel - great location in Midtown East, within easy walking distance of a selection of Metro stations, the Rockefeller Centre, Times Square and Grand Central Station, excellent customer service, very good room size (which is not that common, from what I've experienced on two previous visits to NYC), rooms immaculately clean and very well equipped (iron, ironing board, small dishwasher(!), microwave, etc).

We also had a great view of Lexington Avenue from our room on the 18th floor. Other pros include complimentary tea and coffee 24 hours a day in the second floor lounge, and very large restrooms on the lounge floor as well, which is great if you are flying a significant amount of time after check out and want to freshen up and change before your flight. Additional nice touches which are offered in the lounge but which we didn't take advantage of are complimentary pastries from 7 - 10am and cheese and wine from 5.30pm.

My only criticism, which is not unique to Hyatt 48 Lex, is that free wifi is not standard. We managed to get this for the duration of our stay by joining the Hyatt Gold Passport Program (don't know much about this - really just joined because it meant free wifi!), but that would be my only suggestion for improvement.

Thank you to the staff and management at Hyatt 48 Lex for making our stay so pleasant, particularly with the drama surrounding our cancelled flight!

PS. A bit random, but we loved the fresh, clean smell of the hotel on entering, which you can smell as soon as you turn onto 48th St from Lexington Avenue - very refreshing and welcoming after a long, hot day touring around the city.

Room Tip: We had Room 1803, which was a great size, had a fantastic view, and was very well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob G, General Manager at Hotel 48LEX New York, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Zara C,

Wow! Thank you for the wonderful review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and all of our amenities.

We hope to welcome you back as our guest soon!

Thanks,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 48LEX New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 48LEX New York

Property: Hotel 48LEX New York
Address: 517 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in New York City
#75 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Business Hotel in New York City
#185 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 48LEX New York 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 48LEX New York is a striking and innovative, luxury boutique hotel, providing a fresh take on modern hospitality, focused on intimate and exclusive experiences for the chic and savvy traveler. Located on Lexington Ave and 48th St, with 116 salons and suites our hotel promises extraordinary four diamond service, a wide array of amenities while you stay in our spacious bedrooms or suites with all showcasing our floor to ceiling windows. Visit our inviting 2nd floor living room with lounge seating, a fireplace that overlooks the vibrancy of Lexington Ave and enjoy daily our signature complimentary light continental breakfast in the morning, cappuccino, water, fruit or cookies during the afternoon or a glass of wine with cheese which is served every evening. We also provide a 24-hour fitness center, our full service restaurant Lexington Brass, in room dining, 24-hour business center, and meeting space. Our convenient midtown location puts guests within walking distance of Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, Radio City Music Hall, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, and Fifth Avenue, home to the finest New York shopping. Perfect for corporate travelers seeking extended-stay accommodations book one of our corner one bedroom suites and enjoy a separate living room with generous space to spread out, a kitchenette and influx of natural light with floor to ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 48LEX New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt 48 Lex Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing