We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing find near Broadway!”
Review of Hotel Americano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Americano
Ranked #401 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This hotel has character, charm, and a surprising amount of space in its rooms and bathrooms. It is chic and artsy, and we loved it from the moment we walked in the door. We go to new York frequently, and I would say that the Americano has given us the most bang for the budget.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Hi Mary,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hospitality is truly about the guests and pleasing you, is what our goal is. Thank you for your wonderful review, and we would love if you returned to stay with us again. Please feel free to contact me directly to set up your reservation mdoci@hotel-americano.com

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
HÔTEL AMERICANO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed at the hotel americano In September 2012. Room was smallish, but modern, clean, and efficient. Location is great for access to the highline. Staff was mostly friendly and helpful. Roof deck was nice. Bar was pricey, but not out of line... welcome to New York. Pool scene was a touch pretentious.
Overall a nice room and decent location. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Hi Scott,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you a pleasant stay with us and we would love to have you stay with us again. Please feel free to contact me if you return to New York mdcoi@hotel-americano.com

All the best
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
HÔTEL AMERICANO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Quite minimalistic design hotel. Great location: highline park very close and meatpacking on walking distance. Staff incredibley friendly and helpfull. À few extra shelfs in the bathroom would be usefull. Nevertheless, great shower, towels, view and room Ipad!! Thanks Americano!!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank MartijnenLeonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you found your stay with us pleasant and our staff friendly. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

My husband booked this as a surprise, and if I'd known about it I probably would not have chosen it based on reviews. Having stayed there, I would definitely not chose to go back. The selling point was the roof top garden which was closed, ok supposedly cos of Sandy....but they should have reduced their rates then. The room was so bare, I know that's the look they are going for, but seriously put up some art on the walls, and supply some shelves in the bathroom! I did not eat there but based on the lines of cars out side every nite I assume the food was good. I will say this though... The staff at reception were lovely, friendly....One poor guy went out in the snow storm to hail a cab for us, we were very greatful to him. The location is superb... Right at the steps of the amazing highline, a nice stroll to the Chelsea market. Just a pity the design is so pretentious.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pinkfairy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Americano. We are saddened to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. In regards to our rooftop, which was closed during Hurricane Sandy, for obvious reasons of danger, we are sorry you did not get to enjoy the view. We do hope, you make it out to New York again and choose to give us a second chance. Thank you for your feedback.

Best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This hotel suffers from trying too hard. In an effort to be uber-chic, it misses the mark by forgetting the basic amenities one might reasonably expect in an upmarket hotel. The bed is too small and the duvet even smaller and there is nowhere to sit down, hang a coat or put anything in the room. There's space for a bedside shelf, a bigger bed and somewhere to sit but it's not used. We stayed a couple of nights at the Standard earlier this week. There the rooms are similarly small and the hotel is priced at a premium thanks to its design. But they pull it off. The Americano doesn't quite. It wouldn't take much though: get bigger, more comfortable beds in, ditch the ridiculous bean bags, put a shorter cable in the crazy light hanging at thigh (sic) level by the bed, put a shelf in the bathroom so guests sont have to leave washbags on top of the wc and pop a shelf with a light switch in behind the bed. Maybe management could spend a night or two in the rooms living out of a suitcase and they'd get the drift. It's a shame as, contrary to some reviews, the staff have been delightful.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margotcowhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Hello Margot,

Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate to hear that you did not seem to enjoy your stay with us. About your animadversions to our rooms, the bed size in our hotel are standard King & Queen, so it is a bit confusing how you would find those to be too small for you. In regards to The Standard, who is a fellow member of Design Hotels, we have our own style and vision. However we do appreciate your suggestions for improvement and thank you once again for your review.

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I have just come back from a 9 day trip from the US and stayed in 4 properties during my stay there. For me this was the best one by far for the following reasons:

1. Staff: Young enthusiastic front desk staff. Really sweet and helpful waiting staff.
2. Food: Although not cheap, the quality of the breakfast was excellent. However, you get what you pay for and quality food isn't cheap. I had the 'green' smoothie, not because I particularly like smoothies, but because I would be 'good' and have something 'healthy' - it had spinach, kale the works in terms of anti-oxidants etc. I was truly expecting something very horrible but very healthy ... my ecstatic surprise to find it was the best smoothie on the table :-). I asked the kitchen staff if they made it on site and sure enough it was made from scratch on site. Lovely eggs benedict and great mexican eggs, that were mexican and not tex-mex.
3. Atmosphere: very relaxed downstairs, good bar and a good vibe without being too noisy and crazy.
4. Rooms: we had a small room but it had everything we needed. Mattress on a raised floor which was very comfortable. Sheets good, shower good, very simple with an urban feel to it. It is not the Mark or the Four Seasons but you are not paying those prices either. I feel the price quality was excellent.
5. Borrowed some bicycles from the hotel and rode through New York. The city just shrank, peddling along the Hutson and even through the middle of town was really fun and not at all as scary as that sounds :-).

Great time, thank you Americano

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heleen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Hello Heleen,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our purpose is to enhance the experience of our guest. Whether it be through our house made smoothies or in-room products, we are just happy to know you fully enjoyed the Americano experience. Thank you for your review and we hope to have you stay with us again :)

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I checked into Hotel Americano with a good friend hoping to stay at a good hotel but what we found was a great hotel! When we arrived it had been snowing and we were freezing but within 5 minutes of arriving we had checked-in, our bags were on their way upstairs and we were warming ourselves up with a Chelsea Sling on the house! Exactly what we needed. The bar was busy but not crowded and we had food in front of us within 15 minutes. The hotel room was fun and the bed was extremely comfy. We loved the lighting and the raised bed platform. Aesop products were a treat. The breakfast was very good (except they might have to work of their tea making skills for my friend) and the service was attentive. The guys on reception were really helpful - and hot! The only downside was that the roof top pool was closed. We went to have a look anyway (fuelled by a couple of cocktails...) A really great place to stay and it is right beside the highline and 5 minutes from a great diner. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr_specs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback from our guests and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you will make it out to New York soon, and choose to stay with us once again. Our rooftop, that you could not fully enjoy due to construction, will re-open in December as an Argentinian Grill and a lovely time to be in New York.

Thank you once again.

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#81 of 473 in New York City
684 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#91 of 473 in New York City
590 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#128 of 473 in New York City
3,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#140 of 473 in New York City
686 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#203 of 473 in New York City
1,456 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#147 of 473 in New York City
2,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Americano

Address: 518 W 27th St, New York City, NY 10001-5506
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #401 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £144 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Americano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Americano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing