We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attitude and Price for Nothing -- Stay at the NoMad or Crosby Street Hotel”
Review of Hotel Americano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Americano
Ranked #382 of 467 Hotels in New York City
New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Attitude and Price for Nothing -- Stay at the NoMad or Crosby Street Hotel”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Don't waste your time at this hotel. It is all looks and that is where it ends. The service is absolutely terrible. Unbelievable attitude from the manager down to the staff. Not sure how they are getting by in a competitive environment like New York City. As a local, I never want to go back there or support this place.

The NoMad and Crosby Street Hotel are two amazing boutique hotels in the city that get it right on all fronts. If you are looking for cool, boutique properties in New York City -- stick with one of those. I will certainly not be returning to Hotel Americano.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barca212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Hello,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We pride ourselves on service, so it is disappointing to hear that is where you were unsatisfied. I can guarantee that it it's not the norm for Hotel Americano. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future, and change your mind about us. Please contact me directly for a future reservation mdoci@hotel-americano.com

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
HÔTEL AMERICANO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    126
    63
    45
    24
See reviews for
18
151
36
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed here just before the Christmas holiday for short work/play trip in NYC. Usually stay right in meatpacking district, which is far better location.

Service at the hotel is fantastic (far unlike the Standard and other meatpacking hotels). Everyone from the bellman to the front desk to the bartender were incredibly friendly and helpful. Made you feel welcome and at home.

Rooms are beyond small. May be fine for one person, but challenging for two. No room the bathroom even for your face towel. If you order room service, you have to sit on the bed or some funky beanbag. Design elements don't seem to make up for the size of the room, unlike places in Tokyo.

I would recommend the hotel for the right pice, and only that. If you are going to spend the same per night as the Standard, I'd recommend staying there - better views, better location and even larger rooms (if you can believe that).

Room Tip: Stay here if you get a good deal. Not worth more than $250/night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFRjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful. Half of the stay in a hotel is the service. I am sorry you did not find Hotel Americano fully satisfying to your needs. We would still love to have you stay with us again on your next trip to New York!

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
HÔTEL AMERICANO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This hotel has character, charm, and a surprising amount of space in its rooms and bathrooms. It is chic and artsy, and we loved it from the moment we walked in the door. We go to new York frequently, and I would say that the Americano has given us the most bang for the budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Hi Mary,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hospitality is truly about the guests and pleasing you, is what our goal is. Thank you for your wonderful review, and we would love if you returned to stay with us again. Please feel free to contact me directly to set up your reservation mdoci@hotel-americano.com

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
HÔTEL AMERICANO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed at the hotel americano In September 2012. Room was smallish, but modern, clean, and efficient. Location is great for access to the highline. Staff was mostly friendly and helpful. Roof deck was nice. Bar was pricey, but not out of line... welcome to New York. Pool scene was a touch pretentious.
Overall a nice room and decent location. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Hi Scott,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you a pleasant stay with us and we would love to have you stay with us again. Please feel free to contact me if you return to New York mdcoi@hotel-americano.com

All the best
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
HÔTEL AMERICANO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Quite minimalistic design hotel. Great location: highline park very close and meatpacking on walking distance. Staff incredibley friendly and helpfull. À few extra shelfs in the bathroom would be usefull. Nevertheless, great shower, towels, view and room Ipad!! Thanks Americano!!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MartijnenLeonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you found your stay with us pleasant and our staff friendly. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

My husband booked this as a surprise, and if I'd known about it I probably would not have chosen it based on reviews. Having stayed there, I would definitely not chose to go back. The selling point was the roof top garden which was closed, ok supposedly cos of Sandy....but they should have reduced their rates then. The room was so bare, I know that's the look they are going for, but seriously put up some art on the walls, and supply some shelves in the bathroom! I did not eat there but based on the lines of cars out side every nite I assume the food was good. I will say this though... The staff at reception were lovely, friendly....One poor guy went out in the snow storm to hail a cab for us, we were very greatful to him. The location is superb... Right at the steps of the amazing highline, a nice stroll to the Chelsea market. Just a pity the design is so pretentious.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkfairy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Americano. We are saddened to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. In regards to our rooftop, which was closed during Hurricane Sandy, for obvious reasons of danger, we are sorry you did not get to enjoy the view. We do hope, you make it out to New York again and choose to give us a second chance. Thank you for your feedback.

Best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This hotel suffers from trying too hard. In an effort to be uber-chic, it misses the mark by forgetting the basic amenities one might reasonably expect in an upmarket hotel. The bed is too small and the duvet even smaller and there is nowhere to sit down, hang a coat or put anything in the room. There's space for a bedside shelf, a bigger bed and somewhere to sit but it's not used. We stayed a couple of nights at the Standard earlier this week. There the rooms are similarly small and the hotel is priced at a premium thanks to its design. But they pull it off. The Americano doesn't quite. It wouldn't take much though: get bigger, more comfortable beds in, ditch the ridiculous bean bags, put a shorter cable in the crazy light hanging at thigh (sic) level by the bed, put a shelf in the bathroom so guests sont have to leave washbags on top of the wc and pop a shelf with a light switch in behind the bed. Maybe management could spend a night or two in the rooms living out of a suitcase and they'd get the drift. It's a shame as, contrary to some reviews, the staff have been delightful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margotcowhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Hello Margot,

Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate to hear that you did not seem to enjoy your stay with us. About your animadversions to our rooms, the bed size in our hotel are standard King & Queen, so it is a bit confusing how you would find those to be too small for you. In regards to The Standard, who is a fellow member of Design Hotels, we have our own style and vision. However we do appreciate your suggestions for improvement and thank you once again for your review.

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#108 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,471 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#301 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Americano

Property: Hotel Americano
Address: 518 W 27th St, New York City, NY 10001-5506
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #382 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Americano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Americano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing