We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Americano stands out among the rest”
Review of Hotel Americano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Americano
Ranked #390 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Hands down the most memorable and unique place I have ever stayed at in the city. For a weekend I was completely pampered by the attentive, trendy staff and the massive amounts of entertainment options on site. There's multiple elegant restaurants, a rooftop pool bar and a perfect location to all the best galleries in Chelsea. Rooms have a neat, to-the-point feel that's comforting and insanely stylish. Highlight was the pre-loaded iPad in the room that made you think you were walking into a sleek lounge doubling as your bedroom. Such a hidden gem, I didn't even want to say nice things because I hope rooms are available next time I go to NYC too!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Hello,

We would like to thank you for staying with us, and especially for writing such a wonderful review. We truly appreciate it and are so incredibly happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much you would return next time you are in New York. I would love to personally take care of any future reservations you do have, please email me mdoci@hotel-americano.com. Thank you once again for taking the time to review us.

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in the run up to Christmas. We hadn't chosen a hotel before we got to NY, and selected Hotel Americano as it had been shortlisted for an extremely prestigious Wallpaper Design Award, and also the rates were very cheap compared to other hotels in that league.

We were not disappointed. The design style is urban, funky, retro, minimalist, and has a very cool atmosphere. The hotel fits right in with the up and coming neighbourhood - the really good bar across the street, the cutting edge art galleries in the vicinity, the new High Line passing right overhead (which is amazing) taking you down into the heart of the trendy Meat Packing district or to the Chelsea Market. We particularly loved the coffee at the hotel bar, and the very comfortable platform bed in the room.

Besides being delighted with the area, the service was wonderful - lots of attention to detail (particularly the bar staff), willingness to go the extra mile and stand out in the cold street to hail us a taxi as we got ready, etc. All in all, an excellent stay. We won't be checking into any other hotel next time we are in the city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hester W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Hi Hester,

Thank you so much for you wonderful review of Hotel Americano. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you do choose to return to Americano on your next visit to New York. Please email me directly and I would love to set up your future reservation personally, mdoci@hotel-americano.com

Thank you once again!

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We chose the Hotel Americano for its proximity to the Javits Center (about 10 blocks away) and its location in the Chelsea neighborhood. We wanted a place that would be close and comfortable after a long day at a trade show and was in a neighborhood with nice restaurants and amenities.

Our first impression of the Hotel Americano was that we didn't think we would be able to make it the full 7 days we had booked. But in the end we enjoyed our stay.

The rooms are really small and the bed is a platform on the floor. There is an unfortunate bean bag chair that takes up too much of the minimal space. The mini bar snacks took up most of the tiny desk.

After a little rearranging (ditching the snacks into the rather ample closet) and using the bean bag as a luggage stand, we found we actually had plenty of space for everything.

The rooms are really quite nice with expensive fixtures and nice - albeit minimal - touches. The towels and sheets were fantastic, as was the soap/shampoo and lighting.

There are some inconsistencies however. For some reason, we received a top sheet only every other day. The comforter was rather small so it was a bit uncomfortable without the sheet. The gorgeous geranium scented body wash was only left on some days.

The neighborhood is under construction so there is a lot of noise that starts early and the sound proofing of the hotel is below average for a new hotel. This was not a big issue for us because we were there for work - served as our alarm clock.

We really loved the delis and restaurants in the area. The pizza place across the street was fantastic. And the hotel's food was really good too.

On balance it is about a 3.5 of 5 given the price and some of the issues, but we left with a good impression so I am rounding up.

Don't stay here if you have a bad back and are a light sleeper. Do stay if you want a clean, fun, "designy" oasis in New York.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BridgetF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Hello Bridget,

Thank you for reviewing us, we do carefully read every review that Hotel Americano receives. We are happy to hear that your overall stay with us was enjoyable. We do pride ourselves with being very Design forward, however that doesn't mean we lack a standard for everything else such as service. So, it always helps hearing form our past guests and knowing what areas to keep a close eye on. Thank you once again for your review, and for staying with us. We hope you do return to Hotel Americano in the future.

All the Best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Im not usually a hipster hotel fan, but this place won me over. It was a fun stay, very comfortable, and extremely unique. The restaurant is truly wonderful, food is great, and the staff is cool yet very ammoniating.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellofrontdesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Hello,

We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you did not judge us by our "hipster" appearance. Hotel Americano is concentrated on service and comfort, above our design aesthetics, and it overjoys us when our guests really appreciate both.

Thank you for your review!

Best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The hotel is new, modern, quiet, and sfaff are very helpful. The price is fair. The rooms are uber modern with a European style that is not very cozy nor efficient. While I liked the cement floor for its cleanliness, there is no true desk or chair and the tiny bathroom sink and floor-level shower lead to water everywhere. There is only one outlet in the bathroom and literally no counter space. Given the minimalist decor, it took some time to find the TV remote tucked away in a cubby on wood platform for the bed.

The Hotel location, while close to the Javits Convention Center, is between 10th and 11th Avenues and in an area that does not seem safe to walk around at night. If you're there for a convention, suggest staying closer to Times Square or another area of mid town and taking taxis.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Hi Liza,

We would like to thank you for staying with us, and for your review of Hotel Americano. We are sorry to hear that you did not find our location to your liking, and did not explore the neighborhood a little further. In fact West Chelsea is known for it's art galleries, the highline, and the Hudson river parks. It is recommended for those who would like to explore New York, outside of the typical tourist attractions, like Times Square.

Thank you again for staying and reviewing us. We do appreciate it.

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The hotel's web site provides an accurate depiction of the hotel and the facilities it has available to guests. The hotel's booking system is easy to use and allows for changes to the booking to be made.

The hotel is easy to get to and is in a good location.

The hotel is in good condition and overall is a good quality hotel. The rooms are a little small, however if you are traveling as a couple or on your own I do not think you would have any issue with the size of the rooms.

The hotel's staff were helpful, with the exception to the staff that work in the bar on the ground level.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Hi Brent,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Americano. We always welcome feedback from our guests, and it seems you enjoyed your stay. We are overjoyed to hear that! I hope we became apart of your New York City experience, and you choose to stay with us in the future!

Thank you once again and all the best to you!

Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
Hotel Americano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Don't waste your time at this hotel. It is all looks and that is where it ends. The service is absolutely terrible. Unbelievable attitude from the manager down to the staff. Not sure how they are getting by in a competitive environment like New York City. As a local, I never want to go back there or support this place.

The NoMad and Crosby Street Hotel are two amazing boutique hotels in the city that get it right on all fronts. If you are looking for cool, boutique properties in New York City -- stick with one of those. I will certainly not be returning to Hotel Americano.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barca212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will J, Marketing & Communications at Hotel Americano, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Hello,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We pride ourselves on service, so it is disappointing to hear that is where you were unsatisfied. I can guarantee that it it's not the norm for Hotel Americano. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future, and change your mind about us. Please contact me directly for a future reservation mdoci@hotel-americano.com

All the best,
Megi Doci
Marketing & Communications
HÔTEL AMERICANO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#133 of 469 in New York City
3,623 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#81 of 469 in New York City
656 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#163 of 469 in New York City
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#162 of 469 in New York City
2,901 reviews
Chelsea
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
#107 of 469 in New York City
1,927 reviews
Manhattan
Ace Hotel New York
Ace Hotel New York
#203 of 469 in New York City
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Americano

Address: 518 W 27th St, New York City, NY 10001-5506
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #390 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £152 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Americano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Americano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing