We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bierhaus NYC

Bierhaus NYC
Ranked #2,554 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Pub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 45th Street
Transit: Grand Central Station
Description: Bierhaus NYC, a Bavarian-style restaurant and bar is conveniently located 1 1/2 blocks from Grand Central Terminal. Open for lunch and dinner, Bierhaus NYC is unlike any restaurant in New York City, offering communal seating, a 50-foot balcony and a glass ceiling, as well as a fun atmosphere appropriate for all ages.
Byblos, Lebanon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sweet spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

If you're a 21+ beer enthusiast you'll definitely like this place. It's an authentic German beer house, with real german food and heavy german beer. The atmosphere is nice, with live music in the evening and a screening of German football clubs' games.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyEKhoury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O, Owner at Bierhaus NYC, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks for recommending us, Anthony! We're glad to hear you like what we have going on here. We hope you'll join us again for more beer, German fare, and soccer soon!

Cheers,
Bierhaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    73
    43
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hofbrau House Did Not Disappoint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

In NYC for a little fun and a little business. My friend from Google lives near. Hofbrau and highly recommended. The schnitzel was bigger than my head! Great Dunkel. Try it out you'll like it!

Helpful?
Thank chrisjchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O, Owner at Bierhaus NYC, responded to this review, 21 October 2014
So glad you stopped by, Chris! It's great to hear you loved the schnitzel. Hope you'll swing by to say 'Guten Tag' the next time you're visiting New York.

All the best,
Bierhaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good German food with lively atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff with a bustling atmosphere. Schnitzel and bratwurst were tasty and had an ice cold German beer. They came around with shots on a big ski which required synchronized drinking. Fun to watch

Helpful?
Thank JenniferSN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O, Owner at Bierhaus NYC, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Sounds like you had a great time, Jennifer! Thanks so much for taking a minute to say some nice things about us here on TripAdvisor. We're really glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and pints. Keep us in mind for the next time you're in the city! We'd be happy to see you!

Cheers,
Bierhaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Quick After Dinner Beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had a quick HB Original Beer and sat out on the balcony watching the traffic and people go by. Great vantage point looking up 3rd Ave.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O, Owner at Bierhaus NYC, responded to this review, 21 October 2014
Tyler, we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view and a brew! Next time, we'd love to have you back for some tasty food to go along with it. Maybe for a Sunday brunch?

Thanks for your review,
Bierhaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
186 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“World Cup and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

So some of us went to watch some of the the world cup games and we had a great time. Plenty of tvs at every angle needed for everyone to enjoy. Drinks were good at a reasonable price, food was good the pretzels were awesome. The live band was great and overall it was a great night. Nice city bar to hang out in that is for sure. They have a huge skylight which makes you forget your in the city but be prepared to hike a steep set of stairs which is more of a challenge to go down at the end of the night.

Helpful?
Thank erawson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O, Owner at Bierhaus NYC, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks for joining us to watch the World Cup! We're really happy to hear you had a great time drinking and cheering with us. We'd love to see you here for more matches, so come back for more beer and pretzels! We'll be showing all the games and hope to see you soon.

Cheers,
Bierhaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bierhaus NYC also viewed

 

Been to Bierhaus NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing