We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hang out”

Stumptown Coffee Roasters
Ranked #10 of 476 Coffee & Tea in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Mill Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great coffee and a great place to hang out with friends. In a wonderful neighborhood so you can follow up your coffee with a pleasant stroll around these neighborhoods.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindynor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    65
    19
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just fantastic coffee”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

When I stumbled upon Stumptown while visiting NYC with my wife, I recognized the name as being one of the recommended coffee shops in the city. We went in for some coffee, and there's a reason its recommended - the coffee was excellent, plus its a cool little shop.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VATrav3l3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No need to settle for Starbucks!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Ask any Australian living in NYC what they miss most about home and there is a fair chance their answer will be Coffee! Real, good quality coffee, not the filter kind that Americans favour.
Stumptown was my salvation! Fantastic coffee, great service and a very cool place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I make the walk when I can”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Probably my favorite coffee place ever. I work five blocks away so it's not exactly a trek but it's long enough that some days it's a little too far and (the also very good) Gregory's is the coffee place of choice.

The first time I went in a couple of years ago I had this incredible feeling of it just being a perfect place. It's part of the great Breslin/John Dory/#7 Sub "complex" in the Ace Hotel, and lives up to that standard. They evoke the early 20th century, though the overall feeling is very hipster. The customers aren't wearing fedoras and ink, but all of the employees are.

The coffee is amazing. It's actually sweet on it's own and requires no additives. Don't even think about sugar. Do keep in mind it's cash only.

Every time I leave Stumptown I find myself strolling back to work instead of rushing. It just has that effect. Oh and one day I'm just going to bring my computer in and work in the Ace lobby. Some day...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Coffee”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

One of the best cappuccino's I've ever had and i've been to Italy several times. Employees are very friendly as well. Beware, no credit cards accepted. Cash only.

Helpful?
Thank coryfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stumptown Coffee Roasters also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Stumptown Coffee Roasters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing