We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dream Downtown
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$205
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$308
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$347
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$263
US$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$322
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$307
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$515
US$415
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$204
US$171
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (3,784)
Filter reviews
3,784 results
Traveller rating
2,440
748
301
143
152
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,440
748
301
143
152
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschelsea marketmeatpacking districtbodega negraelectric roomdream teamrooftop barthe meat packing districtnew yorktrendy hotelfun hotelthe high linenight lifeguest servicesamazing hotelthe entire staffview of the empire state buildingking room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,000 - 3,005 of 3,784 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2012

an amazing place, very well located,trendy and fashion, wonderful...but what happens with this hotel? why isn't it at TOPTEN NY? the staff is a little bit cold...when I arrrived, from Brazil, where I live, I could feel that I didn't belong...I mean, I should not be there, it was just for celebrities and pop stars... my 1st impression improved after a wonderful meal at Marble Lane, where I had wonderful scallops, I can't fprget the taste! and the waiters were very attencious and polited.
I like the nightlife, and I could visit the PHD and the bar downstairs, that was overcrowded and the staff was very rude... fortunately a nice boy from front desk helped me while I was in internet in the reception area, his name is Patrick (an african american guy), and I could change my 1st impression. I hope to come back to Dream Downtown,but I really think the staff could try to make the guests feeling that " yes, I'm in a friendly place, I belong" , and I see that manager is always answering the reviews here, he does care about! my tip is : make your team laugh and smile more, and treat everybody like an important person!

Room Tip: lower floors are protect against noise, I think!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuMatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear LuMatos – thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel so much. Be assured that your impressions of our rooftop’s PHD (we think you might actually visited the Electric Rooms in our cellar) are being addressed. Both clubs continue to be amongst NYC’s hottest nightlife spots and get very busy – but that is not an excuse to forget our service culture. We hope to see you again! Regards – AXEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

To begin, the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. I was pleasantly surprised as to the size of the room for the money. I Loved the ultra-modern / chic rooms and I did not want to take my robe off. Will probably purchase one my next visit which will be very soon.
Had a great meal at Marble Lane, the steakhouse in the lobby as well. My server was great.
Tom Brady

Room Tip: I stayed in 318 and found it perfect. Can't say much more.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I seem to always have the same gripe with boutique hotels. Dream is truly beautifully designed. Everything appears very well thought out, and then you get a closer look. Light switches impossible to figure out, bathroom sinks that defy explanation, poor craftsmanship. This is an expensive hotel, I expected perfection. The pros: delicious bed, super comfortable, free WiFi, great TV with premium channels. The cons: stained rug (I mean, really stained), bathroom outlet didn't work, there's only 1 outlet at the desk, 2 of the lamps didn't work, and the stainless bathroom sink truly makes no sense at all. The restaurant staff was very nice, the food we had was incredibly salty, which could be due to the chef on duty that night. The staff were average - not terribly hospitable and not a smile on anyone's face except for the morning doorman.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RCAnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear RCAnyc,

We appreciate the kudos for our design - and are aware of the challenges from pushing the envelope! Our interior designers, famed Handel Architects, favor “form follows function” but occasionally we might have missed the mark. We continue to tweak some of the more progressive design approaches, e.g. lighting controls, and at some point will make our stainless steel sinks (!) work flawlessly.

I apologize for the condition of the rug – by nature they look a little patchy – as they are patched designer rugs – but we are in the midst of having them taken off property to be deep cleaned one by one by a specialist.

We loved your reference to our “delicious beds” – beautiful choice of words!

Again thank you for your feedback. Best regards - AXEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Clearly this hotel operates more as a nightclub/night-life business... The rooms are fun in a clubby/love-hotel kind of way: shiny silver curtains, hello! We stayed here for one night and it was definitely a 'memorable' experience. We even had a great view of all the penthouse parties in the hotel tower across from us, it felt like everyone was at the hotel to party except us. at night the lobby becomes overrun with revealers trying to get to the various bars and party locations in the hotel [we couldn't keep track of them all]. This was our first experience of ever staying at a hotel where all we could hear all night was the sounds of porn being watched in the next room, LOUDLY. quite an experience and one that we would never want to repeat nor inflict on anyone. be warned!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYC-TRAV-FAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear NYC TRAV DAM - we wish it would have been all “good” memorable, Afer all your review started off so nicely. Evidently we did not manage to find you the peace and quiet that you were seeking after “losing track” of our many outlets. I am sorry for the unwelcome soundtrack from your neighboring room. Assuming it originated from the TV we have adjusted all TV’s maximum sound level to avoid this in the future. If the noise did not originate from the TV, but had natural causes beyond our control, we would have gladly offered a room with more “restrained” neighbors. My apologies again for this experience. With best regards – Axel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The pros:

Great location nears many attractions and great restaurants
Provide great nightlife with good drinks and great music

The cons:

Snooty and unprofessional staff
Room cleanliness is questionable
Loud music until late hours
Uncomfortable bed

If they improve their service, I'd stay here again. If not, this hotel doesn't offer good enough service for the value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thuy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Thuy N,

Thank you for your review. We would certainly love to have you back ! In the meantime we work on the shortfalls you mentioned.

I would greatly appreciate if you reached out to me at afischer@dreamdt.com to briefly talk about the staff concerns you mentioned. While cleanliness concerns are rarley being raise I apologize that we missed the mark during your stay. As for the beds however, if I may say, our Tripadvisor community finds they are all the rave. For those of us that prefer a firmer bed we are happy to remove the featherbed!.

Again – I look forward to a personal chat ! With best regards - AXEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews