We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Property & Location”
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #122 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Cool Property & Location”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Its a very cool hotel in a very cool location in New York City. The lobby transforms into a lounge in the evening and the roof top bar as amazing views of the Manhattan skyline. The rooms are small, but not surprising for New York. The metro station is a block away and a lot of good restaurants and bars a within minutes walk including Chelsea Food Market. Very friendly staff in a very busy hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackpushkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,272
    706
    279
    127
    136
See reviews for
269
1,034
177
1,082
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (839)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harstad, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

From the start to the end this hotel experience has been great. We stayed on the 4th floor. Rooms are nice with cool design. We found the rooms quiet. Great location. Good party sceen. No probems getting up to the disco for free after 9:30. I traveled with my boyfriend. Nice staff that always where helpfull and friendly. I would love to come back again!!!

Room Tip: Try get a room on the lower floors. We traveled with expedia.de from europe ang got a huge discount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights over Thanks Giving holiday. This is a very nice hotel. Our room (827) was very quiet and we had none of the issues we'd read about rooftop club noise-none. We always pack light, so the closet space worked for us. We read a lot of tough reviews about the sink & the toilet. The sink is chic and is also fine if you use the whole thing, the design makes you feel that you should use only the deep part! The toilet flush is perfectly fine, so I don't understand the bad reviews. Large button-large flush, small button...Yes, the light switches are not the North American norm, but really are self-explanatory.

Jennifer checked us in & she was very pleasant. On Thursday we asked to watch the Jets/Patriots game (Pats really laid a beating on NYJ) on the TV in the lobby with volume. The staff really tried but they couldn't do it:( They did suggest a good sports bar.

Even though we like this hotel, we won't stay at this hotel again because;

We left the Meatpacking district everyday rather than staying in the neighborhood. Besides Chelsea Market & the fantastic High Line, we found ourselves spending more time in SoHo & the village. One thing about the neighborhood-there are a lot of mom & pop diners and chic restaurants including Salinas on 9th-which is a modern(not a mom & pop), chic, high-quality tapas place-we highly recommend it.
We loved the look of the hotel lobby,but it felt like dinner lighting at all times, even at 8 AM! (we are morning people). Having said this, all the staff we dealt with really worked to take care of us-we just left the neighborhood by 10+ blocks all the time.

The bed is AWESOME.

This is a great hotel for the young and cool crowd. It's a great place to see and be seen:)

Room Tip: We were at room 827. It was a quiet room even though we know on the Saturday we were there, the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAndD2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

If you like sleeping surrounded by the color of metal, then this is your place. This place is like a porn set in space or a gay brothel in a Woody Allen movie. Some idiot also got cute with the light switches which are impossible to figure out. Stay away unless you are 25 and work in the fashion industry, and that case go go go to the FAAAAABULOUS Dream Downtown Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear ARuse - Thank you for your flamboyant review. In hindsight we decided that you may be right (in a good way), even though we could not wrap our heads around to the “Woody Allen gay brothel” analogy. Can't be bad - he is one fine artist. We embrace our colorful neighborhood right between Meatpacking District and Chelsea. For the less open minded we recommend the Upper East Side. Regards – AXEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Dont stay here unless you don't plan on sleeping the entire stay. Super thin walls, extremely loud doors, extremely loud and trashy hotel patrons, poorly designed and laid out rooms, the list goes on. I could not get more than two hours of undisturbed sleep on any given night, even after having my room switched due to pounding club noise my first night there. There is no quiet restful room here, even in the "quiet" hotel tower apparently. I stay in hotels for business & pleasure 75-100 nights per year, and this place is by far the worst overall experience I've had in years. I wouldn't stay here again, even if it were free.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you value getting more than two hours of sleep a night. Simple as that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear Vincent Z,

We are very sorry that even after the room move and upgrade to our quietest rooms you were disturbed by some late night revelers retiring to their neighboring rooms without much consideration for their fellow guests. We have security at all times in the lobby but we must have missed to escort these loud guests to their rooms. That being said our nightlife is one of the pillars of our brand. Our upscale environment usually attracts an equally sophisticated and well-dressed crowd. Anyone else has a hard time getting past the doormen really. I am sorry that a few of your guests had a bit too much fun and spoiled your night. We will email you and hope to talk your stay over. With best regards - AXEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This is a party hotel through and through. Seen and be seen. This is the hotel to do it in! The dream rocks! The staff here was exceptional. It is noisy but if you are in NY to party then bring it on you have found your spot! The lobby DJ was spinning a great mix upon my arrival! My room overlooked the pool and it was nice quite retreat away from the party at the end of the evening!

Room Tip: get the mid level room category the others are very tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chad_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2012

really cool hotel in the heart of meat packing - lovely rooms, bar, pool, gym, restaurant and staff. Natalie at the concierge desk was particularly helpful - arranging nicks tickets, great restaurants etc

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidjBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#152 of 466 in New York City
640 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 466 in New York City
1,791 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#100 of 466 in New York City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#89 of 466 in New York City
2,279 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#162 of 466 in New York City
1,394 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#86 of 466 in New York City
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Property: Dream Downtown
Address: 355 West 16th Street, Near 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing