We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Party hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #98 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Party hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

This hotel is well located to downtown NYC, your walking distance from the meatpacking district (and its nightlife), chelsea market and the highline (park).

The hotel itself has two very exclusive bars, PHD lounge and Electric rooms. Hotel guests are not guaranteed entry into either of these after a certain time, but if you get in they are fun places.

As the hotel has both of these bars and the bar in the lobby area itself, don't be surprised to find loads of people hanging around having a fun time and drinking, if you want somewhere very quiet you may want to try somewhere else.

The rooms are fine, size is in line with other good hotels and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom is ok not the best, the sink is very poorly designed.

There is no proper ipod dock, you need to get an audio cable which you can then hook up most mp3 players to listen to music through the room sound systems (the cable is available on request).

The steak and Japanese restaurants are nice if you like those cuisines, I would reccomend trying them out although on busy nights you may need to reserve in advance.

Hotel staff are friendly and helpful, although they did make a mistake on my account. I was charged room parking which was resolved but took a few days for someone to look into.

Room Tip: You don't want a room close to the PHD lounge which is on level 12 otherwise it may be noisy, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satyrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,233
    692
    267
    121
    127
See reviews for
259
1,018
171
1,058
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

really really bad service probably the worse in nyc.
the guys at the front desk have a bad attitude.
they just don't know how to treat their guests.
this is truly a very un valuable place to be when being in the city.
the audience at night that come for the bar is terrible.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonny l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel F, Assistant General Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Dear Jonny - I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am trying to determine what went wrong. Given your very broad statements I would greatly appreciate it if you contacted me directly at afischer@dreamdt.com so I can address your concerns. Thank you. AXEL FISCHER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

My sincerest thanks to The Dream staff, particularly Jillian who assisted me at the front desk and checked me in. Everyone is extremely kind and polite and goes above and beyond to assure that guests are taken care of. I travel a lot for work and I must say that the customer service is stellar. On top of that, the amenities/facilities/rooms were stellar and top notch. I can't wait to come back.
Definitely a great place to stay. Enjoy.
-Warren

Room Tip: All of the rooms I've been in are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

I'll be the first to say that I'm not the target audience for this hotel. I value style as much as the next person, perhaps more, but my most important criteria is being able to have a good night's sleep, something I found impossible at the Dream.

The pros - very nice staff, extremely comfortable beds. Great location.

The cons: If you check in on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday evening, you may think that you've got the wrong address, that you've entered a nightclub instead of a hotel. There are lines outside and a DJ spinning in the lobby. OK. Some may find this a plus. I do not.

You get to your room and think, this is nice, very stylish. Then you begin to notice that you can hear the TV going next door, that when people walk by your door, talking, you can hear every word. Then, you hear all your neighbors going in and out of their rooms. The doors are very heavy, and when they slam shut the walls vibrate. And the bathroom mirror and the furniture touching the walls vibrate too. The drawers in the closet have a spring-loaded closing device - clever, but when your neighbor is unpacking at 12:30am you hear the drawers slam shut. The polished concrete floors look nice, but when the woman next door is wearing high heels and walking between the bathroom and the bed area you hear every step she takes.

As an added sonic insult, on 2 consecutive nights there were false fire alarms in the middle of the night. Strangely, I did not hear the alarm itself but there were 2 announcements on the in-room PA.

One final quirk - the bathroom seems to have been designed for very tall people. Admittedly I am short - 5'2", but still! I had to stand on tiptoe to hang my robe up on the hook by the shower, and my feet did not touch the floor when I sat on the toilet. This is not a problem I commonly face.

Room Tip: I was told the 5th floor was normally a quiet floor when I complained about the noise the first nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CACatgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Dream Downtown. Had a great stay there. The staff were all really friendly. The rooms are perfect. Large by NY standards, beautiful design, spotless, and very modern. Loved the polished concrete floor and area rugs. The bed was super comfortable, and awesome giant shower. Great location, close to everything. I have stayed at a lot of different NYC hotels in the past few years, this one is by far the best. Thanks for a great stay, and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed for 1 night layover in NYC. Check-in was smooth. Cool and fun place. Great beds. Perfect location for a night of fun. Wonderful view from the room. Comfortable beds. Good atmosphere in the rooftop club. Only negative was that it was quite noisy during the night due to the music from the club. I would recommend a room in the middle of the building. For a business, I think the hotel is a bit too hectic, but for fun in Manhattan, perfect!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at Dream Downtown. We had a great time & I would definitely stay at the hotel again.
I had been worried about some of the reviews which talked about the noise at night in the rooms. So we emailed the hotel to ask for a quiet room before we arrived.

From our arrival the staff were helpful, friendly and well informed. Check in was easy. We were given a bigger room than booked in the quiet tower.

The rooms are well designed and spacious, made to feel even more so by the design and use of mirrors. I loved the modern feel to the rooms and large round windows, which for us looked out onto views of the Empire State Building. Great lighting in the rooms which can be dimmed and softened to just how you want it.

The bathroom was large for NY hotels, very clean & with lovely soft properly big towels & Etro toiletries. I'm a shower person so the large walk in shower was great.

The beds are very very comfortable. Good quality quilts and bed linen. My only wish would have been for a pillow menu with a firm pillow on offer, but they were good pillows just a bit soft for me.

The location is good. If you have been to NY before & want to explore more than midtown, Chelsea is great. Lots of neighbourhood restaurants & bars nearby. Your pretty near to 3 subway lines to get to other parts of the city.

The customer service & staff were consistently good over our stay. Always a friendly smile from all hotel staff.

We are in the 36-44 age group & didn't feel the hotel was too young. We enjoyed the buzz & the atmosphere.

Andrew & Amanda Campbell

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gtgmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Property: Dream Downtown
Address: 355 West 16th Street, Near 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#79 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#115 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing