We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dream Stay in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #99 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cherry Hill, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“Dream Stay in a great location”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The staff at the Dream was pleasant and accomdating from the minute we stepped into the hotel. They set us up with a upper level floor room with a great view. Some people may not want to be to high up as there is a lounge on the rooftop but we enjoyed the nightlife and did not return until 4am so it was not a concern for us. The room size are appropriate for NYC and we did not come to NYC to stay in our hotel room. The Dream hotel is within walking distance of all the outstanding restaurants such as Buddakan and Morimoto, as well as the lounges and bars in the meatpacking district. When we returned from dinner the staff suprised us for our birthday with a bottle of champagne. During our entire stay they were responsive when we requested ice, an iron, etc. This hotel has a great lounge in the lobby, the PHD rooftop lounge is chic and has hosted after award parties for celebs, and the pool is a scene in the summer. One of my favorite places to stay when I go into the city (one of only two places I stay).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Managing Director at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Come on!!!!! This place sounds amazing!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,233
    692
    266
    121
    126
See reviews for
258
1,018
171
1,057
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I am currently stay at the dream downtown hotel for business reason. I heard the basic room here start from 500$...silly.
The rooms are very tiny and the view is not that good especially compared to other same category hotel in the area.
Every time the heating goes on there is this very tedious noise, and is hard to sleep with. There is no kettle for a tea or coffee therefor you have to ask this via room service (16$ for a cup of hot water and 1 bag of tea).
On the roof top there is always something going on. Which might sound good but is not when every night you have to prove to the selector outside the door that you really a guest of the hotel and then you have to queue at the elevator surrounded by drunk people to get back to your room every night.
On saturday morning we woke up quite early to have breakfast downstairs and the lobby was still full of people wasted on drugs and alcohol from the night before....i mean?!?!
There is not an elevator for the staff more than once you have to stretch yourself in the elevator with massive trolleys.
The security staff that is supposed to manage and keep calm the situation is beyond rude, that rude that i had to complain more than once and you really wonder why you are paying 500 dollars per night to be spoken like that. The internet server is constantly reset as too many visitors access it and it keep crash. Basically the guest are considered less important than the visitors that are here for the parties. Is supposed to be one of the hip hotel in town. I just found it tacky and pretentious. The service is not luxurious at all and all the staff is just clueless. Food i had delivered in my room was not good at all. This place could be ok for an occasional drink but it should not be an hotel i would not raccommend to anybody to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xhermesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Managing Director at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Xhermesx

I read your review with great regret. I’m terribly sorry about your recent experience. I wonder if we are talking about the same hotel? We spend a small fortune on security and do the best we can to separate our vibrant nightlife from hotel guests. I can assure you that at no time is anyone on drugs during breakfast. We unfortunately do not have the luxury of a service elevator so on occasion we do need to share. Certainly not optimum operating conditions. Please accept my apologies. Respectfully I do not agree with your comments that our staff is clueless and we treat our guests less importantly than our bar patrons. I would like to continue this conversation over the phone. Please call me when you have a moment.

Michael Lindenbaum
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Loved my experience at the Dream Downtown. Excellent customer service, very friendly & professional staff, clean, great location with a beautiful modern design. Great breakfast bar, restaurants (food is delicious!) & club, very fun with awesome atmosphere. Extremely comfortable beds and great shower/bath. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anouska P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Managing Director at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We love the Irish! Who doesn’t? Next time pints on me!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This has to be one of the hippest and hottest hotels in town. Hotel + Bar + Club. Very nice breakfast place up front -- Jamaican theme. Nice lobby bar. Excellent service. And cool room with hyper modern decoration -- mesh wire floor to ceiling shower curtains -- funky light dimmers -- super comfy bed (a little soft maybe). Rooms on small side.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyrus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Managing Director at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Nice things come in small packages sometimes. Thanks for the love! Keep on Dreamin’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

If your looking for a hotel for a w'end break that has a party scene then this is the one but bring ear plugs!! It's defo a people watching place & the club can be quiet varied in age, great main lobby bar. The area is fab for many bars & restaurants, Chelsea market for daytime food & bits & bobs shopping is just over the road this is great with a fab atmosphere we had b'fast there everyday. The hotels Is about a 20-30 min direct stroll into Times Square & 12$- 15$ In a cab to most tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Middle floors best choice as roof top club can be heard till around 5 in the morning in the block th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahd831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Managing Director at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Sarahd831
Thanks for the review. For those with any sensitivity to noise, please request the South Tower. We have an entry to the building nowhere near PHD which really only effects 4 out of 315 rooms; well, maybe 8 out of the 315 rooms--no more than 10--and that’s that. We did try to offer those 12 rooms as Clu-tel which stands for “night club─hotel” hybrid. Guests were guaranteed access to PHD; instead of a wake-up call, we offer to call in sick at your job; 5pm check -out and some other goodies. We might have to bring that back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
696 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

One of the best trendy hotel in New York. Extremely alive, nice looking people. Friendly service.
Rooms are big enough for a trend hotel, shower is enormous, only the sink is a bit uncomfortable.
A part of the possibility to relax, some of the nicest part of the hotel are PH bar and the swimming pool.
PH bar is actually one of the best in new York.
Swimming pool is nice, especially in summer as it is open and has also a small beach.
Don't come here if you don't like lively atmosphere.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maurizio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Managing Director at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hey, you’re right!! I recommend the Library Hotel if you’re looking to curl up with a good book. If you’re looking to curl up with something else, Dream Downtown is a great option
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at the Dream for a long weekend. It's in a great location and very clean. Now here come the howevers..... Pretty pricey for the very small rooms. Also, we didn't really care for the bathrooms...no counterspace, it had a big mesh shower curtain (yuck), big ladder in bathroom to hang towels off of...we needed the space!! Also, very young crowd in lobby from about 9:00 on...with extremely loud music and dj (very clubby). This might appeal to some but certainly not all. We would not recommend for families at all. Not only were the rooms uber small, but the ambiance in the lobby was not really appropriate for children.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Famfun92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
622 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#116 of 467 in New York City
565 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 467 in New York City
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#141 of 467 in New York City
2,728 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#66 of 467 in New York City
1,334 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#76 of 467 in New York City
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Property: Dream Downtown
Address: 355 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#80 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#115 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing