We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York Holiday...”
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #122 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“New York Holiday...”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Great trip…

Went with 3 other mates. Great spot in regards to location (meatpacking district). Have stayed in SoHo before (The James) and Dream Downtown was better. Meatpacking is a better locatoin for what we were after. Bars, Resturants, nightlife, cafes. Soho seemed to be a bit too far out of it and there were not as many food and bar options. And if was quiet easy to eat healithy.

Hotel staff were great and friendly, with Vaughn Davis being extremely helpful.

The nightclub, PHD, was great as hotel guests are looked after and it is also a 'hot spot'

As there was 4 of us, stayed in 2 rooms with 2 beds in each room.
Beds were big enough for us as we are all tall guys. And were also comfy!
Rooms were veyr nice and quiet spacious for New York…

We were also looked after at 'hot' locations, such as TAO Downtown (resturant) and places like that as the same company that owns Dream owns other resturants, bars and nightclubs and look after their hotel guest as best as possile with bookings at these.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob11341134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Managing Director at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
This is a milestone review for us! Hardwork and training pay off. We do take care of our guests at PHD, fullstop! Thank you for writing that. To clarify, the owners of Dream Downtown do not own Tao but we are partners with them, so Dream Downtown guests are well looked after at their many restaurants in NY. Bonus!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,272
    706
    279
    127
    136
See reviews for
269
1,034
177
1,082
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (839)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We booked 3 rooms vis Hotels.com for a grown up family get together and weekend break in NYC from the UK ,and concluded we are probably the wrong type of customers,but OMFG as most of the drunken drugged up inhabitants of this schizophrenic spot might say if they could speak.it was not a good impression to be shoved aside at the entry as some of the numerous man mountain sized resident muscle removed a couple of interesting types from the top floor bar,already too out of it at 8 pm.nor was this a unique sight.there was certainly no one around to help get the cases into the hotel or up to the rooms.
The pitch dark reception area and the pounding music made discussion with the receptionist incomprehensible.the ground floor is a major people thoroughfare and feels as if you are on the subway .the rooms are classic style over substance,generally tacky,and with the basin design actually posing a threat to your eyesight if you want to wash your face.the lighting system has a life of it's own,but not one that makes any sense to use.the pool is designed so you cannot actually swim a length without colliding with either steps or a metal bar.
The place can't decide if it's a hotel with a bar/ nightclub attached or a bar/ nightclub with a hotel attached.and is the worst of both worlds as a result .i suggest you only stay if you want the second option..rooms don't get made up, there is all night shouting in the corridors,the coffee shop is uncomfortable ,the downstairs bar managed to produce a stone cold coffee and there really were live slugs on the seat when we foolishly tried to have a drink in the upstairs bar,which the occupants seemed to be trying to set on fire.
Miraculously classified as 4 star it has the prices to match,poor takeaway coffee for 4.90 ,annoying charges for Wifi,and generous tips expected even when you have had to chase up your drinks order a few times,and when the staff have been pretty casual and offhand.
As a Wyndham hotel user elsewhere I am not sure quite how they got into this mess but imagine they are making a fortune because the place is literally overrun with people,many of them lost!
It is in a good location and some of the staff do try to help,but a lot them seem new and untrained,I suspect it's an exhausting place to work....its certainly an exhausting place to stay.

Room Tip: Chose the section the top floor bar is not in,it might be better than where we were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark_fox_andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My stay was a very pleasant surprise! I simply loved the styling and feel of a very trendy NY hotel. Even better, the staff and service was INCREDIBLE! From the front desk staff to to the bartender in the lobby as well as housekeeping every member was gracious and smiling. What a place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrRexman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Managing Director at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Well good morning to you too!! What a nice way to start my day. Thank you kindly. It's nice to know we get it right sometimes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Amazing experience at the Dream hotel this past weekend. This second I walked through the door the staff was accomodating and made me feel right at home. The rooms were very contemporary and beds were extremely comfortable. My favorite part of my stay, however, was the location. Smack dab in the middle of Meatpacking district and a close walk to some of the nicest clubs and restaurants that NYC has to offer. As a frequent business traveler that "works hard and plays hard" the Dream will be a natural stay for me whenever I am back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Managing Director at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Ok, I think we might be catching a rhythm TripAdvisor! Let's keep it going!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The staff at the Dream was pleasant and accomdating from the minute we stepped into the hotel. They set us up with a upper level floor room with a great view. Some people may not want to be to high up as there is a lounge on the rooftop but we enjoyed the nightlife and did not return until 4am so it was not a concern for us. The room size are appropriate for NYC and we did not come to NYC to stay in our hotel room. The Dream hotel is within walking distance of all the outstanding restaurants such as Buddakan and Morimoto, as well as the lounges and bars in the meatpacking district. When we returned from dinner the staff suprised us for our birthday with a bottle of champagne. During our entire stay they were responsive when we requested ice, an iron, etc. This hotel has a great lounge in the lobby, the PHD rooftop lounge is chic and has hosted after award parties for celebs, and the pool is a scene in the summer. One of my favorite places to stay when I go into the city (one of only two places I stay).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Managing Director at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Come on!!!!! This place sounds amazing!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I am currently stay at the dream downtown hotel for business reason. I heard the basic room here start from 500$...silly.
The rooms are very tiny and the view is not that good especially compared to other same category hotel in the area.
Every time the heating goes on there is this very tedious noise, and is hard to sleep with. There is no kettle for a tea or coffee therefor you have to ask this via room service (16$ for a cup of hot water and 1 bag of tea).
On the roof top there is always something going on. Which might sound good but is not when every night you have to prove to the selector outside the door that you really a guest of the hotel and then you have to queue at the elevator surrounded by drunk people to get back to your room every night.
On saturday morning we woke up quite early to have breakfast downstairs and the lobby was still full of people wasted on drugs and alcohol from the night before....i mean?!?!
There is not an elevator for the staff more than once you have to stretch yourself in the elevator with massive trolleys.
The security staff that is supposed to manage and keep calm the situation is beyond rude, that rude that i had to complain more than once and you really wonder why you are paying 500 dollars per night to be spoken like that. The internet server is constantly reset as too many visitors access it and it keep crash. Basically the guest are considered less important than the visitors that are here for the parties. Is supposed to be one of the hip hotel in town. I just found it tacky and pretentious. The service is not luxurious at all and all the staff is just clueless. Food i had delivered in my room was not good at all. This place could be ok for an occasional drink but it should not be an hotel i would not raccommend to anybody to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xhermesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Managing Director at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Xhermesx

I read your review with great regret. I’m terribly sorry about your recent experience. I wonder if we are talking about the same hotel? We spend a small fortune on security and do the best we can to separate our vibrant nightlife from hotel guests. I can assure you that at no time is anyone on drugs during breakfast. We unfortunately do not have the luxury of a service elevator so on occasion we do need to share. Certainly not optimum operating conditions. Please accept my apologies. Respectfully I do not agree with your comments that our staff is clueless and we treat our guests less importantly than our bar patrons. I would like to continue this conversation over the phone. Please call me when you have a moment.

Michael Lindenbaum
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Loved my experience at the Dream Downtown. Excellent customer service, very friendly & professional staff, clean, great location with a beautiful modern design. Great breakfast bar, restaurants (food is delicious!) & club, very fun with awesome atmosphere. Extremely comfortable beds and great shower/bath. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anouska P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Managing Director at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We love the Irish! Who doesn’t? Next time pints on me!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#153 of 467 in New York City
640 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 467 in New York City
1,791 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#100 of 467 in New York City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#87 of 467 in New York City
2,278 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#162 of 467 in New York City
1,394 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#85 of 467 in New York City
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Property: Dream Downtown
Address: 355 West 16th Street, Near 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing