We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Spot in Meatpacking District”
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #133 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My girlfriends and I went to Dream Downtown for a mini Bachelorette. Days before we arrived, I recv'd an email from DelloBovi (Regional Director, Sales & Marketing), offering his services. At that moment, I knew this was going to be a great experience. We arrived Friday and had no issues checking in. The front desk girl was sweet and accommodating. The rooms were fabulous. Very modern and clean. Rob had many suggestions to keep our days busy and the best part about it was that everything was at this hotel. Lobby bar, Rooftop lounge (PHD), the pool was small and intimate.. it was perfect. Many young adults at this hotel, which was refreshing to be around. The pool staff are amazing, the concierge was so helpful arranging taxis' to the airport, and the bar staff always smiling. We were a short walk from SoHo, and maybe a 20 minute walk from Time Square. Go to the Dream Downtown if you want a memorable time...you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silva220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your candid review on Dream Downtown, the feedback is greatly appreciated. I am very happy to hear that you and your girlfriends had such a great time at the property. It is always great to hear nice comments about the staff, they work very hard to exceed guest expectations. I truly believe that it is our staff that separates us from many of the other luxury lifestyle hotels in NYC. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,243 - 2,249 of 3,636 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Not so dreamy

I stayed at the hotel last week and I would not recommend it. The biggest issue is that they can not figure out whether they want to be a night club or a hotel. There appears to be no service elevator which means that the elevators to access the rooms are an ordeal all day long as they are packed with nightclub related items either going up for the next night or cleaning from the night before. You need to plan your trip to your room with time to spare. And then, at night, you really come to understand that this place is more night club than hotel. If that is what you are looking for in a hotel, maybe this is your place.
And last, the front desk clerk was exceedingly unhelpful in getting a slightly late check-out -- it will cost you $99 for a minor deviation... Not very customer oriented attitude.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank eo959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review on Dream Downtown, the feedback is greatly appreciated. Though the nature of your feedback pains me, we will use this information to grow and improve our property. Dream definitely does have two distinct sides to it, during the week the hotel caters to many corporate and business travelers. The weekend attracts many leisure travelers that come to enjoy our plethora of amenities offered. With that being said we are a hotel first and our guests are our top priority. Dream has two towers one of them being further away from our venues. The smaller of the towers have our premium rooms all offering stand in Juliet balconies, which is perfect for guests that do not want to take part in the festivities offered at Dream. I truly believe that if given a second chance we would be able to change your opinion on the hotel. I would love to welcome you back for another go at Dream, please feel free to reach out to me directly for future reservations so that I can see to your arrangements personally.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have been going to NYC a few times a year since I was kid and The Dream Downtown is by far the best hotel in NYC! The service was unbelievably fast. The staff was awesome. The platinum suite was amazing! I was afraid that it would be too small and it was perfect! The atmosphere was artistic and intrguing. No need to ever leave. Food was great and the whole hotel is one big party at night! Booked my next trip there the day i got home!

Room Tip: Request a room/suite that opens up to pool... Really cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandywine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review on Dream Downtown, the feedback is greatly appreciated. Dream really is a one stop shop, we have something for everyone. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy all of our amazing amenities. More importantly is that you felt a warm welcome from all of the staff, they work very hard to always exceed guest expectations. I am happy to hear that you have already booked your next trip. We will see you soon

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Best location in meatpacking district near the high line and tons of great shopping. Social areas of hotel (pool, PhD, the lobby lounge) are all very well-decorated and have a very cool vibe. The cheapest room is really, really small, but other than that it was a lovely stay! Definitely will stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing W. 17th street get sun shining through in the morning very early. The smallest room the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merritt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dream Downtown is certainly located in the heart of NYC primetime Meatpacking District. I am very pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the hotels great amenities and also the amazing offerings in the Meatpacking district. I look forward to welcoming you back to Dream in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Dream hotel is a great place. Great rooms in an amazing location. It is a VERY active hotel. Lots of restaurants and clubs on premise, so if you don't like young sexy people, then this place is not for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks for the kind words on Dream Downtown, the feedback is much appreciated. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy all of the amazing amenities that the hotel offers. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

18 months ago i was in this hotel and my experience was not good,mi even wrote a bad review. I came back cause i wanted to go to the disco, and when i was checking in they actually had a note in the system to give me an upgrade because of the bad experience i had the previous time, that is what i call customer service. Rooms are super comfortable, food at restaurants are great, bar and disco are the best, i will come back.

Room Tip: View to the empire state.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarylinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review on Dream Downtown, the feedback is greatly appreciated. I will be the first to admit we are not perfect, however when things do go wrong we will try our hardest to correct the previous issue. I am glad that you gave us a second chance and that you enjoyed your stay the second time around. I hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is the best hotel in NYC. The staff is attentive, the food is amazing and THE BEACH is the best part of the whole experience. Comfortable lounge chairs, great music, food delivered to your seat. It's perfect in every way!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank greenie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

The fact that you feel that Dream Downtown is the best hotel in NYC brings me great joy, as the city is jam packed with great hotels. Many locals use Dream for a staycation, so we often have different activities taken place at the hotel to cater to the locals. I hope to welcome you back to Dream in the near future

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#154 of 470 in New York City
2,925 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#142 of 470 in New York City
677 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#218 of 470 in New York City
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#183 of 470 in New York City
343 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#86 of 470 in New York City
2,380 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#81 of 470 in New York City
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Address: 355 West 16th Street, Near 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £187 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing