We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Designer hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #95 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Designer hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We requested a quiet room since I read that it could be a bit noisy and we really got a quite room. An the rooms are so nice and clean and wonderful. It's also a great standard overall. We had good breakfast at Melvins juice box by the entrance also. The one thing that was bad is the too soft beds. But great location and would stay here again!

Room Tip: If you like it quite ask for a quiet room, we got our on the 4th floor facing the pool area and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for the review on Dream Downtown, the feedback is much appreciated. I am pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy you time while on property. In regards to the soft beds, we are able to remove the feather mattress to make the bed firmer. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,225
    684
    262
    120
    125
See reviews for
257
1,014
170
1,048
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I had the good fortune to be whisked away to the Dream Downtown hotel for my birthday and the hotel was brilliant from start to finish. It's Chelsea location on the doorstep to Meatpacking and Greenwich mean you are moments from great nightlife and the buzz of New York. That said the hotel itself offers more than enough of a night out whether in the rooftop bar, basement club or lobby late at night!

Helpful concierge, nice rooms and a rock and roll vibe throughout the hotel made it the perfect stay and I haven't even mentioned the outdoor pool!
Highly recommended for anyone looking to have a good party in New York, young, old, with the partner or friends.

We shall be returning!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool facing room if you plan to go for a swim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NevilleM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Happy belated birthday, I am happy that you were able to enjoy it at Dream Downtown. We are very proud of our luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of the meatpacking district, so it brings me great joy to know that you had such a great time at the property. You are right there are enough offerings at the hotel for a wide range of people, so that you do not even need to leave Dream. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed at the Dream for a few nights last week for business. My first impression of the hotel was the incredibly attentive staff - everyone was very helpful and gave me a warm welcome. I even chatted with a gentleman who was stationed as a greeter in the evening to direct guests to the multiple events that were taking place. Thought it was a great personal touch! I spent some time at the lobby bar, which has a great atmosphere and excellent drinks even though the bartender is a little pretentious.

The room was small, but nicely appointed and the bed was comfortable. The only 2 downsides: First there is no Kurig in the room and the coffee from room service / Juice Bar is terribly weak. Secondly there are hard floors in the rooms, but no slippers are provided. So if you don't mind bad coffee and cold feet, I'd completely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Bring a pair of socks or slippers to keep your feet warm on the cold floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your review on Dream Downtown, the feedback is greatly appreciated. I am pleased to hear that the staff was very attentive and that you felt a warm welcome from them. Please accept my apologies for not being provided with slippers, this is in fact something that is provided at the hotel. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My girlfriends and I went to Dream Downtown for a mini Bachelorette. Days before we arrived, I recv'd an email from DelloBovi (Regional Director, Sales & Marketing), offering his services. At that moment, I knew this was going to be a great experience. We arrived Friday and had no issues checking in. The front desk girl was sweet and accommodating. The rooms were fabulous. Very modern and clean. Rob had many suggestions to keep our days busy and the best part about it was that everything was at this hotel. Lobby bar, Rooftop lounge (PHD), the pool was small and intimate.. it was perfect. Many young adults at this hotel, which was refreshing to be around. The pool staff are amazing, the concierge was so helpful arranging taxis' to the airport, and the bar staff always smiling. We were a short walk from SoHo, and maybe a 20 minute walk from Time Square. Go to the Dream Downtown if you want a memorable time...you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silva220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your candid review on Dream Downtown, the feedback is greatly appreciated. I am very happy to hear that you and your girlfriends had such a great time at the property. It is always great to hear nice comments about the staff, they work very hard to exceed guest expectations. I truly believe that it is our staff that separates us from many of the other luxury lifestyle hotels in NYC. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Not so dreamy

I stayed at the hotel last week and I would not recommend it. The biggest issue is that they can not figure out whether they want to be a night club or a hotel. There appears to be no service elevator which means that the elevators to access the rooms are an ordeal all day long as they are packed with nightclub related items either going up for the next night or cleaning from the night before. You need to plan your trip to your room with time to spare. And then, at night, you really come to understand that this place is more night club than hotel. If that is what you are looking for in a hotel, maybe this is your place.
And last, the front desk clerk was exceedingly unhelpful in getting a slightly late check-out -- it will cost you $99 for a minor deviation... Not very customer oriented attitude.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank E O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review on Dream Downtown, the feedback is greatly appreciated. Though the nature of your feedback pains me, we will use this information to grow and improve our property. Dream definitely does have two distinct sides to it, during the week the hotel caters to many corporate and business travelers. The weekend attracts many leisure travelers that come to enjoy our plethora of amenities offered. With that being said we are a hotel first and our guests are our top priority. Dream has two towers one of them being further away from our venues. The smaller of the towers have our premium rooms all offering stand in Juliet balconies, which is perfect for guests that do not want to take part in the festivities offered at Dream. I truly believe that if given a second chance we would be able to change your opinion on the hotel. I would love to welcome you back for another go at Dream, please feel free to reach out to me directly for future reservations so that I can see to your arrangements personally.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have been going to NYC a few times a year since I was kid and The Dream Downtown is by far the best hotel in NYC! The service was unbelievably fast. The staff was awesome. The platinum suite was amazing! I was afraid that it would be too small and it was perfect! The atmosphere was artistic and intrguing. No need to ever leave. Food was great and the whole hotel is one big party at night! Booked my next trip there the day i got home!

Room Tip: Request a room/suite that opens up to pool... Really cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandywine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review on Dream Downtown, the feedback is greatly appreciated. Dream really is a one stop shop, we have something for everyone. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy all of our amazing amenities. More importantly is that you felt a warm welcome from all of the staff, they work very hard to always exceed guest expectations. I am happy to hear that you have already booked your next trip. We will see you soon

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Best location in meatpacking district near the high line and tons of great shopping. Social areas of hotel (pool, PhD, the lobby lounge) are all very well-decorated and have a very cool vibe. The cheapest room is really, really small, but other than that it was a lovely stay! Definitely will stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing W. 17th street get sun shining through in the morning very early. The smallest room the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merritt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dream Downtown is certainly located in the heart of NYC primetime Meatpacking District. I am very pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the hotels great amenities and also the amazing offerings in the Meatpacking district. I look forward to welcoming you back to Dream in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#206 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#74 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Property: Dream Downtown
Address: 355 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#51 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#116 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing