We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe OK if you are trendy”
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #123 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
paris
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Maybe OK if you are trendy”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

If you are under 30, well-off and trendy this may be the hotel for you. If you are not any of these forget it.
The room was well situated being on a corner so four portholes to look out of and be spotted from the buildings opposite. The design is, I assume, supposed to be eclectic and hip but I found it merely uncomfortable. Great views of the Empire State Building etc but I found the bathroom view rather disconcerting as a half frosted window maintained a degree of decorum when seated but definitely rather over exposed when standing.
Square stainless steel bathtubs are undoubtedly at the cutting edge of style but uncomfortable in every other respect. The steel mesh shower curtain seems rather silly but who am I to tell.
Comfortable bed but the television set in the room was on a wall next to the bed and presents a traffic hazard for a person sleeping on the right hand side of the bed.
The lighting system requires very good eyesight to operate so if you are old bring a flashlight and your reading glasses.
In terms of cost and hence value for money, eye-watering but I suppose the norm for NY these days.
On a positive note, the staff could not have been nicer and helpful and coped well with the crowds of people milling about the lobby at 10.00pm

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to relay your most recent experience at Dream Downtown, the feedback is greatly appreciated. Dream Downtown caters to many different travelers of many age groups. We pride ourselves on having several different amenities that meets the needs of a wide demographic of guests. I am sorry to hear that you felt the finishes and technology were for only those aged 30 and below, I can assure you this is not the case. I am happy to hear that you felt a friendly welcome form all of the staff, they work very hard to exceed guest expectations. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,289
    712
    282
    128
    138
See reviews for
273
1,040
177
1,091
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sayville, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I spent the weekend at the dream Hotel downtown and was extremely letdown by the service that was received. If it weren't for the pool I would never say that again! Our server at the pool was horrendous, you had to constantly check your bill because things were being added such as a Kratky that was never ordered for extra drinks! I ordered a wrap at the pool and the person didn't know where to bring it it was sitting out for 15 minutes in the sun before it was brought to me and I actually saw it sitting out for the person two chairs down. I asked for a menu and was brought a Mamosa and charged for it even know I didn't order it. When we checked out we asked them to hold our bags for an hour, when we returned 2 of the bags were missing and they had no idea where they were. To top it off, 4 of people I was with had their credit cards hacked into!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Dream Downtown your feedback is greatly appreciated. Firstly please accept my apologies for the poor service at the pool. Please know that this level of service is not indicative of the hotel as a whole and is an isolated incident. Here at dream it is our #1 priority to exceed guest expectations, so it pains me to know that we failed you this time around. With that being said when things go wrong we will always try our hardest to make amends. In regards to your friends credit card I would greatly appreciate if you could reach out to me directly so that I can further investigate the matter. I hope that I will be able to welcome you back to Dream for a second chance, please reach out to me for future reservations so that I can see to it personally.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Stunning. Pricey however well worth the stay. Great location, walking distance to great eating and social spots. The staff was VERY kind and helpful. Staff members Danny and Sam were lovely and provided so much assistance!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rhodalynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for you review on Dream Downtown, the feedback is greatly appreciated. It is always great to hear nice comments about the staff, I will be sure to share the feedback with Danny and Sam. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Don't be fooled by the stunningly gorgeous lobby. It's the only nice part of the this hotel. I have stayed here a few times. Believe me, the Standard Hotel and the Gansevoort nearby are heads and tails above this place. They are fun, trendy, and beautiful like the DREAM but classy with really nice, helpful staff. The DREAM is totally cheesy. I never really liked it, but came back because it was close to my office. The designs of the rooms are horrible. Chain link shower curtains, complicated lighting system, booming bass in the background, difficult to access outlets, and a sink with a large chrome ledge so that when you brush your teeth you then have to wash the ledge off. You have to call room service to get ice. I found those little items annoying. But then when I checked in a few weeks ago, I realized that I had accidentally forgotten my credit card, which I never do, but realized to my alarm that I had left it another bag by mistake. Well, I used it to reserve the room, and it's on file with my company's travel agency who booked the room. It was also my fourth or fifth time staying here. They refused to let me check in without the physical card. So basically, they were going to let a returning customer from a business that supplies many reservations for them just sleep on the streets of New York. The front desk guy called his manager who was incredibly uninterested and unhelpful. When they realized I wasn't going away, they told me if I could have my husband take a picture of the card and send it then they would allow me to check in. My card was at home and my husband was at work. So I had to wait over an hour in the lobby - they wouldn't even let me into my room. I mean, I know companies need to be careful about credit card fraud, but use some common sense. This place is hot in the Meatpacking district now, but when the next hottest place opens up, they will lose the 'in' crowd and then find they lost everyone else along the way. They definitely lost me. There are just too many other nicer places in this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KristyEH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your review on Dream Downtown, the feedback is greatly appreciated. Please accept my apologies for the delayed check in. As a protection for all guests the front desk is unable to check in a guest without the physical credit card or a 3rd party billing authorization form. I can assure you the sole purpose of this policy is to protect our guests from credit card fraud. As you stated that you have stayed with us before I hope this one incident will not completely taint you image of the hotel. Please reach out to me for future reservations, so that I can see to your arrangements personally.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Wow! What a great hotel! Hubby and I have been to New York three times before and because I am turning a certain age this year I was allowed to pick where we stayed. I wanted glamour and gleam: Dream Downtown was all that!
We stayed in a Silver room, everything was shiny: the walls, the curtain shower, the sink, even the headboard, it was gorgeous. The bed was comfy and large. Products in the bathroom were good quality, however no shower cap but I brought my own so no problem.
All staff were gorgeous and friendly; loved the PhD bar, wonderful view and cocktails.
The view from our room was of the Empire State building, what more can I say?
On our last day we decided to have a couple of hours by the pool, this was because they let us have an extra couple of hours before we had to
check out (free of charge), sunbathing by a pool, in New York, who'd of thought it?
I think there were famous people there, everyone that I saw in the lift (elevator), lobby and bar looked like they were, we even felt like celebrities because that's the way Dream Downtown makes you feel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieTh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your candid review on Dream Downtown the feedback is greatly appreciated. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the million dollar view from our Silver King rooms and rooftop club PHD, I would have to say it is probably one of the best views from a hotel in the city. We are fortunate enough to have the luxury of a pool at the hotel and also Manhattans only beach. It brings me great joy to know that you felt like a celebrity while on property, while we do cater to many high end celebrities are top priority is that all guests feel special while at the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to Dream in the near future

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel was excellent. It was so much more than what we expected when we arrived !! The staff was so professional and attentive. We will definitely be going back to this establishment !! The Bell Captain Eddie Brassington was outstanding with his service and knowledge of the city !1

Room Tip: the rooms that have a balcony are a very good choice !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words on Dream Downtown. It is always great to hear nice comments about the staff, I will be sure to share the feedback with Eddie. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#208 of 466 in New York City
1,811 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#138 of 466 in New York City
648 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#81 of 466 in New York City
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#85 of 466 in New York City
2,294 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#163 of 466 in New York City
1,406 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#100 of 466 in New York City
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Property: Dream Downtown
Address: 355 West 16th Street, Near 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#100 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing