We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good time at pool.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #98 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Good time at pool.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I came here with my best friend for a few days and spent most of my time at the pool. The atmosphere was amazing and the service was impeccable. I want to shoutout one staff member in particular who made this trip amazing. The lifeguard, jason klee, made sure I was always taken care of and made me feel like a celebrity. He did this nonstop for all my time and greeted me with a smile and amazing cucumber water everyday. I will defiantly be coming back because of him. Thanks Dream!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redcarpet55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for the review on Dream Downtown, the feedback is greatly appreciated. I am happy to know that you had such a great time at the pool. Thanks for the kind words about Jason I will be sure to share the feedback with him. I look forward to welcoming you back to Dream in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,226
    686
    262
    120
    125
See reviews for
257
1,014
170
1,050
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stupendous, trendy, dynamic gem of a hotel. great staff, always smiling and more than "new york" friendly!! just go go go and enjoy the nicest part of town with lots of other dynamic, gracious, young people!!!
ABFAB!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip_Margot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
It’s great to hear that you had such a great time at Dream Downtown and that you felt such a warm welcome. I look forward to welcoming you back to dream in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We chose this hotel based on its amenities (amazing rooftop lounge and pool), and were blown away with the great service provided. From the moment you arrive there is someone attentively helping you with your bags and prepping the lobby staff for your arrival. We were upgraded to a king bed for no other reason than the gentleman, Rory, wanting to help us out. The rooms are a wonderful size for New York and beautifully stylized. We received impeccable service at the pool bar/lounge, and the manager, Nikki, went out of her way to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. The drinks were great and adequately priced based on the location (Try the Georgia Peach). Our experience was so pleasant we sporadically decided to stay another night. Upon inquiring about rates and availability Katya at the front desk was so helpful and again, upgraded us to a King and got us a discount. We woke up to complimentary water bottles which was also fantastic. The location is amazing, we really enjoyed the Chelsea area and only a couple of blocks away from the High Line Gardens that we absolutely loved. Having stayed on their sister hotel near Times Square about a month ago, we saw a drastic difference in service and likely will not stay anywhere else in the city. Thank you Dream Downtown!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kplatt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Kplatt you are right Dream Downtown offers a wide range of amazing amenities. From the unique loft style rooms to the pool, PHD or Bodega Negra Dream certainly has something for everyone. Thank you for the kind words about Rory and Katya, I will be sure to share the feedback with both of them. I am glad that you enjoyed you stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Dream in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I love staying in Chelsea - it's city living with neighborhood feel. We decided to splurge a little and stayed at the Dream Downtown this last trip (May). We'll be back...here's why...

1. GREAT location - Literally around the corner from Chelsea Market and 1.5 blocks from the High Line. Close to the 14 St subway stop (A, C, E lines), and it goes without saying, but lots of restaurants and shops, all within walking distance.

2. Nice gym - I like to eat...a lot. So, I like to find hotels with good gyms so I can workout "a time or two" during my stay. This gym has a decent selection of free weights, machines, and cardio equipment. What makes it cool though is that it's on a high floor that overlooks the pool. Yay - workout w/ a view!

3. Awesome pool - I'm generally not a hotel pool person, but this trip, the sun was out, and the atmosphere around the pool was inviting. They arrange the chairs so there's a "beach area" for those who want more shade and don't need to be right on the pool.

4. Overall ambiance is fun, unique, memorable - The themed "ship's portholes" are all throughout the hotel -- in the rooms, and even in the pool. Check out the ceiling from the hotel lobby -- you're looking into the pool! The hotel is active pretty much anytime of day but much more at night. Guests of the hotel are guaranteed access to the PH-D rooftop club before 9.30p. After that, you may get bounced. ;)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjabenojar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to relay your most recent experience at Dream Downtown. We are very proud of our luxury lifestyle hotel located in the heart of NYC Meatpacking district. From the sounds of your review you were able to enjoy many of the amenities that are offered at Dream. I hope to welcome you back to Dream in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I made a quick trip to NYC last week and this hotel was definitely the right choice!! They started the experience off just right as soon as I checked in, the manager Megan was super welcoming and made sure everything I needed was in place leaving me heading to my room with a smile on my face and not a worry for my mini-vacay. It had just the right amount of everything: Beautiful decor-friendly, eagar to help, staff-and an experience at every corner. I really felt like I was in one of the hippest spots in NYC!

The pool was just right on a beautiful summer day w/ great music, a fun crowd, and of course a delicious drink or 3. Bodega Negra which is essentially like walking into a completely different venue all together had an awesome vibe that made you feel like you were in a giant log cabin full of deliciousness. It was Sunday so as w/ most places in NYC it wasn't quite as crowded and Luigi, the manager, did an awesome job at checking in on us and really making us feel special at our dinner.

To wrap this up, I had a great time, super comfy rooms (The little balcony didn't hurt), and will definitely be coming back to explore even more of what this hotel has to offer!

Room Tip: Get one with a Balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thanks for the great review on Dream Downtown, the feedback is greatly appreciated. I very pleased to hear that Megan gave you such a warm welcome, she is a new member to the team and is already having a positive impact. Bodega Negra certainly does have its own identify, I am glad that you were able to enjoy some of the delicious bites in there. I look forward to welcoming you back to Dream In the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I had a last minute "staycation" here, and we would definitely return. CHECK-IN: was a breeze (the front desk was quick--(gave us a couple options for rooms and prices that were no more than what I tried to book online through hotels.com), helpful (quick and comprehensive explanation of hotel amenities and services), and very courteous (polite, friendly, and not judgmental at all, as I am sure our last minute, no-luggage arrival looked questionable...). THE ROOM: clean and modern (a chain mail shower curtain and the coolest automated buttons for lights, privacy notification, and even bathroom light button by the bed), and the bed was super comfortable with 4 down pillows and super soft sheets. The view was amazing--we were on the 8th floor facing north, and I couldn't hear any noise from other guests, even though the lobby/hotel was buzzing at midnight. Wall-mounted TV had most TV channels. Nice Dead Sea Mineral bath products (shampoo, conditioner, soap, lotion). Robes and flip-flip slippers, iron/board, hair dryer, complimentary newspaper and wi-fi, and paid laundry service provided, as well as 24-hour room service. ROOFTOP BAR: where all the beautiful people in the city congregate, and it looks like it traverses the entire side of the building, meaning there was plenty of space to stand and even sit. The drinks are priced as what you'd expect for a super swanky hotel bar (2 drinks=$32). THE POOL: I want to live here all summer. Chaise lounges with towels, umbrellas for the sun-adverse, a lifeguard, attendant to asked each guest if they needed anything, and the pool floor has windows--those in the lobby can see the swimmers. TO NOTE: No coffee, tea or water in the room, but for a spendy $3.81, you can get a cup of plain coffee in their on-site restaurant. I also thought the towel hooks in the bathroom were oddly placed--they were on the wall completely opposite the shower. (Unless I missed them because they blended seamlessly into the modern decor...). Sink a little slow to drain, but not really a big deal. The round windows were really cool looking, but there were not light-blocking curtains. But if you're here to enjoy the city, the light might help wake you up, or at least get up to the pool when it opens at 8.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bnd328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your candid review on Dream Downtown, the feedback is greatly appreciated. We love to welcome new Yorkers for staycations, as we often have different events that are catered to the local community. From your picture you stayed in a Silver King room, on your next stay you must try a Gold King as the views are spectacular. I look forward to welcoming you back to Dream in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We booked with a large group of friends for a destination birthday weekend. The service provided by everyone at the Dream Downtown was outstanding. That includes the pre arrival email communications - the door greeters - the desk staff - the bell staff - the pool staff - the cleaning crew - even the friendly security team! What amazing service excellence and consistency. Truly impressed. Thank you for a nice modern hotel experience in a great location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Seems like we knocked this one out of the park from start to finish, this is extremely pleasing as the staff work very hard to always exceed guest expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to Dream in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#201 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,706 reviews
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#77 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Property: Dream Downtown
Address: 355 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#51 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#76 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#116 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing