We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Dream Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream Downtown
Ranked #122 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Great location. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Received a room upgrade. The pillows and bed were extremely comfortable too! We would definitely stay here again and can't wait to come back! *****

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
I really appreciate the great review on Dream Downtown and am happy to hear that you will be back soon to Dream soon.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,272
    706
    279
    127
    136
See reviews for
269
1,034
177
1,082
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (839)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

What a great experience! The hotel was amazing! Super cool atmosphere. The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated. The best part was definitely the staff. They went out of their way to make sure we had a great time. The concierge Eric Wurst was so helpful! He recommended the best places for us to eat, got us reservations and gave us the best advice on what to do to maximize our time in the city. He really made our time at the dream more of an experience rather than a stay. Will tell all of our friends they need to stay here!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizmo1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dreams amazing staff is a common talking point amongst many of our guests. Eric certainly is one of Dreams Key players and is well versed on the cities must haves. I am glad to hear that he was a major part of creating your Dream experience. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Best staff I've encountered at an NYC hotel. It's great to actually feel like they appreciate your business. And the location...amazing. Chelsea Market, the High line, Greenwich Village and Soho right around the corner.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Your equation adds up correctly, our amazing staff added with the beautiful property allows Dream Downtown to constantly exceed our guest expectations. Thanks for your review, I hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The service at this hotel is amazing. They definitely put their guests first and go above and beyond. I had great interactions with all of the staff from the front desk, pool and even the cleaning staff that we saw in the hallway.
I will definitely be returning.
Thanks for an amazing experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Top notch service is our bread and butter at Dream so over delivering on your experience is what our staff strived for. I will be sure to share your positive comments with all of the staff and look forward to having you back in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights for a business trip and it's now the only place I'll stay when I'm in NY. The rooms are well appointed and much nicer than other comparably priced hotels in the area. The location is phenomenal, easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, bars, and the high line. There's also a lot going on at the hotel, so you don't really have to go far if you want to have a drink. The pool is awesome and the view from the rooftop bar is phenomenal. The staff is also really helpful and attentive. My friends who live in Manhattan were even impressed. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Bold statement but much agreed. Here at Dream we are very proud of our mini resort located in the booming Meatpacking district. Dream really is a one stop shop for our guests offering an array of amenities. I am pleased to hear the staff were helpful and look forward to having you back to Dream soon.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My hotel stay exceeded my expectations. Very friendly and very accommodating. Definitely coming again. The rooftop had both amazing views and great food, not to mention the drinks. I stayed for five nights and wish I could have stayed even longer. This is my new NY destination.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sergioayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Exceeding guest expectations is the daily goal at Dream Downtown. PHD arguably has the best view of the NYC skyline, one would be hard pressed to find a better vantage point from another hotel venue. I also hope that your next stay is longer and just as enjoyable.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

From our check in with Ariel to the smile that greets you at the door, Tyrone, to the amazing pool hostess,Tatiana, you can be sure these folks as well as the rest of the Dream family made our stay memorable and we appreciate their warm hospitality! Stay there, and btw, the neighborhood has so much to offer. Last, they have the best rooftop bar in NYC!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayo A, Manager at Dream Downtown, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
I am pleased to hear that Ariel and Tatiana were able to make your stay memorable, I will be sure to share the great feedback with them both. The Meatpacking district certainly does have plenty to offer, in the unlikely event you run out of things to do at Dream. I hope to welcome you back to Dream in the near future.

Regards
Ayo Akinsete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#152 of 466 in New York City
640 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 466 in New York City
1,791 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#100 of 466 in New York City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#89 of 466 in New York City
2,279 reviews
SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
The James New York-SoHo
#162 of 466 in New York City
1,393 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#86 of 466 in New York City
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Downtown

Property: Dream Downtown
Address: 355 West 16th Street, Near 9th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-5902 (Formerly Dream Meatpacking District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dream Downtown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrying on an exciting and imaginative new concept in inventive, full-service luxury travel brought by its predecessors Dream Midtown and Dream South Beach, Dream Downtown is the latest jewel in the impressive Vikram Chatwal Hotel portfolio. Situated between the hip, cool Meatpacking District and chic, charming Chelsea, Dream Downtown's loft-style accommodations and innovative atmosphere breathe new life into the New York hotel scene. Our Downtown Manhattan hotel offers the best location for travelers aching for the interesting in New York City travel. Dream Downtown is within walking distance to The Highline, superior shopping, numerous Chelsea art galleries, Milk Studio, Union Square, and the famous neighborhoods of SoHo, Chelsea, and the West Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dream Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Downtown Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing