We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great location”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #56 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Great location”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is a wonderful little boutique hotel with a big advantage. It is right in the Broadway Show and Times Square neighborhood, but not in the hustle and bustle. It was quiet, and tastelfully decorated, with an efficient and friendly staff. Even the small room we booked was quite comfortable with a nice king size bed, and plenty of room for us. No view, except for the building across the way, so we just closed the shades. We didn't come to NYC to look out the window! They have a well stocked mini bar for those who care. A free wine happy hour from 5-6 pm, and some kid friendly video games in the lobby. Also, a free afternoon tea and lemonade cooling station to beat the heat. And...they are a dog friendly hotel! We had a canine neighbor next door who was very well behaved.
We apparantly had a great rate, because we booked it in May. I tried to book again for the fall and the price was quite a bit more than we paid. Hopefully, they will offer another special again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danaluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,033
    823
    183
    92
    38
See reviews for
692
1,252
117
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My friend and I hit NYC for a Broadway weekend in March and stayed at the Muse. The location was perfect--smack in the heart of the theater district and so conveniently located! The room was very stylish and super comfortable. The staff were knowledgeable and really helpful. They directed us to some dynamite restaurants. We spent 2 nights there and caught the amazing Book of Mormon on it's opening weekend. Having such a perfect location really enabled us getting the most out of our whirlwind trip. Every Kimptonhotel Hotel I've stayed at has been top notch and the Muse is no exception.

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor toward the back of the hotel to minimize street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiminsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Kiminsa,

Thank you for your review! I'm so glad our staff pointed you in the direction of some restaurants that you enjoyed, and that you got so much our of your trip! We hope you'll return to the Muse the next time you are in NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This was a good hotel at a reasonable price. The location was super, the room was comfortable and it was very clean ! We requested a coffee maker and one was brought up to the room quickly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My sister and I stayed here July 21-July 26. We dropped off our bags around noon and returned at 2:50 to check in. Our room wasn't ready, which was fine since we were asking before 3:00, but it wasn't ready at 3:00 either. We were told it'd be 15-20 minutes. Still not ready. Then we were told another 15-20 minutes and that it was ready but hadn't been inspected. Still not ready. Finally they comped us some free drinks at the bar and we were able to check in around 4:30. (And the "inspection" missed a half empty can of something in the mini-bar.)

The room was very nice. It looked exactly like the double-double-premier on their web site. It was bigger than I expected and the bathroom was way bigger than I expected with plenty of counter space for all our stuff.

The room (the whole floor, actually) was very quiet. A short walk to the subway at Times Square or Rockefeller Center. I picked it because it was conveniently located between two shows we wanted to walk to.

The other glitch: The day before we left my sister got stuck in the elevator for 15 minutes because the doors wouldn't open. The guy trying to get them open had her helping him and she almost got her fingers stuck in the mechanism. They had some cheese/crackers/wine sent to our room.

All said, I'd stay there again but I can only give them three stars on service for this visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, OK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We've stayed here about 6 times and have never had a bad stay. The rooms are fairly good sized for NYC standards. The location is awesome if you are going to broadway shows.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Wonderful stay at the Muse. Just like the other reviews say--short walk to everything, yet a quiet, funky spot. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fraumode101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We decided to try Muse after reading positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We were only in Manhattan for one night, but had a very pleasant stay. Unusually hip decor for a midtown hotel and extremely friendly, helpful staff. And, while we weren't prepared to believe it, our room really WAS quiet despite being so close to Times Square. In fact, the only noise was the ridiculousy loud A/C fan.

Muse is truly an oasis from the throngs of tourists just a block away. We were on the fifth floor, in the back corner. The floors are nicely laid out, with short hallways and little alcoves, so it doesn't feel like an institutional chain hotel. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, decor was inspired and cheerful. We had a deluxe king room, which was good-sized for NYC. For those of you who are super tall, keep in mind that many king-size beds in these boutique hotels are the standard width but unusually short (European dimensions). So, if you're 6'6", as is my guy, be prepared for your feet to hang off the end. We've encountered this a lot now, and have learned to adjust. The bathroom was spacious and had plenty of counter space. Extra touches included cool, zebra-striped bathrobes, iron & ironing board, umbrella, foam pillow and extra blanket, and satin padded hangers (women, rejoice). The desk allowed us to use our laptop and the HD flat-screen TV with satellite service sounded terrific, although we were too busy to ever turn it on.

Our "driven" deal included parking ($48 value), complimentary continental breakfast for two and a $10 subway card, which was helpful as we were visiting our student at Columbia University. Just a hop on the #1 express train and we were at the campus in no time.

The breakfast exceeded our expectations. Good coffee, very fresh fruit selection (AMAZING berries!), and assorted pastries. The wait staff was extremely accommodating when we asked if we could also get some yogurt to go with our fruit. They brought it out at no extra charge.

Our only gripes were very minor: the shower curtain in the tub was too short, so when showering the water leaked out onto the floor. The bartender in their Nios bar was overworked and overwhelmed (very slow service, not entirely her fault) and all we got with our drinks was soggy, oversalted, yucky popcorn. Apparently the kitchen had closed so we couldn't even get bar nuts (???). The live jazz was fun, however, as were the vintage films playing on the screens. We never actually ate at Nios but hear the food is good.

Also, while internet service is free, in order to access it you must sign up for the Kimpton Hotel group membership program - a bit of a pain in terms of time required and we also weren't sure we wanted to share all that personal information. But, again, relatively minor.

We would stay at Muse again, and recommend the hotel highly.

Room Tip: High floor, back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#73 of 466 in New York City
3,999 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 466 in New York City
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 466 in New York City
3,372 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 466 in New York City
3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#50 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing