We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel near Broadway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #49 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel near Broadway”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The Muse is a very nice hotel near Broadway and Times Square. If you are looking to do some 5th Ave shopping or see a Broadway show, this is a great hotel to stay in. If you don't get a free room upgrade, they have a program where you can pay as little as 30 dollars for a slightly bigger room. We had a beautiful room with a small balcony and a large tub and large glass shower in the bathroom as well as a small living room. The bar downstairs was very nice and served a great brunch on Sundays. Overall, my favorite place to stay in midtown that won't break e bank. The staff was very friendly as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,999
    808
    179
    89
    37
See reviews for
678
1,228
114
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Great hotel in great location right in the heart of times square.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinniesyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel is right in the heart of NYC. Right by Times Square and very close to 5th ave. If you are a Broadway fan, this is a must stay place on your visit. Not only is this Chic Hotel pet friendly, but they have a wine reception every late afternoon with a red and white wine. Every month the featured wines change as well. I found the room to be a basic design, but unlike some of the more artsy ones, it has more space. I would stay again, and bring my pup next time!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank persephone1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Persephone1021,

We love when our guests bring pets along with them, so feel free to on your next stay! I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel and took advantage of the amenities we offer like the wine reception. We look forward to your next visit with your puppy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is a great location to walk to Times Square, Theater District, several food options.
Room was clean and roomy, pull out couch was a little uncomfortable for sleeping.
Anyone we encountered working there were very pleasant & helpful. I would come back to stay at The Muse when visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonBostonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is a wonderful little boutique hotel with a big advantage. It is right in the Broadway Show and Times Square neighborhood, but not in the hustle and bustle. It was quiet, and tastelfully decorated, with an efficient and friendly staff. Even the small room we booked was quite comfortable with a nice king size bed, and plenty of room for us. No view, except for the building across the way, so we just closed the shades. We didn't come to NYC to look out the window! They have a well stocked mini bar for those who care. A free wine happy hour from 5-6 pm, and some kid friendly video games in the lobby. Also, a free afternoon tea and lemonade cooling station to beat the heat. And...they are a dog friendly hotel! We had a canine neighbor next door who was very well behaved.
We apparantly had a great rate, because we booked it in May. I tried to book again for the fall and the price was quite a bit more than we paid. Hopefully, they will offer another special again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danaluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My friend and I hit NYC for a Broadway weekend in March and stayed at the Muse. The location was perfect--smack in the heart of the theater district and so conveniently located! The room was very stylish and super comfortable. The staff were knowledgeable and really helpful. They directed us to some dynamite restaurants. We spent 2 nights there and caught the amazing Book of Mormon on it's opening weekend. Having such a perfect location really enabled us getting the most out of our whirlwind trip. Every Kimptonhotel Hotel I've stayed at has been top notch and the Muse is no exception.

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor toward the back of the hotel to minimize street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiminsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Kiminsa,

Thank you for your review! I'm so glad our staff pointed you in the direction of some restaurants that you enjoyed, and that you got so much our of your trip! We hope you'll return to the Muse the next time you are in NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This was a good hotel at a reasonable price. The location was super, the room was comfortable and it was very clean ! We requested a coffee maker and one was brought up to the room quickly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
3,901 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#43 of 467 in New York City
3,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,308 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#41 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing