We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #49 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Clean, clean, clean bedroom, sitting room and bathroom. Accommodating staff from the front desk, bell man, housekeeping to the restaurant. Easy walk to Rockefeller Center, Broadway Shows and Times Square. A really fun weekend. Daniela was especially helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,997
    808
    179
    89
    37
See reviews for
677
1,227
114
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

A block or two from the mayhem on 46th street. The rooms are small, yes, but the hotel is nicely appointed. The morning coffee and afternoon wine are great. The staff is kind and accommodating. Caveat: make sure that you arrange a room with two beds if that is what you want/need. There are no rollaways. This worked out fine for us, they provided extra bedding and the kids were happy to camp out on the floor, but something to note. Crayons for the kids, Wii for the kids during wine time, hotel was very family friendly.

Room Tip: Room 1607, king bed, not a great view, but not looking at a wall, either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DistanceTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear DistanceTraveler,

I'm glad your family had such a great time at the Muse, but I do apologize for any inconveniences caused due to the lack of rollaway bedding available. It sounds like your children were able to sleep comfortably, however, and I'm so happy to hear that! I hope your family plans to return to the Muse and that we can accomodate you with two beds for your future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The bell man made the best first impresion when I got out of my cab. He welcomed me by name. It only took seconds but he glanced at my luggage tag and made me feel like The Muse had been doing nothing but waiting for me to get there.

I loved my sleek suite on the top floor. The room was polished but also very comfortable. I also liked being able to stay in Times Square, which was central for my work, but being able to leave the crazy energy outside so I could relax and be calm inside.

The staff were characteristically helpful (Kimpton employees always are). They pointed me to a nearby vegetarian restaurant, which was great.

Room Tip: Stay on one of the top few floors, I think the rooms are bigger up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hankpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Just stayed three nights at The Muse and loved it! The location is perfect to anywhere you want to go in NYC........everyone is friendly from the front desk to the doormen. The complimentary 5:00 pm Wine Hour is very nice in the hotel lobby. Everything I requested for our accomodations was granted. The rooms are great and we had a huge balcony from the 15th floor! My only complaint was that the water was a little slow draining in the sink & shower, but I'm sure when you are in an old building, this is common! Would definitely go back. I have stayed in several other Kimpton hotels and the Muse did not disappoint!

Room Tip: Ask for what you want...if they can make it happen they will! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balconylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear Balconylove,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I'm so sorry for the trouble you experienced with your sink and shower drains and I hope this did not inconvenience you during your stay. I'm delighted to hear your stay went so well otherwise and that you plan on returning to the Muse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in May, 2011. We thought it was a beautiful hotel with a very cool vibe. The staff was helpful and courteous. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puglover23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The Muse is a very nice hotel near Broadway and Times Square. If you are looking to do some 5th Ave shopping or see a Broadway show, this is a great hotel to stay in. If you don't get a free room upgrade, they have a program where you can pay as little as 30 dollars for a slightly bigger room. We had a beautiful room with a small balcony and a large tub and large glass shower in the bathroom as well as a small living room. The bar downstairs was very nice and served a great brunch on Sundays. Overall, my favorite place to stay in midtown that won't break e bank. The staff was very friendly as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Great hotel in great location right in the heart of times square.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinniesyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
3,898 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#43 of 467 in New York City
3,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,306 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#41 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing