We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #58 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
arlington tx,76006
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel!”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Our first trip to NYC and wasn't sure where to stay...we got lucky with the Muse. Everything was beyond our expectation! Yes there is construction next door but we turned our fan on and it blocked the bulk of the noise. Close to everything we wanted to do and see. Staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlepatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,050
    828
    186
    93
    38
See reviews for
702
1,259
118
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

This is a very nice hotel located in midtown and great if your trip centers around shows and shopping. It is close to Times Square but far enough away to not be loud.

Rooms are small but very comfortable and the staff couldn't be any nicer or more helpful. If I return and need a central location I will choose this hotel again

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Katrina50,

I'm glad you enjoyed our location and friendly staff, and even had the opportunity to explore Times Square. I really hope you will come back for another stay.

Best Wishes,

Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed at the Muse for three nights the weekend before Christmas. It was very clean and well presented. Unfortunately our room which was on the third floor was dark all day and night as the window was a few feet away from a brick wall and we couldn't see daylight or any views. Therefore I recommend you ask for a room with a view if you use this hotel. The bar was ok but we found the drinks very expensive and the service not that friendly and you still have to give a 20% tip. The reception staff however were friendly and helpful. The concierge was also friendly but very keen to get you a car at very inflated prices. It is better to get a yellow taxi but admittedly they can be hard to find in the evening. This is a very well presented hotel but just a bit lacking in personality and we have stayed at better.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RustySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

The rooms were very nice but very small. Complimentary coffee in the lobby each morning and wine at happy hour...however the lobby gets very very crowded during happy hour and you may not find a place to sit. Staff was friendly.

Room Tip: If you want to sit down at complimentary happy hour in the lobby, get there early to get
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spaintravelerAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear SpaintravelerAtlanta,

Thanks for sharing your comments with us. Hopefully you were able to enjoy our wine reception eventhough it was a little crowded. Happy New Year!

Kind Regards,

Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

First of all, I love the Kimpton brand of hotels. I have stayed in Kimptons in Portland, Seattle, San Diego, and Arizona. NYC was no exception. The location is fabulous. A block from Times Square on the "Little Brazil" street which is smack dab in the theatre area, and sooo many nice restaurants and pubs around. I wish my stay would have been longer. As all Kimptons do, they host a complimentary wine happy hour in the lobby lounge each evening at 5. Love this. The decor is contemporary yet homey. My husband and I traveled with our two boys, 6 and 1, and my mom in tow. For NYC standards, are room was nice and roomy (we stayed in the double double) even with a crib brought in. They also brought in 2 child sized robes for the boys. I will DEFINITELY be coming back to the Muse on my next return to the city!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The Muse Hotel was the base of operations for a long weekend visit in early November with my tween-aged daughter. The room was safe, quiet, clean, and larger than expected for a mid-town Manhattan hotel! We loved the room décor and amenities provided. Staff were helpful and gracious. The hotel is very conveniently located, but do note that it’s hard to get a taxi to pick up or drop off in front of the hotel because of the Times Square traffic patterns. The Muse is in the middle of the block and it’s not a big hardship to walk to or from the avenues on either end. Klimpton is my new favorite hotel group!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Missty,

I'm thrilled that we've become your favorite hotel chain! It sounds like you and your daughter enjoyed your time at The Muse, hopefully this means you will return for another visit this year. Happy 2012!

Best Wishes,

Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I stayed at The Muse for the first time while visiting New York for my Birthday. The staff went above and beyond to make my stay and celebration memorable. The room was clean and very chic!
They have a wine happy hour every night that is very intimate in the lounge. Great bar...I highly recommend the mediterranean flatbread and any cocktail Avelin shakes up for you.
When I was checking out I felt like I was leaving friends.
Treat yourself to an amazing home away from home at The Muse.
Merci Beaucoup to The Muse Staff...It was a birthday to remember and you made it very special!!!!

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for the best deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Dear Lisa L,

Happy Belated Birthday and thank you for choosing us as your celebration destination! We hope to become your home away from home when traveling to NYC in the future.

Best Wishes,

Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#75 of 467 in New York City
4,028 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#24 of 467 in New York City
2,375 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#42 of 467 in New York City
3,398 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#52 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing