We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but severe construction noise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #51 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great location but severe construction noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We are Kimpton InTouch members and prefer the brand because we like the decor (hip but comfy) and free wireless, and usually they give us an apple or water (not here). The Muse basically does not perform like the other Kimptons we've stayed at. The guest room was below standard: couch you couldn't sit on, no coffee table, non-working heater, bad plumbing. We were also hammered with extreme construction noise at 7:30 every weekday morning (mid-December-2011). Kinda gets you out of bed early. It's on the back (north) side of the hotel. Our package included "full American breakfast", but what that meant was we got the continental breakfast (hard little pastries or toast + bowl of cut fresh fruit) and were able to add either an egg, or pancakes, or oatmeal. It's probably better to skip the package and eat at one of the nearby restaurants.

On the upside, the location is excellent (easy walk to everything), the hotel restaurant was excellent, and there is a terrific Cuban restaurant a few doors away. Actually, we decided all the food in NY is great. Anyhow, you need to check out the cool restrooms next to the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjtraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear Mjtraveler22,

We appreciate you sharing feedback from your recent stay at The Muse. I'm glad you enjoyed your dining experience in the restaurant and our location, but I apologize you did not feel our guestrooms fit your standards. I would encourage you to contact the hotel directly if you have any additional information to share with us.

Best Regards,

Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,980
    802
    176
    89
    36
See reviews for
669
1,217
112
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

The Muse Hotel deserves endless accolades! From our first encounter with the friendly staff to the amazing amenities provided we were delighted with this boutique style hotel. The location is perfect, within walking distance of Radio City, and Times Square! It was a grandmother/granddaughter weekend right after Thanksgiving! The staff treated our little girls as if they were Eloise herself! Cookies were left in our room, and their names were quickly learned. Such thoughtful gestures were much appreciated. If you want to stay at the best look no further than the Muse. Thank you, our stay was "awesome!"

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanCranston_Ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear JoanCranston_Ri,

We owe you endless thanks for writing such a wonderful review of our hotel! I'm so happy your little girls enjoyed their getaway and that you liked some of our amenities and prime location. We hope your family returns for another awesome stay this year!

Warm Wishes,

Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We found The Muse on Tripadvisor after lots of searching and I feel like we found a real gem. We had such a lovely stay at The Muse in New York. It is definatley worth a mention! We went for our anniversary and they not only upgraded our room they also delivered strawberry's and champagne to us on our first night. The staff were so friendly and keen to help and it being a stones throw from Times Square put us in a great position to explore. We were on the top floor and the outside noise wasn't disturbing. Always try and ask for a quiet room if possible whenever staying in a city hotel. Cant recommend the hotel enough, cant wait to go back.

ps. the bar is very nice too!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, they are the best and you get a much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jewelly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Jewelly01,

Happy Belated Anniversary! It sounds like you had a memorable celebration at The Muse. We are so grateful for your recommendation and that you will be returning for another stay. We look forward to seeing you again, Happy New Year!

Kind Regards,

Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

This is our third visit to a Klimpton hotel, second to the Muse. When we checked in they told us about the construction, but since it was not near our floor(7) we shouldn't be bothered. This is our second day we are up at 0545 two days. I have complained but apparently they are full and will not move us. Usually I wait until I get home to write a review cut I feel I must warn others to go somewhere else if they want to sleep past 6 or have any peace while in their room during the day.

The hotel is in a great location, is clean and for the most part staff are friendly. Still had I known about the noise I would have gone elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmomOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

The Muse was exactly as I expected. Our room was as described. Noise level was high due to the proximity to Times Square. Unfortunately, two of us broke out with bites after our return and mine were so extreme I had to visit the ER. The reaction from the Hotel was not as I would have anticipated which was disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Babtek,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm very surprised to hear about the experience you had with bug bites, as I can assure that our guest rooms are deep cleaned and inspected thoroughly by our housekeeping team. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly to speak with a manager if you have any additional information to share.

Kind Regards,

Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlington tx,76006
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Our first trip to NYC and wasn't sure where to stay...we got lucky with the Muse. Everything was beyond our expectation! Yes there is construction next door but we turned our fan on and it blocked the bulk of the noise. Close to everything we wanted to do and see. Staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlepatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

This is a very nice hotel located in midtown and great if your trip centers around shows and shopping. It is close to Times Square but far enough away to not be loud.

Rooms are small but very comfortable and the staff couldn't be any nicer or more helpful. If I return and need a central location I will choose this hotel again

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katrina50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Katrina50,

I'm glad you enjoyed our location and friendly staff, and even had the opportunity to explore Times Square. I really hope you will come back for another stay.

Best Wishes,

Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#43 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing