We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Muse Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$208
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$308
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$347
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$301
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$310
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$276
US$267
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$204
US$171
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
US$444
US$415
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$226
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (3,374)
Filter reviews
3,374 results
Traveller rating
2,152
867
211
103
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,152
867
211
103
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimes squarewine hourwine receptionnew yorkcomplimentary winethe theater districthalf blockmini barfront desk staffeach eveningperfect locationgreat boutiquecupcakesstreet noisebroadway showhotel restaurantby nyc standards
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,316 - 2,321 of 3,374 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We couldn't believe our luck when we arrived at The Muse. The staff where very helpful, the decor was amazing, location couldn't be better and a wine reception every evening. The hotel defiantly made our trip very special.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Dear Eboyle,

I'm thrilled to hear that your stay was very special and that you got to join us for the wine reception and take advantage of our prime location. Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

Best Wishes,

Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Our second visit to New York this year and we are now feeling pretty happy about our decision to go for the Muse this time over other more high profile hotels in the city. The front of house staff were very friendly on arrival and check-in was efficiently sorted within a few minutes so that we could begin to make the most of our time. Our room was very clean and comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and the beds were super-comfortable.

We had a continental breakfast included in our package (fresh fruit salad, large selection of pastries) and found this more than sufficient for our needs. Also on offer was the free wine in the lobby in the late afternoon each day as well as delicious hot chocolate.

Other reviews have commented on the construction noise. We were also advised about this on arrival and had also previously read other concerns over this but we struggled to hear anything from our room on the 10th Floor so this was not an issue for us.

Overall we were very happy at the Muse and would definitely consider staying here again when we are next in New York. I couldn't really fault any aspect of our stay and there are some really nice touches that made it extra-special.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 10th Floor and our stay was not affected by any construction noise.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bxxxxxxx2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Dear Paulandselena,

I'm very happy to hear that during your stay you weren't effected by construction noise. Our staff takes enjoyment in adding those special little touches that make your stay memorable. Thank you for noticing and for choosing The Muse Hotel as your place to rest. Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We are Kimpton InTouch members and prefer the brand because we like the decor (hip but comfy) and free wireless, and usually they give us an apple or water (not here). The Muse basically does not perform like the other Kimptons we've stayed at. The guest room was below standard: couch you couldn't sit on, no coffee table, non-working heater, bad plumbing. We were also hammered with extreme construction noise at 7:30 every weekday morning (mid-December-2011). Kinda gets you out of bed early. It's on the back (north) side of the hotel. Our package included "full American breakfast", but what that meant was we got the continental breakfast (hard little pastries or toast + bowl of cut fresh fruit) and were able to add either an egg, or pancakes, or oatmeal. It's probably better to skip the package and eat at one of the nearby restaurants.

On the upside, the location is excellent (easy walk to everything), the hotel restaurant was excellent, and there is a terrific Cuban restaurant a few doors away. Actually, we decided all the food in NY is great. Anyhow, you need to check out the cool restrooms next to the lobby.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjtraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Dear Mjtraveler22,

We appreciate you sharing feedback from your recent stay at The Muse. I'm glad you enjoyed your dining experience in the restaurant and our location, but I apologize you did not feel our guestrooms fit your standards. I would encourage you to contact the hotel directly if you have any additional information to share with us.

Best Regards,

Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The Muse Hotel deserves endless accolades! From our first encounter with the friendly staff to the amazing amenities provided we were delighted with this boutique style hotel. The location is perfect, within walking distance of Radio City, and Times Square! It was a grandmother/granddaughter weekend right after Thanksgiving! The staff treated our little girls as if they were Eloise herself! Cookies were left in our room, and their names were quickly learned. Such thoughtful gestures were much appreciated. If you want to stay at the best look no further than the Muse. Thank you, our stay was "awesome!"

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanCranston_Ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Dear JoanCranston_Ri,

We owe you endless thanks for writing such a wonderful review of our hotel! I'm so happy your little girls enjoyed their getaway and that you liked some of our amenities and prime location. We hope your family returns for another awesome stay this year!

Warm Wishes,

Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We found The Muse on Tripadvisor after lots of searching and I feel like we found a real gem. We had such a lovely stay at The Muse in New York. It is definatley worth a mention! We went for our anniversary and they not only upgraded our room they also delivered strawberry's and champagne to us on our first night. The staff were so friendly and keen to help and it being a stones throw from Times Square put us in a great position to explore. We were on the top floor and the outside noise wasn't disturbing. Always try and ask for a quiet room if possible whenever staying in a city hotel. Cant recommend the hotel enough, cant wait to go back.

ps. the bar is very nice too!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, they are the best and you get a much better view.
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewelly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear Jewelly01,

Happy Belated Anniversary! It sounds like you had a memorable celebration at The Muse. We are so grateful for your recommendation and that you will be returning for another stay. We look forward to seeing you again, Happy New Year!

Kind Regards,

Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews