We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY Nice!”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #67 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Took my wife on a NYC trip for her birthday and decided to 'splurge' on a unique boutique hotel near Times Square. Did not regret it. Hotel was fantastic from staff check-in, to complimentary wine tasting, to the beautiful room and comfortable bed, and the fantastic location.
Since we were traveling in the off season, the room rates were quite reasonable so we were very happy.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benji S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,091 - 2,097 of 3,248 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

I stay here every year for our shareholders meeting. It's a nice hotel and the rooms are large by NYC standards.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muffinhead2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The Muse has rooms that are very much in the playful, handsome Kimpton mode. The color scheme is black, white and gray, the beds live up to Kimpton's reputation for comfort, and the rooms are fairly sizable in comparison to most NYC hotels. (The hotel lobby, in contrast, is rather drab.) The staff is pleasant, and the hotel's location is good, mid-way between Sixth Avenue and Broadway, within walking distance of Grand Central Station. There are two negative factors at the Muse: the restaurant/bar on premises has limited hours and there is no place to sit down and have coffee or food in a common area after 10 a.m. on any day of the week -- you have to leave the hotel and go to a nearby cafe or coffee shop. The other problem is that this is a relatively noisy, business-oriented neighborhood in Manhattan. When I stayed there in May 2012, apparent construction at two spots on the same street, plus trucks passing on 46th Street, necessitated ear plugs.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I simply can’t praise this hotel and its staff highly enough. The last couple of times we’ve visited New York we stayed in the Westin, but this time no room was available at the time of booking. We chose the Muse based on the location and our previous experience with Kimpton hotels (we are “keep in touch” members).
We e mailed in advance to say that we would be celebrating our wedding anniversary during our stay and with this in mind could we have the nicest available room – we’ll it’s always worth a try! On arrival our anniversary was acknowledged at Reception and there was a bottle of Prosecco and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us in a lovely corner room with views from the 14th floor. At no time did we hear construction noise from our room; gentle traffic noise could be heard during the night, but not enough to disturb sleep.
Our package included complimentary continental breakfast which included coffee, juice, and a selection of fresh fruit, pastries, toast and preserve’s. The quality and service was excellent and was probably one the most relaxed breakfasts we’d experienced in a hotel setting. On one occasion there was no table available, but we were offered coffee while we waited and a table soon became free.
All the staff we experienced from check-in to check out, at the door or in the restaurant couldn’t have made us feel more welcome.
The evening wine receptions are a welcome bonus, just what’s needed after a day’s sight-seeing, and a refill was always offered when we took back our empties!
We will definitely choose the Muse when we next return to New York.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeenHolidayFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

One of the best hotels I've stayed in. Great location near time square. Friendly, helpful staff. Don't even have to ask for help and they are right there to assist with making you comfortable, getting napkins to use, giving directions and opening doors. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Very clean and comfortable and fun.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Absolutely brilliant hotel, clean and tidy and very contemporary. Beautifully decorated rooms. Friendly staff and sooooooo close to times square but far enough from the hustle and bustle!!! Complimentary wine between 5 & 6 pm is a must too!!!! Couldn't recommend higher!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helenlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Fantastic "boutique" hotel just a few steps from Times Square. Everything you could ask for. Having stayed in NYC a number of times, this is by far the best hotel yet. The double/double rooms were huge!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor, great view of the side of Times Square (but no noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn44Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#69 of 469 in New York City
4,075 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 469 in New York City
2,410 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#43 of 469 in New York City
3,437 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#65 of 469 in New York City
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#58 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £180 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing