We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love to stay in boutique hotels and The Muse Kimpton was fabulous.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #51 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“We love to stay in boutique hotels and The Muse Kimpton was fabulous.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stay at Kimptons every chance we get. The Muse staff really made our experience in NYC a wonderful one. So up beat and fabulous decor. Our room was clean, comfortable, and large for a NYC hotel room. Loved the happy hour in the lobby every day and the professional staff there to assist. It's a must!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauricita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,978
    802
    176
    89
    36
See reviews for
669
1,215
112
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

This was our first time staying at The Muse and we'll definitely return. A small boutique hotel in an excellent Times Square location. We were upgraded to a corner room with a balcony. Rooms are spacious for NYC. Wine reception in the evening and coffee in the lobby in the morning. Quaint lobby bar with nice wine selection. Staff is great and all about customer service.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 19holes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

My husband and I took our two kids -- 6 and 4 years old -- to NYC. I had received a great offer via email from Kimpton Hotels (the Muse is a Kimpton property) and booked the room sometime in April/May. We actually stayed at the Muse last weekend, July 13, 2012. The front desk personnel, Barbara Los in particular, was wonderful. Friendly, welcoming and very kind. All the staff was great with our kids and truly made us all feel great about traveling to NYC!

The room was comfortable, clean and had plenty of space. We even had a balcony although we didn't get to enjoy it because we were out about the whole time. Mid afternoon one day, someone arrived with milk and cookies and a fruit tray to help us recharge for an evening out in Times Square. It was a pleasant surprise. It's clear that the Muse knows how to take care of its guests and inspire repeat visits. Definitely a place I would stay again with or without my kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaveriPGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

I went to great lengths researching a Hotel to stay in while visiting New York for the first time. I like luxury and of course cleanliness. For New York I was extremely happy with my choice. Rooms where very tasteful, GREAT bedding and a decent size bathroom. The location is great and the staff very professional.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank palms62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is a great hotel in the heart of times square (but far enough away not to be too loud.) They offer rooms with a separate fold out couch in a living area which is wonderful for families. The hotel is kid (and dog) friendly and offers welcome gifts to children as they check in. The staff was very warm, knowledgeable and helpful. The only cons during our stay was the sofa beds were not in great condition and the breakfast room service menu and delivery could use some fine tuning. Overall, we would stay at The Muse again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsnobmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Love the Kimpton chain hotels, and this one was wonderful in terms of ambience, comfort, and congeniality of the staff. THe location right in the heart of Times Square was magnificent. The wine reception at this hotel offered beer, which was a plus for me, and it was local beer on top of that! That being said, as others have mentioned on Trip Advisor, my credit card bill had charges that were not on the folio I was given at the end of my stay. Over $45 in extra charges were included.

I was charged $32.66 for socks that were never in our closet, and about $13.OO in honor bar purchases; I am a Kimpton in-touch member and I was to receive $15.00 in complimentary
mini bar selections. I did call the hotel, and was assured these would be added back to my husband's Visa. The clerk who assisted me on the phone was gracious and cooperative, and only because of her was I able to learn what the extra charges were for. However, this should never happen. BEWARE! Watch your credit card statement carefully! I wish all hotels would stop leaving items that are high priced and for sale in rooms!

Room Tip: Check your room for robes, umbrellas and socks as soon as you arrive. If there are not two robes an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mjm52252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I took my sister-in-law for a girls weekend in Manhattan over the 4th of July holiday. I had been wanting to stay at the Muse as I love Kimpton properties and it was just as great as I expected. The front desk staff was efficient at check-in, had great recommendations for dining and even included a little surprise for me for my birthday - a wonderful fruit and cheese tray with a lovely sparkling water sent to our room. The happy hour in the lobby was fun - loved the Sangria. The rooms were fun, interesting, nice sized and very clean. The location was literally a 1/2 block off Time Square which was great since my sis hadn't been to New York before. And it was surprisingly quiet - we were on the 14th floor.

This was exactly what I wanted. I would love to stay here again and will stay at Kimptons whenever I can.

Room Tip: The rooms are large by New York standards. Make sure to talk to the desk staff, they know the area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwilightTink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,864 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,264 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,284 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,236 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing