We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel for Times Square!”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #67 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed at The Muse 3 summers ago and it was fantastic. We had a spacious room and it was one-half block off of Times Square. We were near Fox News Studios as well as Good Morning America. It was a lovely hotel ... they staff was kind and considerate and the hotel offered free wine in the late afternoons. I can't wait to go back ... will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,918 - 1,924 of 3,272 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

Theater in NYC with your muse to comfort you. Love being in Times Sq and just steps to the theater? But want it a little quiet when you sleep, and a little bit luxurious with lots of attention to things that really make you comfortable; Boutique without the corporate feel. Then stay here.

Room Tip: corner room away from street; if you want the spectacular views of NYC at night, this is not the pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

After Hurricane Sandy disrupted downtown Manhattan and we lost our electricity, we frantically searched for a reasonable hotel. We had no power, water, internet or cell phone service and had to walk 9 flights of stairs! Every place we called was either booked or was price gouging with a four night minimum. Well, we did not know when we would have power and that seemed incredibly unfair. Barbara, a manager at The Muse came to our aid and whisked us away to a beautifully decorated room on a high floor that was very quiet and had a nice view. The price was very reasonable and she told us we could check out early with no penalty. The staff is extremely professional at every level from housekeeping to doormen. The location is very central. Walk to Times Square and Rockefeller Center. All of 5th Avenue is steps away as well. Nice $15 mini bar voucher and free wifi. Also free wine in the lobby from 5-6pm was a welcome bit of civilization after our miserable experience in dark downtown. Our dogs are part of our family and they were just as welcome and comfortable as we were. Highly recommended from a NYer of over 20 years!

Room Tip: It is a busy neighborhood so the higher your floor probably the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nygemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Goldberg, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear nygemini,

We are absolutely blown away by the title of your post. We are so happy we were able to accomodate your stay during such a chaotic and stressful time. We wish we could have housed more guests with the circumstances at hand. But, we arere are thrilled that such a small gesture on our side made such a profound impact on your life. Barbara and the Muse Team are very touched by what you wrote. We hope, although you are a resident of the City, you find the time to visit us soon.

We wish you all the best and we hope everything is back to normal for you.

Sincerely,

Samantha Goldberg
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We were billed after we left for Socks (?) & mini bar costs (these were covered by $15 Kimpton Voucher we got on arrival)

Good Points - Good size Room, Reception area very nice, free Internet, $15 Kimpton mini bar voucher , very central location.

Bad points - Room cold & noisy(outside noise) , staff not particularly friendly (check out staff were actually very unprofessional, even my teenage daughter commented on this)

I preferred the Sofitel (stayed there twice) so if choosing between them Sofitel gets my vote.

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Goldberg, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear D T,

Thank you for your constructive criticism. We appreciate your feedback! If you choose to return to the Muse, I welcome you to reach out to our property directly and we will place a note in your reservation to block you on a high floor and away from the street noise- to avoid any outside noise to the best of our ability.

Also, we will pay closer attention in regards to your experience with the front desk. I promise you this is a rarity and I hope we have the opportunity to make it up to you next time.

Best,

Samantha Goldberg
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Let me start off by saying, I LOVE Kimpton. Their attention to detail, reasonable prices, fabulous style, and customer service are second to none. My friend and I had the pleasure of staying at the Muse during a recent girls trip to NYC. This is by-far my favorite property in the city. The location is great - near shopping, restaurants, Grand Central, and the subway. It's quiet, but still lively. Our room, a king deluxe, had HUGE windows, tons of space, and great decor. We even lived decadently and had a masseuse come to our room. The lobby is beautiful, the doormen cheery, and the staff friendly. We even check in five hours early with no problem. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amhanstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Muse during our recent girls trip to NYC. I am a loyal Kimpton fan and was not let down. From the moment we checked in, we fell in love. Our room, a kind deluxe, had great furnishings, huge windows, and fabulous Kimpton style. We loved the bed and the gorgeous bathroom. Our room was on a corner and had a long hallway separating the bathroom from the bedroom so you didn't feel cramped at all. The "Raid the Mini Bar" promo was great as well. The lobby is inviting and location-wise, you can't beat it. Literally steps from Times Square and a very short walk to Radio City-Rockefeller Plaza. And yes, they have THE bathrobes waiting for you when you arrive :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amhanstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Goldberg, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Dear Ms. Amhanstein!

Thank you for your wonderful posting! We are so happy you enjoyed your girls weekend with us. Hope you ladies can rock the animal print robes again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Samantha Goldberg
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I have been to NY several times with my mom for a mother daughter vacation. This was our first visit to The Muse and we could not have been more pleased. The room was huge by NY standards and had cute furniture. The bathroom was fine, nothing special. The best feature was a balcony. We are talking more like a patio with two large lounge chairs and a table with four chairs. In addition, they have a free wine happy hour and free coffee in the morning. Even though we were only half a block off of Time Square there was no street noise to keep us awake. The price was no more than other full service hotels in town either. I do not think I will stay anywhere else.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank Ychick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#48 of 469 in New York City
3,472 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#72 of 469 in New York City
4,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#28 of 469 in New York City
2,428 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#74 of 469 in New York City
2,441 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 469 in New York City
3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £172 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing