We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Scores All The Time”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #67 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I travel frequently for business and stay in many different hotels.There is one hotel that always stands out far above the rest - The Muse Hotel In NYC. Part of the reason I enjoy the hotel is it's location - right in the heart of Times Square. The main reason I look forward to my stay is the fantastic staff at the hotel. They do everything possible to accommodate me and make my stay enjoyable. I have had great interactions with everyone at the front door to the desk to room service and management. The rooms are clean, comfortable and trendy and the evening wine reception is always a treat. I am looking forward to my next trip to the city and my stay at the Muse.

Room Tip: Higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwhitam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear gwhitam,

Thank you for the AWESOME review!

We are so pleased that you keep coming back to stay with us and we appreciate your loyalty!
Thank you for personally mentioning our staff as giving you exemplary service during each one of your stays.

We look forward to having you stay with us many more times in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,446 - 1,452 of 3,272 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is not a 4star Hotel. The only nice thing in this hotel is the decoration of the restaurant and the lobby. Bathroom unacceptable as the slippers and bathrobes. Rooms had no boiler for coffee nor tea and we had to wait 40min for a cup of coffee in the morning from the room service. Breakfast was the poorest I have ever seen, we ordered an omelet for which we paid 23$ and last but not least the manager in charge was very rude.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHIPPINGAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear SHIPPINGAthens,

Thank you for your feedback about your most recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel décor.

We are sorry to hear that the breakfast did not meet your standards and we have shared your concerns with the restaurant managers. Please know we do have coffee makers and tea kettle available complimentary upon request and would love to ensure one of these if you choose to return.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back and roll out the red carpet and show you a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My daughter and l have just returned home from 2 weeks in the USA, five nights of which we stayed at the Muse in NY. What a great boutique hotel, located half a block from Times Square. We were upgraded to a lovely room on the 17th floor with 2 double beds and a sitting area and bath! Also a handwritten card, chocolates,fruit and water welcoming us to the hotel. Free internet is great and wine hour between 5-6 most enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble, we also had a lovely meal in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyBongers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear JennyBongers,

Thank you for your five star rating!! We are so happy you visited us for two weeks! You were definitely a long way from home... but I am glad to see we made you feel comfortable and relaxed throughout your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from a visit to New York City and the Muse hotel. We celebrated our first anniversary here and it was nothing short of wonderful. Our hotel room was ready for us when we arrived and later we were greeted outside our room door with a wonderful bottle of champagne with a Congratulations card. It is in a great location where everything is easily accessible. I would very much recommend this hotel to anyone visiting NYC.

Room Tip: Higher rooms offer less street noise, but overall a very quiet hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren081388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Lauren081388,

Thank you for your five star review! We are so happy we could be part of your wonderful celebration!

Thank you for your high recommendation. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The location is the best aspect of this hotel. It is situated about 20 seconds from Times Square and within walking distance of all the main tourist attractions (except ground zero and Statue of Liberty in which can be reached cheaply by a cab). The hotel itself is very clean and always felt safe as there were always security guards around. Staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome. The rooms we stayed in were brilliant and the beds were by far the best I've ever experienced in a hotel! Really could not fault this hotel, it was perfect for our first time in the Big Apple!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Jack G,

It is such a pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Big Apple for the first time! We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your entire stay! We hope this is the first of many trips to NYC and the Muse Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights recently. The hotel is a nice boutique hotel, an oasis just off the bustle of Times Sq. We very much enjoyed the 5-6 pm wine hour in the lobby where wine is served to the guests - you can take it back to your room or stay in the cozy lobby and socialize with your fellow guests. Coffee is also served in the lobby in the mornings.
A huge problem however is that the outside windows are definitely not updated for sound remediation. We have stayed in many many hotels in Manhattan, as near to Times Sq as this one, and we have never heard street sounds like this. I thought in fact that our window (which was a very small window, BTW) was open, which of course, it wasn't. We were on the 14th floor. The inside walls are great, we never heard a sound from within the hotel, but the outside noises were extremely disturbing, so much so that our sleep was frequently interrupted. The 2nd night, what helped, was to keep the fan in the room on, creating enough white noise as to block out the outside.
This is a lovely enough hotel, but is it amazing? For this price point, no. There is no turn down service, which, at this price point, I expected. Sure, the robes are cute, and there was one pair of socks for the two of us to use (I made sure the mgr knew we hadn't taken the 2nd pair, that there was only 1 pair there to begin with, for the 4 of our combined feet!), and the yoga mat, uh, really??, kind of gimmicky if you ask me, and trust me, I work out all the time - so with all the hype here on this site, I just expected more. The rooms are very small, the smallest in fact that we have stayed in in NYC, but even so, that's ok. There was a light out in the bathroom, nowhere near enough hooks/racks in the bathroom for towels and said cute robes, and the in room heating/cooling system was a bit off - the room seemed to be heated from the building as a whole, we would turn the heat way down, even off, to no avail, so we ended up turning on the aircon even though it was in the 40s (F) outside! .......it's these little things that add up - I don't rate a place 5 stars easily. But it definitely deserves 4 stars, even with it's foibles, I just expected more, as I said, due to the reviews.

Room Tip: Windows are not sound proof!! Very loud street noises!!
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lexmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear lexmiller,

Thank you for taking your time to give us a thorough review.

We are so pleased to know you enjoyed our proximity to Times Square but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. We also are happy you were able to enjoy our wine reception as a nice way to begin your evening.

We do want to apologize for the noise you experienced. Please know we do have many rooms which face the interior and we would be happy to ensure this on your next stay. Thank you for the comments regarding the room. We have shared these comments with our engineer and housekeeping team to ensure these items are addressed. We also wanted to let you know we do offer turn down service upon request and again would love to ensure you receive this on your next stay.

We thank you for all your comments and hope to have you stay with us again. Please reach out to one of the managers so we can ensure a 5 star stay on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Clean clean clean and attractive. Honored our request for a high floor - we were on top floor (19th) which was amazingly quiet for 46th St. near 6th. We were two blocks from our lunch and dinner restaurants and our theater. Very attractive bar and the wine hour on Saturday had a DJ. Kimptons are consistent and the Muse met every high expectation.

Room Tip: High floor inside if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear alwoh,

Thank you for your five star rating! We are glad to see we met your high expectations! We hope to continue to deliver this level of service for you.

We always look to honor room and other requests our guests may have! Thanks for the notes and glad we could meet your needs. We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#48 of 469 in New York City
3,472 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#71 of 469 in New York City
4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#28 of 469 in New York City
2,428 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#75 of 469 in New York City
2,427 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 469 in New York City
3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#58 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £170 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing