We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel! Great Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #50 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Emeryville, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Hotel! Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Muse is a great hotel! The room was very clean, and quiet. I was a little nervous being next to the elevator, but I was not disturbed by anyone or by the elevator noise. The staff was very nice and helpful. It is in a great location, just 1/2 block from Times Square and all the theaters. A couple blocks and you are at the subway. It's not that long of a walk to Central Park either. Loved the hotel and the location. Will definetly visit again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Michelle G,

Thank you for the great review.

We are so happy that you enjoyed both the location and your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,977
    802
    176
    89
    36
See reviews for
668
1,215
112
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
208 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My first visit was some 3 years ago. I had the opportunity to return to the Muse for a weekend mental escape to the city for two nights, I took advantage of a last minute rate, inexpensive by NYC standards! but still pricey by most other standards. The room was, of course, small with no view which I expected for the discounted last minute weekend rate, but everything else about the hotel was perfect. It's perfectly located, the staff are perfectly friendly, and overall the experience was perfect as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexKeystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear TEXKEYSTONE,

Thank you for the great review!

We are so happy you returned to stay with us for a little ‘R&R’.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were so pleased with this hotel. From the very start the staff were efficient and friendly. I had requested a room on a high floor and they put us at the very top! I had also mentioned it being my husband's birthday and a complimentary bottle of bubbly was waiting for us on our first night with a hand written note from Sarah, the manager. This was very much appreciated and I made sure to tell her! The room was large, clean and nicely furnished. The bed and pillows were like sleeping on a cloud, I'd say the best hotel bed ever!!

We did have issues with the water supply on two mornings,which was annoying but I believed Sarah when she told me she was doing her best to resolve the issues with the workmen down the street. She also gave us a discount on the bill without us asking, again very much appreciated.

The hotel is brilliantly located for tourists being right off Times Square. It meant we could walk to numerous restaurants and bars and not have to worry about getting cabs late at night. The complimentary coffee in the mornings was great and set us up for our treks around the city. We only managed to get back in time for the free wine twice but it was very pleasant.

This hotel is a little pricey and more than we would usually pay but we wanted everything to be perfect for our first trip to New York and The Muse fits the bill. Thank you Sarah and all your staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chattykathyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear chattykathyblue,

Thank you for the great review!

We so are so happy you enjoyed our location and property.

We are delighted that we were able to help you and your husband celebrate such a special birthday.

Again, we do apologize for the frustrations with the water however appreciated your patience while we worked through this.

We hope to have you stay with us again and if we can ever be of any more assistance please reach out to us at tripadvisor@themusehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was our third trip to New York but the first with our children. We picked The Muse as we have stayed in a Kimpton before and they are great for families. The Muse did not let us down, the staff were fantastic and very welcoming, our room was great, very big and we had a view which is rare in New York. The hotel left gifts for my children which was such a lovely touch especially the Teddy for my youngest who lost her special teddy last year in San Fransisco. The first night we came back to cookies and milk in the room and the free wine on the evening is a bonus. I highly recommend this hotel especially if you have children, you will be welcomed with open arms. The location is fantastic very central but still quiet. A huge thank you to Sarah for arranging the gifts and picking a lovely room for us. The Cameron family :0)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fuzzycoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear fuzzycoco,

Thank you for the FANTASTIC Five star review!

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make a special moment with your daughter!

Thank you for the shout out about our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The Muse is still great to stay. We had lots of fun during Wine hour. The make-up session for guest was awesome. The front desk staff and front door staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is well situated. Close to attractions and transportation.

There were a few disappointments e. g. We were promised special suite that didn't materialise. The bathroom needed renovation and no tap in the bath. Our mini-bar didn't work, but a small fridge was supplied. Nothing major, but didn't expect from such a great hotel. Maybe management should just take care of the bug bears. Still very special place in my heart.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Annelie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Annelie N,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback.

We are so happy you were able to enjoy our wine hour and the fun extra features we had during your stay.

We do apologize about your dissatisfaction however with your room and have made sure to share your comments with our team.

We welcome you to reach out to us at tripadvisor@themusehotel.com, as we would love to welcome you back and provide a true Kimpton experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottsdale
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I regularly visit NYC for work. I recently changed hotels to try something different. I was pleasantly surprised by The Muse . The Kimpton desk and reservations people were easy to deal with and the room was a good value. The Perks of the wine tasting and great midtown location did not hurt. I am back there next week . Enough said.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phxdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear phxdoc,

Thank you for the nice review.

We are so happy that you decided to try something new and come stay with us. We are glad to know we did not disappoint!

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

2 night business trip @$320 a room - all perfectly ok however wifi demands that you sign up to the hotel members group and the water was at best tepid the second day - breakfast @ $40 seemed a little steep for a eggs coffee and oj - Staff were good / room clean but it should have been better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLANFRANCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear DLANFRANCHI,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback.

We have made sure to pass along your comments regarding the breakfast to our restaurant managers.

We do offer Wi-Fi which is $13 per day however always suggest our guests sign up to our Kimpton Intouch loyalty program. The Intouch program is free to join and also offers benefits such as the complimentary Wi-Fi, $15 Mini Bar/ bar credit as well as other great benefits.

We hope you do consider the Muse in the future, as we would love to provide you with a true Kimpton experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#58 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,864 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,264 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,284 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,236 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#43 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing