We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found my muse at this hotel”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #66 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

There is nothing better than going to NYC and spending nights on Broadway seeing great shows. My family has been doing this for years but it wasn't until this year that we found the best of all hotels to stay in when visiting Broadway...The Muse. Located on a quiet street (relatively...this is New York after all), this little boutique hotel is the perfect place to rest after a long day walking the streets of New York. Close to all theaters, the Muse is immaculately clean and charming with a small restaurant attached where you can get breakfast and wonderful small plates at night. The bar is well stocked and the bartenders go out of their way to make the perfect drink. Wine is complementary at 5 every night. Service with a smile is the norm for this charming spot. We will go back to Broadway again and no doubt, we will stay at the MUSE.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizthefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Lizthefoodie,

Nothing is better than finding your muse… and we are thrilled to know you found your muse at The Muse Hotel.

It’s great to know that we were the perfect back drop to your New York City and Broadway experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,232 - 1,238 of 3,280 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Yet another amazing Kimpton Hotel. They do not disappoint with their elegance and style.
If you are driving, like I was, getting to the hotel was rather tricky. It is situated in the busiest area of Manhattan, right in the middle of Times Square. Amazing location for any tourist looking to walk out of the door and explore, but rather awful for a person who is staying for one night and driving. Parking was rather expensive, at $55 / night. Valet will probably be your only option.
The hotel itself was magnificent! Stylish lobby, boutique feel and cool ambiance that comes with almost every Kimpton hotel that I have ever stayed at.
This was a girl trip and the four of us shared a room with two beds. The room was enormous, by NYC hotels standards anyway. I was pleasantly surprised. The four of us girls were getting ready to go out and never got in each others way. The bathroom was very spacious with a very large counter, also a pleasant surprise which allowed us to spread out.
The beds were comfy and perfect size for two girls to share. We got in well after 6am and the blackout curtains did the trick of eliminating the light, soundproof windows did the trick of eliminating the noise.
I can't comment on the value, as the room was booked by another person, but my understanding that this hotel is not cheap. You do get amazing atmosphere and service.

Room Tip: Higher floor will probably do the trick of eliminating the outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrinaB960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Irina B,

Thank you for the excellent review!

We are so happy to know that you are a loyal Kimpton fan and that we lived up to the reputation!
It’s great to know that our rooms and hotel was a great backdrop to your NYC girl’s getaway.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Was there for wife's birthday in March. They upgraded us to a corner room. Very nice room with large windows looking down on 46th Street. Right around corner from Times Square. Complimentary wine at 5 in lobby. Complimentary bottle of Champagne for her birthday waiting for us in room. Going back for my birthday in July. Would recommend staying here.Staff was exceptional.

Room Tip: Stayed on 9th floor. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skibum028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Skibum028,

Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your wife’s birthday and thank you for the FIVE star review.

We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your room.

We look forward to helping you celebrate your birthday next month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Love this great hotel near the Theater district. The service here is great and love the boutique feel. Subway is very close so you can go anywhere in the city. It is a quiet street off the crazy Times Square area. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms are small so I would recommend the 1 bedroom suite. It has a great sitting room next to the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetogoAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear lovetogoAR,

We love you too!

Thank you for the great review. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I just returned from another great stay at the Muse Hotel. They are the best at how a guest is treated on a daily basis. Barbara, Lauren. Ivanna, Samantha behind the desk are super.
The Bellman, David, Wacoa and Michael can help with what to see and where to go. The bartender Ross will serve up your favorite drink with a smile.
If you want a super quite night get room 511, location towards the back super room and wonderfully quite!!
Linda W.

Room Tip: Ask to stay high up, balconies are great if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Mary Linda W,

Reviews like this make us smile. Thank you for mentioning our team as providing exemplary service.

We appreciate your continued loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back many more times in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed two nights with my kids at the Muse Hotel and had a wonderful time . The hotel is stylish and has a lot of character but what we enjoyed most was the quality of the staff ...very friendly and always ready to help . The spirit is good !
The location of the Hotel is perfect to go out for theaters or restaurants . It is a few steps from Times Square .
We also liked the 5 o'clock free wine cocktail ...everybody seems happy !
I recommend that hotel !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamboil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear lamboil,

Thank you for the A’Muse’ing review!

We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our team as providing exemplary service.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We opted for the Muse because it had balcony rooms. We got one on the 15th floor for two nights for our anniversary.

The room was very nice. I was very surprised to find our stocked bar was not actually a fridge. It was a cabinet. It's something I wish I had figured out before purchasing beer or milk-based drinks :)

The balcony was cool. It was situated in a back corner of the hotel, so the view was limited to an extreme city-view closeup. You see either the tops of buildings (not the prettiest sight) or the skyscrapers that seem to go up forever. We could see the entire Lion King sign in the windows of the building across from us. It was such a unique view! We hung out there for much of the time. It was great to do once and I loved it, but next time I'd like to get a room with views over Times Square.

The location is perfect. It's 1/2 block away from all the action, so it's easy to get around. We walked around everywhere but could duck into where it was nice and quiet (in NYC terms). At 5pm, the Muse offered complimentary wine, which was nice. We were going to borrow their bicycles, but walking and driving in the city was complicated, so we decided against it.

We opted to park using their valet service, and our concierge (Frankie, I think?) was a great guy. The front desk guy upon arrival was very courteous, even though we probably looked like refugees when we arrived (long plane ride).

Overall, we were very happy with our choice. I don't know if I would splurge for the same room (or would opt for a room with a better city view), but I'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms do not offer a Times Square view but are still a very nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear jennut1,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us to celebrate your anniversary.

Thank you for the shout outs regarding some of our team members!

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#48 of 470 in New York City
3,486 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#28 of 470 in New York City
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#73 of 470 in New York City
4,117 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#72 of 470 in New York City
2,506 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#68 of 470 in New York City
6,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £163 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing