We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right by Times Square and Subway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #50 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Right by Times Square and Subway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great location. Right by Times Square. We were on the 10th floor and didn't hear noise. Very quiet. Front desk staff was nice especially Esprit. She gave my kids a goodie bag and She printed up directions and was very helpful. When you come in, there is a guy outside welcoming you in. I can't remember his name. Something with a W..Wilson??

Sign up for free with Kimpton rewards and you get a $10 bar credit. Free wine hour from 5-6 but we missed it every time. They should put filtered water in the lobby so we can fill up water bottles. They just had a pitcher of water so it's hard to fill up with a water bottle.
Check out the lobby bathrooms. Very neat! We had to pay for the breakfast buffet which wasn't good. Just some fruit, cereal, toast, muffins and danishes. Room decor is nice. Our room had small beds so next time I would get the king and not double beds. If you have pets, this is a pet friendly hotel too.

Right next door is an English pub we also ate at. TGI Fridays is across the street but is double the price. Save money and get food from all the food carts in the same block. The subway is a couple blocks away so buy the 7 day pass for $30. They didn't have anything for a couple days. Get the City pass too..don't do the hop on off bus with the subway so close by. We went to Empire State Building and Top of the rock which were a couple blocks away.

If you have a birthday tell the front desk and they will give you cupcakes. They brought it up to the room after we checked in. The other Kimpton had it in the room when we got there. It was my son's birthday but they thought it was mine and gave me a card . Instead of my son's name on it, it was my name. Wish they would have looked at the the survey they sent the night before which I wrote all the info on. I also called the week before too and they asked for his name. Still nice they did something though.

We didn't have a car so if you want to go to JFK it's about 40 min. away. Look around, we paid a taxi van $52 for a flat rate fee. It was better than taking all our luggage on the subway.

Room Tip: Stay away from corner rooms by the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank googles111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear googles111,

Thank you for thorough review telling us about your recent trip to New York City.

Thank you for the shout outs regarding our team members. We are so pleased they were of great assistance throughout your stay.

Thank you for the great recommendation of places to eat and tours.

Happy Birthday again to your son! (Sorry we wrote the card to the wrong person. We will make sure to take proper care in the future)

We hope we can welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,979
    802
    176
    89
    36
See reviews for
669
1,216
112
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My family -- husband, two young sons, and me -- stayed here for two nights earlier this month. We had a very pleasant stay. We loved the central location, amenities, helpful and friendly staff, and most of all our room. We had a one-bedroom suite; our bedroom was separated from the living room area where our sons slept on a fold-out sofa by a sliding door, which was a nice arrangement. We had the continental breakfast at the adjoining restaurant and it was very good. Loved the bathrooms in the lobby too, what a fun touch. We love Kimpton hotels -- have stayed at locations in Baltimore, Washington, and Boston -- and were pleased with another great Kimpton experience. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Kristin S,

Thank you for the five star review!

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room was perfect for your stay with your family.

We appreciate your Kimpton loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I'm a frequent guest at The Muse and it's awesome! The rooms are clean, modern and so comfortable for relaxing and working. The location is perfect for both pleasure and business. Most importantly, the staff is amazing - my favorites...Barbara and Lauren always are there to greet me with a big hello and friendly smile and also are so professional and helpful with anything I may need while I'm there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Tamra B,

Aww… We love you too!

Thank you for the continued loyalty and the great team member shout outs.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My son and I stayed here in July, Our room first room was at the front at the building, and at 12:30 AM construction outside started.. all night long jack hammers, trucks, no sleep for 2 nights this went on...it was a 5 night stay. I complained and they moved us to room 911 at the back of the building.. very quiet, even for Times square !!! We slept like a baby.. Staff was exceptionally great, Barbara at the front desk, the bellmen etc.. I've stayed at many hotels in NYC, and will choose this one again.. Soon...
Richard and Matthew

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Rick M,

Thank you for the five star review.

We do sincerely apologize about the noise you experienced on the first night. We are so pleased we were able to get your room changed the next day.

Thank you for mentioning our team as providing exemplary service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

My friend and I usually love the Kimpton line of hotels but The Muse in NYC does not live up to what we've come to expect from them.The bathroom in particular was lacking--there was no fan or heat/air-conditioning vent so that when we showered we created a steam room. Also a few hours into our visit the plugs stopped working in the bathroom so we had to blow-dry our hair in the bedroom (kind of okay, as the bathroom was so hot!). My friend thought the room smelled like pee--it didn't smell particularly nice to me but I wasn't quite willing to throw in with the "pee" smell. Happy Hour was relegated to the tiny lobby (bar was being used for a private event?) but I have to admit that the pours were generous. When we went for coffee in the morning they were out and someone was trying to locate the person in charge of refilling it. There was one bright spot whose name I wish I could remember--he helped us with everything from directions to hailing cabs. Certainly nothing wrong with our stay--just not the "specialness" we both have come to expect from Kimpton.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank easytoplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear easytoplz,

Thank you for your review. It seems as though we missed the mark during your stay and we sincerely apologize about this.

We appreciate your comments and will look into having these items looked at and rectified. We hope we will we have the chance to welcome you back.

Please reach out to our managers at tripadvisor@themusehotel.com so we can personally welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is absolutely amazing ! Beautiful rooms ! Excellent location ! And the staff are the most helpful & Caring staff I have ever experienced ! Thank you so much we enjoyed our stay very much ...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessegirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Jesse W,

We are blushing! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our team as providing exemplary service.

Come back and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in the hotel Sunday - Wednesday. The hotel has a perfect Times square location and is very convenient for theater visits and the Times square area. The lobby is very small but the staff is very friendly and go out of their way to assist you. The rooms are good sized for manhattan. Our bathroom in room 711 was a little tight. The commode was so close to the wall and the door that is was uncomfortable to use. The air conditioner rattled a bit and bothered me on the first night. The biggest problem is the elevators. They are slow and we waited several minutes both up and down. Love the happy hour. They served both wine and Sangria and was a nice touch. This is our 3rd Kimpton property and will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hnsadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed our location in Times Square.

Thank you for the comments regarding the AC. We will make sure our engineer takes a look at this unit.

We are nearly finished updating our elevators to be efficient for our guests and will be complete in a couple of days.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#60 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,865 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,265 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#42 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing