We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My new NYC favorite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #50 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
676 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“My new NYC favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Love this chain, especially the one in Philadelphia but my recent stay at this location in NYC has made this one my favorite in the City. The location in the middle of the Broadway shows and very near Times Square is Ideal. The staff is incredibly friendly and it is a pet owners mecca. The rooms are smallish but amply appointed and the restaurant- bar setup is better than adequate.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krandy21784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear krandy21784,

Thank you for the review and being a loyal Kimpton member!

In a city full of thousands of hotels we are thrilled to know we are your #1.

Come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,977
    802
    176
    89
    36
See reviews for
668
1,215
112
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is my 2nd stay in New York, my 1st at The Muse & I'm already recommending it to everyone I know. The location is amazing, the room is fabulous, and the staff are lovely. Times Square is right at the end of the street (30 second walk), Central Park is less than 10 min walk away, Rockerfella Centre (& 5th Avenue shops) only 5 mins walk away... it's just fab. I told the staff in advance that we were celebrating my son's birthday & they arranged a birthday surprise, which was great. Plus the have free wine in reception every evening between 5-6pm! Also pet friendly. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel - this is where I will be staying next time.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jiggerness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear jiggerness,

WOW!! We are blushing because of all of your nice words.

Its great knowing we were able to help celebrate your son’s birthday and make it a memorable experience!.

We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Fantastic stay at this hotel. Become a kimpton member and get free wifi and $15 on the mini bar. Free wine in the evening. Great stay and great staff nothing was too much trouble. Location was Brillant just of Times Square everything on your doorstep x

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Gina M,

Thank you for the EXCELLENT review!

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the extra amenities we had to offer.

Come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford, fl
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Traveling back home to NYC after moving 5 years ago, we returned to visit relatives and take my niece Emily for her 16th birthday. This was my first stay in a hotel in NYC as I always lived there! What a welcome!!! Barbara Los, the exceptional concierge, greeted us with a happy birthday for my niece, delicious water, lemonade and the warmest smile. The room was very large for NYC standards and impeccably styled. Upon our return from a night out on the town, there were mini cheesecakes and drinks waiting to welcome us back with a note of happy birthday for my niece. She felt like a princess! Next time I visit, I will go home to the Muse.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank domsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear domsis.

Thank you for the five star review! We are thrilled we were able to welcome you home with arms wide open!

Thank you for mentioning our team as providing exemplary service. We are so happy to know we were able to make your niece feel like the princess that she deserves to be on her sweet 16th birthday.

We look forward to welcoming you home again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I booked this hotel through JetSetter and received a great rate for my weekend trip. This hotel did not disappoint! I LOVED the location - a few minute walk from Times Square - but off the beaten path and quiet. The lobby and rooms were gorgeous and spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable and if NYC wasn't waiting outside, I would have hibernated in this room all day!

I would absolutely stay at this hotel again and recommend it highly if you enjoy boutique hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winddiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Winddiva,

We appreciate the great review! We are so happy you found us and that we were able to help make your stay in New York enjoyable.

Thank you for mentioning our beds….. We think that our beds are like sleeping on clouds!

Come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
181 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Muse is a nice boutique hotel near Times Square. There are great restaurants of all types close by and the theaters are all within walking distance. The TKTS booth is also close enough to go to in the morning before doing your sightseeing.

Room Tip: Pick a room off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuffaloTravluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear BuffaloTravluvr,

We all love a good Broadway show, so its great knowing we are a great location for this!

We hope we can welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I would really recommend The Muse - it was really a great hotel in a great location. The staff was incredible and Kimpton hotels are always so fun~ Although not my first choice with small children, the staff were awesome and gave my kids little activity bags which made their day~ A+!

Room Tip: You must join their loyalty program to get free wifi, but it is easy and worth it if you often stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMuse, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Kristen480,

Thank you for the awesome review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning our team as providing exemplary service. We are thrilled we were able to make your kids feel at home as well.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#58 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,864 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,264 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,284 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,236 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#43 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing