We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really aMUSEd...”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #51 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not really aMUSEd...”
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We are seasoned travelers who would not return to the Muse due to lack of customer service, value and only so-so rooms. We had looked at several options when booking accommodations in New York and we found the reviews/price/location was pretty good for the Muse so we booked for a 7-day stay.

PROS:
-big bathroom and overall decent -size rooms for New York
-great location if you want to be in the tourist area of Times Square and central to NY.
-Evening desk staff were friendly (but not able to help us out, as the day staff were the Supervisors).

CONS:
-Front desk service not what it should be for a 4-star hotel.
-Room availability seemed limited
-Housekeeping was hit or miss
-prices not competitive
-no view


Upon check in, we chose to upgrade to a suite at an extra cost - this was a mistake. The suite was tres chic, but underwhelming: no view, little storage for bags/clothing besides closet. Many people rave about the beds. While there is indeed a soft feather bed on top of the mattress that is comfortable, we found the mattress underneath uncomfortable. Inquired several times about getting a balcony or a higher floor and was told to "call back" when the supervisor was available or to wait and call back later in our stay. No real interest here on the part of front desk staff in trying to address our requests.

We left tips everyday for housekeeping and found the service was hit or miss. One day it would be great, the next day they either wouldn't show up, walk in on us early, or just do a quick once-over the room and miss several tidy up items. Again, no real interest in making an effort from staff.

Overall the hotel is fine, but with all the selection in New York, why not go somewhere they really care about the customer?

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovegoodservice9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,014
    814
    179
    90
    38
See reviews for
684
1,238
115
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Much bigger rooms than the W. We stayed on the 17th floor, so the hustle and bustle of the lobby activities didn't bother us in anyway. Nearby there's a 24hr deli/store which is definitely handy and better than grabbing a $5 meat on a stick from carts scattered around times square. Well situated, where you can access 6th avenue for a more low key walk, if you need a break from the touristy time square area.

Rooms are pleasant and clean, and was surprisingly large for a hotel in this location.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2010
Dear lollipops,
Thanks for sharing your review with us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and I hope we'll see you again the next time you're in New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We spent 4 nights recently at the Muse in a corner King on a top floor. We had a door to a small balcony with a view to the north and east. The room, as we have experienced with Kimptom properties generally, was beautifully decorated and inviting. The beds were extremely comfortable and there was a work desk and ergonomic chair. In addition, there was a very comfortable lounging chair with adjacent lighting. The bathroom was quite nice though the counter top are slightly limited. And the room was very quiet despite being street-side. We had booked well in advance and our rate was well below the walk up rates, which only made the value of this place that much greater.

The staff were amazing- warm, welcoming, solicitous. They gave you the sense that they love working there and love making your stay as enjoyable as they can. And I mean all the staff: front desk, bellmen, facilities management and bar/restaurant. One happy crew.

The evening wine reception was a nice touch and always a fun place to meet the other guests.

As others have noted, internet access is free for In Touch (Kimpton) members and since membership is free, essentially free for all. As others have commented, it is just infuriating these large corporate chains charge $12-15/night for access. There is a small but very adequate exercise room.

My only complaint is that we had to move to a different hotel for the business portion of our trip. But we will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDXTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Every time I come to NYC, I stay at The Muse. I haven't ever written a review, but after my most recent stay, it became necessary. I come to the city primarily for weekends in the city to hang out with my best friends who fly down from Toronto. We go on these trips every couple of months or so. The Muse is our home base while in NYC.

Our last trip, we were in the city on the evening of the attempted Times Square bombing, and after going out for the beginning part of the evening (in Brooklyn), we returned to 46th street to change our clothes, only to be stopped by police tape. We didn't really know what was going on, but while we were waiting at the police tape, a gentleman approached me. The gentleman was one of the managers (Ivan) of The Muse, and recognized me from the hotel (I did not recognize him, though). He offered to get us to a lounge where we could wait comfortably. I was so impressed by his concern for us, that I wanted to share this with everyone. Hats off to Ivan for his wonderful service.

The Muse is a wonderful place with a wonderful staff. From the bellmen to housekeeping, all the staff get to know you by name, and really go the extra mile to help. The rooms are nicely appointed, have great amenities, and the beds are the most comfortable that I've ever slept in. The location is wonderful, it's in the heart of Times Square, but just far enough away to feel like a retreat from the craziness that one finds there.

There are other cheaper hotels in the area, but if you are looking for a special experience, stop looking and book The Muse.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmsmith14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2010
Dear gmsmith14,
I want to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Muse. We really appreciate your loyalty and I'm happy to hear that we have become your 'home base' in the city when you visit! I'm sorry that you had to be there during the Tims Square episode, but I'm thrilled to hear your account of Ivan helping you stay comfortable. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to him! Thanks again and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

New York was the first stop on a trip through 4 US cities. We've visited New York many times before and following positive reviews and plenty of searching we decided to stay at the Muse.

The Muse is located just off Times Square. It's subjective but having stayed at other hotels around New York I prefer to stay close to the hustle and bustle of mid town Manhattan. This was perfect for the bars, restaurants and shopping of mid town and close to the metro to get to other New York attractions.

Check in was easy and the small but attracive lobby was served by excellent and friendly staff (and at times an overpampered dog). In fact the staff were one fo the highlights of the hotel. Always friendly and helpful, at times they went out of their way for us.

Our room was as we expected for a New York boutique, small but well fitted. A large flatscreen TV was equipped with a fantastic cable package which gave us access to more channels than we have at home and the bathroom was attractive and immaculate. The room was very well insulated, despite being so close to Times Square we heard no noise at all from there (well not strictly true we heard the controlled explosion from the failed bomb but that was an exceptional event). There was no view but then again this is New York.

Unfortunately the room did have 2 flaws. Firstly the air conditioning although efficient when on was as noisy as a jet engine. It was impossible to sleep with it on. We stayed at 4 hotels on this trip all with airconditioning and this was the noisiest by far. In a city where it gets hot better air conditioning should be expected. Secondly the bed. It was large but clearly the mattress was old. A groove (more of a valley in fact) had been worn in one side of the bed whcih meant I felt quite separated from my wife. This made for a poor sleep experience at the hotel.

Overall the staff and location made this a positive experience (and I'm sure it's helped by the fact that, as always, I enjoyed New York) so I gave the hotel a generous mark. I could easily have downgraded it to 3 stars because of the bed but who wants to sleep in New York anyway.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob7005b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

We stayed at the Muse Hotel for 4 nights in May 2010. I liked the hotel it was very modern and funky. The foyer was warm and inviting. The bedroom was a good size and the bed was very comfortable though a little soft. Nice TV and Ipod decking station. Thought the bathroom could have done with a revamp and looked a little dated. The staff were very helpful and printed off our boarding passes for us. Free internet if a intouch member was fab. As it was my bday, they left a nice card and cupcakes in my bedroom which was a lovely touch. Fab location, down the road from times square, very close to subway and TOTR and 5th Ave. Hosted wine reception was a great positive and so was free coffee and tea in the morning. Only negative was that we found the room very noisy and the lack of a decent view was disappointing (we could see a wall). Overall though would recommend this hotel if you want to be near times square. I wouldn't recommend it if you prefer to be in a quieter area. NB we booked our room through their website and the final taxes are added on when you check out so beware esp if you are from UK and are used to taxes etc being included in the prices! the prices on the website are not the final price!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlo
Level Contributor
195 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

The Muse Hotel is a great find in the city of a thousand choices. The staff are all well trained, knowledgeable and could'nt do enough to help. We had a king room and we were impressed with the size for a New York hotel, the beds was the most comfortable ever and the room was cleaned daily to a high standard. The daily wine hour is a great idea as is the free coffee on a morning. We visited several lovely restaurants the highlights being Keens Chophouse and Avra Greek restaurant (both must be booked before departure) Holiday must a visit to the Top of the Rock and also a NY waterway harbour cruise.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarloBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2010
Dear DarloBob,
We appreciate you taking the time to share a review of your stay with us at The Muse New York. I'm happy to hear that you found our staff to be well trained, knowledgeable, and helpful! We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,931 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing