We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING hotel in NYC!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #49 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING hotel in NYC!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed at The Muse Hotel for 4 nights in July 2010 and we absolultely LOVED it! We couldn't have asked for a better location - right in the middle of everything we wanted to see and do, and steps away from Times Square with absolutely no noise. The hotel was very quiet - we were never awakened by any other guests or any outside noise. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in - I didn't want to leave it in the mornings! Little extras like coffee in the lobby in the morning and iced tea, lemonade, and wine in the afternoon were appreciated. We will definitely be staying at The Muse when we return to NYC!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noodle80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2010
Dear Noodle80,

Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay at The Muse! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your 4 nights with us. I'm glad you found the rooms to be comfortable and you took advantage of the tastey beverages we provided throughout the day. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,001
    810
    179
    89
    37
See reviews for
680
1,230
114
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollis, NH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

This hotel was such a wonderful surprise. The decor was so inviting and stylish as soon as you walk into the hotel. The room was amazing - again the decor was warm and elegant, the bed was so comfortable, the linens were very soft, the bathroom was spacious and upgraded, and everything was very clean. The room was very quiet; we did not hear another person ever during our stay. The staff was very helpful and courteous. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

Cozy hotel, well situated near Times Square and theater district, and walking distance to Barnes&Noble at Fifth, Saks, Empire State Building, Rockfeller Center, Dean & DeLuca, etc.
A huge TV screen and a lot of cable TV channels, egyptian cotton bed linen.
And every day, a marvelous courtesy happy hour!!!
I surely will return a zillion times!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bripece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

The hotel is really well appointed- literally steps from Times Square. We had the smallest room on the floor but it still felt spacious and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Wilmore the porter was especially helpful.
The morning coffees, afternoon lemonade and evening vino were really welcome. There was also a happy hour when drinks were really reasonable- 2 long drinks for less than $10 is pretty good, although service at the bar could be shoddy- we saw at least 2 couples walk out after waiting for service for more than ten minutes in the evening (the bar was not busy).
The a/c in the room was really, really noisy so we were woken up every half an hour by this loud rattling noise. However everything else about the room was lovely. Would definitely stay here on a return trip.

It's worth checking out the loos behind reception.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-Smith-jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

We enjoyed our four night stay at the muse. The hotel is 1/2 a block from times square and within walking distance to all the shows we attended. The area is in "Little Brazil" and there are several restaurants on the street. The room was clean and a good size for NYC. The bathroom was also very large. We stayed in a double double premiere room. The evening lemonade and snacks were a nice touch. The coffee service in the morning was good as well. However, I do wish that it lasted until at least 10 am. (ends at 9 am) The doorman was very helpful and friendly upon checkout. He loaded all our many bags and arranged car service (for a fee) to the airport for us. The only downside we had during our stay was that we had to request extra washcloths EVERY night of our stay. Although we booked the room with four people, they repeatedly only left 2 washcloths. It did get old having to wait on them every night when everyone was ready to shower and go to bed after a long day of exploring NYC.
Overall this was a nice hotel and I would recommend it to other visitors.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clr812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

Oh Kimpton-- how I love your hotels. One rarely goes wrong with Kimpton, and the Muse is no exception.

We had an amazing Executive Suite for one night, and found that it more than met our needs. The room had a separate living room, huge bathroom, big comfy bed, and best of all, was cool and quiet in the midst of a heat wave!

The staff are always pleasant, smiling, and helpful. The wine reception was fun and lively. Wifi is free, which is a huge plus in my books. My biggest love was how quiet the room was. All you heard was the gentle hum of the air conditioner, lulling you to sleep. Ahh. Thanks, Muse!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunCatchKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
Dear RunCatchKiss,

Thank you for your generous review of The Muse New York. I'm thrilled that you continue to enjoy staying at Kimpton properties and we absolutely enjoy having you as a loyal guest! I'm glad your stay was comfortable and you had a good time at our nightly Wine Reception. Please come visit us again soon because we're already looking forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

the muse is an excellent hotel in which to spend any time in nyc. you can look but you won't find better. the staff is friendly and the facility is first class.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobcats2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,903 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#41 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing