We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #57 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We all loved this hotel. Fantatic comfortable beds, friendly, helpful, courteous staff, clean.

Everything was just great here.

Free coffee in reception in the morning and free wine in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrumpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,026
    821
    181
    92
    38
See reviews for
691
1,246
117
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
213 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Though I am a frequent Kimpton user (with a membership et al) and though I had requested a very quiet room for be all fresh for an upcoming TV show upon check in I got a tiny room next to a COMPRESSOR! Simply impossible to sleep let alone relax.
Because I had just a few hours of sleep available I was not so thrilled to have to go down, negotiate a new room and change rooms.
I must admit the staff was nice and upgraded me to a great suite. No complaint there and I was handled very gracefully. But this would never have happened had the staff looked in my file where I specifically requested a VERY quiet room.

Location is perfect if you want to be where the action is.

Staff is very helpful. Rooms are usually large and well appointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vorsoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Have just recently returned from 4 nights at the Muse, what a wonderful hotel it is, this great hotel made the whole experience of New York even better than we could imagine.The staff were really helpful ,special thanks must go to Mark at reception who was a charming man to talk to, absolutely fabulous hotel, many many thanks........

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetravellerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

The bed was fantastic. Soft. We had a king bed, and an executive suite. (We always try to get a suite because my wife is an early riser, and I am a late-nighter.) It was $415 per night all taxes included, a great rate for a suite near Times Square. The hotel was completely remodeled 4 or 5 years ago, it is beautiful. There is no construction currently. The best floor to be on might be the 14th, because two elevators go from 2-14 floor, and the express elevator goes only to the14-19 floors. We were on the 19th, so we had to take the express elevator, could not take the other two. (Unless you want to go to the 14th, and wait there to take the express from 14th on up.) There were TWO heating/ air conditioning units! One for the "parlor", the other for the bedroom. They worked great! We kept them on most of the time to keep it cool, and we slept great. Rarely heard any street noise. Just a few doors down is a grocery where you can buy milk, croissants, popcorn, etc. open 24/7. That is worth a lot. The Muse has a small but very pleasant bar/restaurant. The restaurant manager, Irum, was very pleasant. We made the mistake of venturing out onto the street and the crowds for breakfast once; never made that mistake again. We ate breakfast at the Muse the other 7 days of our stay. It was not crowded. They have a fantastic continental breakfast with strawberries, other berries, great rolls (large variety). Or bacon/eggs, or pancakes. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. It is simply not true that they are rude or unfriendly at the Muse. If you see someone without a smile, give him one of yours. Also, if you are going to be in NYC for more than just a few days, don't buy the idea that "You don't need a nice room, because you will never be in it." After 3 or 4 days, you will be tired. We were at the Muse 8 nights, and we spent two afternoons in the hotel room reading and watching DVD's. Be sure to sign up to be a Kimpton member, then you get free wi-fi.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TopekaDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
Dear TopekaDoc,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Muse New York! First of all, I'm glad you had a pleasant visit with us and enjoyed the Executive Suite. It's also great that you were pleased with the delicious food of Nios.We're honored to now have you part of our Kimpton family and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Great location, great staff and great service what more could you ask for, how about a comfortable bed and pillows you would want to take home, well it has that as well. We booked room only but were given free continental breakfast and a bottle of bubbly was sent to our room to celebrate our wedding. There is free coffee in the morning and lemonade and wine in the afternoon. We moved on to a Fairmont hotel in Washington which was very poor by comparison. I had never heard of Kimpton hotels before but they will be my first search before I go away again. We love NY and intend to return soon, guess where we will stay. Stop searching book the MUSE.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
Dear Nicola093,

Thank you for sharing your review of The Muse New York! We were delighted that you spent your anniversary with us and I'm even more thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I'm also glad you enjoyed the variety of beverages served throughout the day. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sask Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

This hotel is a great place to stay the staff is very helpful , the rooms are very nice , clean and the bed is comfortable. It is in a great location central to everything ...I would recommend anyone wanting to see Manhatten stay here. I also recommend that people do the hop on hopoff tours it is a great way to see the city...do all the loops uptown, downtown , night loop and Brooklyn

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justmesk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

When it comes to location, the Muse can't be beat. Located right in the heart of Broadway, you are in walking distance to everything!

When it comes to service, the Muse also excels.I forgot my dress shoes in the room after checking out and their lost& found were so very helpful in sending them via Federal Express to my home in Arizona.

I am a Big fan of Kimpton Properties and will always be a loyal Kimpton fan.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JovanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#72 of 468 in New York City
3,961 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#22 of 468 in New York City
2,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#41 of 468 in New York City
3,350 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#75 of 468 in New York City
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#50 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing