We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel in a Perfect New York location!!”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #66 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This really nice hotel is located in the perfect spot near Times Square. Very clean and modern. Staff were very friendly and helpful. It's a bit pricey but most hotels in New York are and you pay for being close to everything. The theatres are close by so you can walk to everything. The hotel recommends amazing restaurants as well.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandals_fan_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,478 - 2,484 of 3,283 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2010

All in all, The Muse was fairly good. Location was perfect if your plans include the Theater and 5th Avenue Shopping. Very close to excellent restaurants and Times Square. Rooms were clean, beds were very comfy and NO BED BUGS were included! Our only issue which really is pretty big is that the noise level from more than one source was just too much! The air conditioner/ heating unit is loud as H*LL and if you are a light sleeper...forget it. The first night, it actually broke down and we had to contact service at 1:00 a.m. to get it fixed. Room was approaching 80 degrees so we had no choice. Someone came up immediately and reset it at the actual unit. Overall, the thing was quite loud every night and it did disturb our sleep. After a long day of walking around, we would come back to rest before dinner. There was an incidence of other guests talking very loud out in the hall and it went on for a while, we finally had to open the door and shush them! If they had not toned it way down we would have had to call the manager. The last night (Saturday) the noise from the street was too much. It went on all night from police cars, sirens, people screaming and yelling, you name it. It made for a long night...can you say "exhausted" the next day? Kept us up every hour on the hour :(

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sugar333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Super... modern hotel, with a great setting just off Times Square.

Rooms are a great size for being in NYC – clean, calming, quite funky and modern. We just had an issue with the noise of the AC, rather than street noise, but its New York! Its never going to be peaceful!

We thought breakfast seemed expensive, so we ate at the Europa every morning which is 30 seconds walk away. Bagel and a latte – hit the right spot and for half the price.

We are quite compact with luggage when we go away, so was great not to be forceably bell hopped at this hotel – was quite a refreshing change. As a Brit, I feel pressure to tip everyone...all the time...and how much...argh!

Staff were lovely, but not overly friendly. If we had a question it was answered, but they were not overly warm – this is possibly the only slight criticism if any about this hotel. But having seen how another guest treated the pregnant lady, she did very well not to drag him over the desk and punch him! Manners cost nothing......

We always went back in the early evening after a hard day of sightseeing/shopping for a cocktail and ice cold water. The bar was always pretty empty early evening, but got busier as the evening progressed. Food looked lovely, although we ate out every night.

Free Wi-Fi is great, and they store your information, like the pillows you like etc, so should you go to another Kimpton Hotel (Vero Beach & Spa is wicked in Florida) they know what you like.

If we were going again, we would probably stay in the meat packing, as it seems to be quieter, and as far away from Times Square as possible (a horrid, horrid place!), but overall, I really rated the hotel. A great calm retreat in a manic city.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coffee&applepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed two night at the Muse - my spouse and I and our 10 year old. Our room and bathroom were large by NYC standards. Very new furnishings and nicely decorated. The location was perfect for our mid town shopping weekend. The front desk and concierge/bell person were all very professional and took care of us upon check in/checkout. We checked in with distilled water that we put in the luggage room (we had arrived early and our room wasn't ready) and they lost the water - but other than that our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TessBerwyn_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We all loved this hotel. Fantatic comfortable beds, friendly, helpful, courteous staff, clean.

Everything was just great here.

Free coffee in reception in the morning and free wine in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scrumpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Though I am a frequent Kimpton user (with a membership et al) and though I had requested a very quiet room for be all fresh for an upcoming TV show upon check in I got a tiny room next to a COMPRESSOR! Simply impossible to sleep let alone relax.
Because I had just a few hours of sleep available I was not so thrilled to have to go down, negotiate a new room and change rooms.
I must admit the staff was nice and upgraded me to a great suite. No complaint there and I was handled very gracefully. But this would never have happened had the staff looked in my file where I specifically requested a VERY quiet room.

Location is perfect if you want to be where the action is.

Staff is very helpful. Rooms are usually large and well appointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vorsoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Have just recently returned from 4 nights at the Muse, what a wonderful hotel it is, this great hotel made the whole experience of New York even better than we could imagine.The staff were really helpful ,special thanks must go to Mark at reception who was a charming man to talk to, absolutely fabulous hotel, many many thanks........

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timetravellerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#49 of 470 in New York City
3,489 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#28 of 470 in New York City
2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#74 of 470 in New York City
4,118 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker Hotel
The Knickerbocker Hotel
#75 of 470 in New York City
2,525 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#69 of 470 in New York City
6,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £161 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing