We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE PLACE TO STAY AND GREAT LOCATION”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #56 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
1,279 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
“VERY NICE PLACE TO STAY AND GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We traveled to NYC with friends for 4 nights of theater-going, good food, and historical sites. We chose The Muse based on Trip Advisor reviews. This Kimpton Hotel has much to offer, including very clean rooms,an excellent location for Broadway Shows/nice restaurants complimentary wine tasking and good morning coffee.
We suggest you have breakfast outside the hotel at The Europa cafe on the corner of 6th Ave. and W. 46th Street. We did not try the much more expensive hotel breakfast, so we really can't provide a comparison.
The staff, with a couple of noticeable exceptions, is generally friendly and helpful. Most staffers were quite cordial, accommodating and knowledgeable about directions to the sites, etc.

Do not expect to stay in a large rooom. However, the rooms are very clean with very comfortable beds. Do not expect to get in your room before check-in at 3:00. This was not a huge problem because we checked the bags at the front desk. It is nice however to get to your room when you first arrive and this does not appear to be a point of accommodation at The Muse. Be sure and see the suite of bathrooms on the main level. Each is unisex and a different name and decor.
WE WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,038
    825
    184
    92
    38
See reviews for
695
1,255
117
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The hotel was in a good location and the rooms were beautiful by New York City standards and the clientele was fun and trendy. However the service was merely average and the hotel personnel were not falling over themselves for you or particularly welcoming which may be typical New York City but not appropriate for a $500+ per night pay scale. By comparison, the Thompson Hotel downtown is a similar price and rating yet the service is 100% accommodating and worth the money I found. At the Muse there was no separate concierge and I found the desk attendants adequate at best in suggesting restaurants and activities.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whynotnow27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed here based on other traveler reviews and it is truly great! Quiet area 1/2 block off Times Square. We joined Kimpton which I highly recommend, they gave us a welcome treat and seemed very pleasant. We will check out the other Kimpton hotels after staying here! Great service, large room with comfy beds and spacious sitting area in room and desk. Decent view on 16th floor and nice bath. We walked to Rockefeller center, theater, shopping - great location!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanNicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
Dear SanNicola,

We appreciate you taking your time to review your recent visit to The Muse New York! We're extremely happy to have you part of our Kimpton In Touch Program and I'm happy to hear that you experienced the benefits of being a member. We hope to see you back here at the Muse in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This really nice hotel is located in the perfect spot near Times Square. Very clean and modern. Staff were very friendly and helpful. It's a bit pricey but most hotels in New York are and you pay for being close to everything. The theatres are close by so you can walk to everything. The hotel recommends amazing restaurants as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandals_fan_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

All in all, The Muse was fairly good. Location was perfect if your plans include the Theater and 5th Avenue Shopping. Very close to excellent restaurants and Times Square. Rooms were clean, beds were very comfy and NO BED BUGS were included! Our only issue which really is pretty big is that the noise level from more than one source was just too much! The air conditioner/ heating unit is loud as H*LL and if you are a light sleeper...forget it. The first night, it actually broke down and we had to contact service at 1:00 a.m. to get it fixed. Room was approaching 80 degrees so we had no choice. Someone came up immediately and reset it at the actual unit. Overall, the thing was quite loud every night and it did disturb our sleep. After a long day of walking around, we would come back to rest before dinner. There was an incidence of other guests talking very loud out in the hall and it went on for a while, we finally had to open the door and shush them! If they had not toned it way down we would have had to call the manager. The last night (Saturday) the noise from the street was too much. It went on all night from police cars, sirens, people screaming and yelling, you name it. It made for a long night...can you say "exhausted" the next day? Kept us up every hour on the hour :(

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugar333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Super... modern hotel, with a great setting just off Times Square.

Rooms are a great size for being in NYC – clean, calming, quite funky and modern. We just had an issue with the noise of the AC, rather than street noise, but its New York! Its never going to be peaceful!

We thought breakfast seemed expensive, so we ate at the Europa every morning which is 30 seconds walk away. Bagel and a latte – hit the right spot and for half the price.

We are quite compact with luggage when we go away, so was great not to be forceably bell hopped at this hotel – was quite a refreshing change. As a Brit, I feel pressure to tip everyone...all the time...and how much...argh!

Staff were lovely, but not overly friendly. If we had a question it was answered, but they were not overly warm – this is possibly the only slight criticism if any about this hotel. But having seen how another guest treated the pregnant lady, she did very well not to drag him over the desk and punch him! Manners cost nothing......

We always went back in the early evening after a hard day of sightseeing/shopping for a cocktail and ice cold water. The bar was always pretty empty early evening, but got busier as the evening progressed. Food looked lovely, although we ate out every night.

Free Wi-Fi is great, and they store your information, like the pillows you like etc, so should you go to another Kimpton Hotel (Vero Beach & Spa is wicked in Florida) they know what you like.

If we were going again, we would probably stay in the meat packing, as it seems to be quieter, and as far away from Times Square as possible (a horrid, horrid place!), but overall, I really rated the hotel. A great calm retreat in a manic city.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coffee&applepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwyn, PA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed two night at the Muse - my spouse and I and our 10 year old. Our room and bathroom were large by NYC standards. Very new furnishings and nicely decorated. The location was perfect for our mid town shopping weekend. The front desk and concierge/bell person were all very professional and took care of us upon check in/checkout. We checked in with distilled water that we put in the luggage room (we had arrived early and our room wasn't ready) and they lost the water - but other than that our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessBerwyn_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#74 of 466 in New York City
4,004 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 466 in New York City
2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 466 in New York City
3,615 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 466 in New York City
3,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Property: Kimpton Muse Hotel
Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#50 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing